We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Blue Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Blue Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Blue Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the cheapest hostel in Miami beach; This is the only reason people stay there. However, I will pay $5 more per night and stay in a real hostel. This hostel has absolutely NO WIFI not even in the lobby, even my T-mobile did not has coverage there. dorms are super tiny and beds are 3 levels and super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hany N
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've been in hostel few weeks during our stay in Miami, its good situated place next to the ocean. I met here plenty amazing people mostly from South Amerika, we became friends and stay in touch. Here is working one amazing man, Jose Alonso from Perú. Jose has so many possitive energy, he is always smiling and last but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana Š
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

12 of us rented out an entire room at Ocean Blue; big thanks to Josy at the front desk for helping us with this! The hostel is on the second floor, with a restaurant and stores on the first floor and a rooftop lounge at the third. Yes, the place can get very busy and loud during the later parts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nnnickg
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I must say this is my second stay at ocean blue hostel and it's. Better than ever with Josyand Jose Alonzo as the most wonderful front of house managers taking care of me there welcoming smiles and assistants wants me to come back over and over I emplore people from everywhere to come visit ocean blue hostel on Miami Beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Do not put a deposit down for this hostel they use you card details to take the full amount 3 days before your arrival and then refuse to amend your booking in any way! The woman on reception is extremely rude and very unhelpful! Try to charge us our deposit and one night which we were then not allowed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karim S
Ocean B, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Karim, We are really sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations at this time. But like i explained to you, we cant change third party policies, if you would it made your reservation directly with us i would it help you because i am allowed to change the reservations in anyway. There are terms and conditions stated online on...

Reviewed 21 February 2017

As somebody already said you get what you pay for. Honesly for $15 I had an amazing view from my bed, got lucky with the middle one though. It's good place if you need a cheap place to sleep. Staff was helpful and (compare to other services in Miami) really nice. I would recommend it. You also have 50% off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bára V
Reviewed 20 February 2017

very basic, good for just one nighter or something short like that, not comfortable smells bad, there are better hostels in south beach - worth paying a few bucks more, but right on Ocean Dr - action.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Littlem166
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night.Very central... in the middle of Ocean Drive.Beach is just 2 minutes walk.Receptionist and rest of the staff is really kind and friendly.Breakfast included.Not so noisy.Would recommend for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milica F
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I stayed at the ocean blue hostel several times last year. It was a very nice experience I travel a lot over the world and this is a very nice hostel. The location is the best, right across the ocean in the middle of ocean drive walkable distance to everything that you need. The staff is very welcoming most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emiliano T
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice hostel. I travel all over the world and this is totally a recomendable hostel. The service it's great, the guy at the front desk Jose is very kind he guided me in what to do where to go and very good recommendations. They give a simple breakfast but it's good enough for the price, they have a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,008 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,660 reviews
0.3 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,135 reviews
0.2 km away
Posh South Beach Hostel
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 82 in Miami Beach
542 reviews
0.2 km away
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: €18 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Blue Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Blue Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1 and 2 are ocean front”
nnnickg, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms smell bad”
Littlem166, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a 12 bed room, opt for a room with fewer people. Also try get a room further back if you want quiet.”
48ryans, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 was big!”
958karab, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“take a small room instead of the "factory" rooms of 12 beds”
memsogan, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5