Riviera Suites South Beach
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Riviera Suites South Beach

Traveller (1894)
Panorama of the Bamboo Pool at the Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
360
Panoramas (70)
Riv QQ
Room & Suite (866)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#38 of 211 hotels in Miami Beach
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Relax and unwind at the all-suite Riviera Suites South Beach. Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, this beautiful hotel offers stylish accommodations ideal for a wonderful holiday. Located just steps from the famed Collins Avenue, the beach, the convention center, boutiques, restaurants and nightlife, the property, the property features beautiful accommodations furnished with a modern flair. Guests can enjoy a courtyard pool complete with an outdoor bar and private cabanas, a breathtaking sundeck, and a rooftop pool with sweeping views of the city and the ocean. The suites feature full gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas with pull-out sofas, 100% organic cotton pillow-top beds, and rain-shower heads. A sleek desk comes in every room. Spend a relaxing evening poolside. Riviera South Beach is ideal for your Miami Beach getaway in style!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Rooftop pool
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

318 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Miami Intl Airport
15.6 km
See all flights
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport
30.9 km
See all flights
5,606Reviews99Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,854
  • 846
  • 392
  • 212
  • 302
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DebbieNH wrote a review Mar 2020
Kingston, New Hampshire
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights at this hotel and had a nice stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a room with a kitchenette and small living room area. We were disappointed at the small number of tv channels with no CNN or any other cable news Chanel’s. This hotel has three buildings. Two next to each other and the one we stayed at which was across the street.
We ate at the Cuban restaurant in the hotel one night. The food was very good but it took over an hour to receive our food and we just ordered sandwiches. The restaurant was full and there were only two wait staff. Everyone’s food came out extremely slow.
I think the hotel should have done a better job on keeping certain areas cleaner. The elevator which was extremely slow needed to be vacuumed badly. The pool area that was in our building needed to be swept or vacuumed with all falling leaves. The pool itself had a layer of leaves sitting in the bottom of the pool which did not look inviting so we didn’t go in.
The hotel was just a few minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to many restaurants. The valet parking was $42 a night. It was fine for a two night stay but we would probably stay elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jaime SBG, Marketing at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Hello, Thank you for the great star rating! We are pleased to hear you had an overall enjoyable stay with us here at the Riviera Hotel in South Beach. We will be sure to share your points of concern with management as we can see how some of these key points lessened your stay with us here at the Riviera. We aim for full customer satisfaction and are disappointed that we missed some marks during your visit. Please reconsider us again in the future for a more memorable stay. JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chel-belle wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Riviera Suites South Beach is a fine hotel - that just happens to have some weirdness around it. It's located in the middle of a mass confusion of construction and lack of convenience stores. No matter which way you go, some building is in the midst of a tear down or rebuild, which means lots of noise and construction workers. If you want to grab a water or snack, you have exactly one option - Ocean Deli (which thankfully, was pretty great). There are no quick stops for food or things you forgot, without trekking somewhere, which after a long day at the convention center is really, really aggravating.
The hotel itself is separated into three buildings, and I can only really speak to building one (2000 Liberty). The lobby always smells weird, has bizarre pseudo-Christian music playing, and has the smallest elevator outside of New York City. The rooms/suites are decently sized, decorated in dark, masculine colors, and has possibly one of the best beds I've found in a hotel. The building is old, drafty, lets in ALL the noise, and has very, very thin walls. Essentially, though, it was a fine place to stay for a week during a conference.
I do have to mention, Santiago, (maybe a manager?), who was amazing. From the minute I walked in and he was behind the desk, he was just fantastic. He remembered my name every time I saw him, checked up on me, and just generally was doing a great job at being on top of things and I really appreciated his attention to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JaimeSBG, Marketing Assistant at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you for the great star rating. We are pleased to hear you had an overall great stay with us despite some issues you managed to point out. It is true that there is some construction happening around the Riviera, which we are sure will only further enhance the environment surrounding the Riviera once it is finished, but we will like to apologize for any disturbance this may have caused during your visit with us. We would like to apologize for the lack of convenience stores directly within the radius of the hotel although there are several close to the Lincoln Road area we can see how this can be an inconvenience after a long day at the Convention Center and again we would like to apologize. Seeming that you mentioned a tiny elevator we can only assume that you stayed in building one, being one of our older buildings in the property, we would like to apologize for this inconvenience as well. We are, however, delighted that our amazing team members including Santiago were able to uplift your stay and make it a positive one despite these other issues you experienced during your stay. We hope you can consider us for any future visits so we can make your next stay an even more memorable one and so you can experience our other buildings a bit more. JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kiley S wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend and I found this boutique hotel for a last minute getaway to Miami and had no idea what to expect. The staff was all wonderful and the hotel worked for our needs. Our room was clean, although on the small side and could use some updating. The only complaint that we had was that the hotel was so loud. Our room overlooked the restaurant/bar so we could hear music and other noises at all hours. On top of this we could hear our neighbors door opening and closing as if it was our door because the door or walls were so thin. We were able to put up with this but I can understand how this could be a deal breaker for a lot of people.

The hotel was willing to accommodate by holding our bags safely for almost 6 hours after check out. Pierre was a very friendly and helpful bell person!

Other notable things about the Rivierra hotel were the pools, one being rooftop, towel service, free chairs on the beach and the 1 hour free happy hour every evening.

All in all, I think you get what you pay for at this property.The location is unbeatable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JaimeSBG, Marketing Assistant at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you for the great star rating! We are pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that our team was able to provide you with excellent customer service as well as our rooms able to live up to your expectations despite the exact location of your accommodation causing some disturbances during your stay due to some noise disturbances although after the night time entertainment the noise level at the bar is minimized only for ambiance and should not be loud enough to make any disturbances but we will be sure to share this with our General Manager for future references. We are glad that despite these issues our hotel and its amenities were able to meet your expectations. We ask that you please consider us for future visits so we can have the pleasure of hosting you and make your next stay an even more memorable one. JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Youssef S wrote a review Feb 2020
Montreal, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros : clean + location
Cons: very dated, very noisy and very poor customer service
- They gave a room with a window that is completed obstructed by a banana tree. Almost no light. I had to complain to get changed. But the manager in duty asked the front desk guy to give me a specific room. To my surprise that room has a window that doesn’t completely close. All night you’d hear cars and at 7:00am construction and drilling started. the curtains are so dated. They are just unusable.
- TV has only 9 channels working.
- Wifi disconnects every now and then. Been in worst countries and wifi works pretty well. Felt like back in 2004.
I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jaime Lira, Marketing at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your visit with us here at the Riviera in South Beach. We are sorry to hear that despite finding some positive points during your visit with us here at our boutique hotel that the bad outweighed the good so drastically. It seems that our manager went above and beyond to try to accommodate you to the best of their abilities but seemingly it wasn't enough. We would like to ask you to reconsider another visit with us so you can rightfully enjoy our amenities and service next time around to make your next visit a more positively memorable one. JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MnMan2020 wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked friendly staff, housekeeping, comfortable mattress and pillow, decent shower, proximity to the beach, rooftop lounge, some nice live music, easy check in/out.
Disliked small room size, no fridge, no coffee maker coupled with horrible coffee in hotel's restaurant (when available), constant and loud noise, horrible bed frame (flimsy, shaky, loud).
Really bad constant noise was from parking valets, this and other hotels. There's a parking ramp right across the street and valets are driving like madmen. Looked like they were driving the wrong way up the ramp as there was constant tire screeching and continuous horn honking. Very annoying, and I feel bad for people whose cars they were parking.
I had a hard time getting used to automatic gratuity (a.k.a. service charge), coupled with tax, plus waiters adding their own tips on top of automatic tip. It's not the money so much, it's just the feeling of getting scammed, as none of these costs are listed upfront. It seems a common practice in South Beach, but again, feels like a bait and switch.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay as far from the parking garage as possible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JaimeSBG, Marketing Assistant at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and for your three-star review. We are glad that we were able to meet most of your expectations but sad that we were not able to meet all of them. We are sorry to hear that our quaint rooms were not able to live up to your expectations. We hope that despite these issues you can consider us again in the future so we can live up to your expectations next time around and make your stay a more memorable one. JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kai-Lani G wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel stole my money and will not pick up any of my phone calls! They promised a 100$ refund for mini bar, nothing was touched or eaten, they told me they were refunding it in 7 business days which turned to 10 business days. I called it’s been three weeks and this morning they finally picked up just to Hang up right after. I emailed the manager twice and no response!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa B. wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is in great proximity to the beach. You can walk to it. There is a sandwich shop/ convenience store across the way that's really inexpensive and hits the spot.

Now here is the problem. 1. Do not book this hotel through a 3rd party like Expedia. If you experience any type of problem you will regret your decision to book for a cheaper price. Where as no changes or cancellations can be made no matter how bad the conditions of the hotel are. Then if you are lucky enough to plead your case of non satisfaction the only person that can truly help you is a manager. A manger for this property his hard to come across. It took me 6 days to finally get a hold of a manger to rectify what I needed which was to change rooms. That's 6... 1,2,3,4,5,6 days.

The site also does not tell you that it is separated into two buildings. Homeless people chill around the property and sneak into the lobby even though there is a code on the lobby door. I heard one guest complain about how he felt unsafe. Another guest complained about roaches. They all asked to switch rooms or a refund and of course only the manager can approve these changes. Now you've guessed it a manager is no where to be found. Overall the customer service is interesting. There were 5 of us yet they continued to give us 3 towels and they never gave us face towels unless we asked repeatedly. If you are looking for relaxation and comfort do not stay here. If you are looking for a place to just change clothes and sleep for a quick minute then by all means...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Just expect to not get what you request.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JaimeSBG, Marketing Assistant at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Hello, Thank you for the three-star review and for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit with us here at the Riviera Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay with us minus some minor mishaps. We always urge guests to let our team know of any issues they experience during their stay with us so we can find the best alternative for the guest. We are sorry to hear that despite our team's dedication to customer satisfaction you were not able to have a more enjoyable stay although as we strive for full customer satisfaction. We would like to welcome you back in the future to make your next stay much more memorable. JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ollie M wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The service from the staff made our honeymoon trip extra special, in particular Mark, Frederick, and Arismendy were super friendly and catered for our very need. The location of Riviera suites is perfect for access to the beach and local restaurants and bars. Highly recommend a stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JaimeSBG, Marketing Assistant at Riviera Suites South Beach
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you for the perfect star rating! We are pleased to hear that our team was able to make your trip so special and that our prime location was able to live up to your expectations as well. Please keep us in mind for your next visit so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again! JL, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zach L wrote a review Mar 2021
San Francisco, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great experience here. Amaury Guzman was very helpful in getting me checked in early, and the rooms are very large and stylish. It was also a very good location near collins and had a cool cocktail bar across street. It was also a little more quiet than the boutique hotels right on Collins.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThreeNames wrote a review Mar 2022
Merritt Island, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were warmly welcomed by Gaby, who continued to be helpful throughout our stay. Clear explanation of amenities, the multiple buildings constituting the property, wifi and pool access.

Our room (404) was on a corner with light on two sides and a small balcony overlooking the street.

The heated pool in building one is beautifully situated and the rooftop pool in building 3 is small but has a lovely view plus a bigger deck with lounge chairs.

Overnight parking in the municipal lot on 23d Street was a short walk away and reasonable ($20 for 24 hours).

Location is NOT really South Beach as it's at 20th Street and South Beach is really south of 15th, but it meant the streets were more quiet at night than further south and it was a nice walk to the south and only 10-15 minutes to Lincoln Road.

The only "issue" we had was there was not a glass of wine to be had at the bar on a Monday night. Post-weekend distributor delivery was not until Tuesday. How's that for a FWP (first world problem)?

We would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Píndaro M
1 contribution
Not that I remember or know; better ask directly
Stella E asked a question Mar 2020
Windermere, Florida59 contributions13 helpful votes
Would like to go to the beach. How far is it and how accessible is it?
Answer from VeronikaSBG
5 contributions
The beach is just a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. It is a beautiful public beach which is open from sunrise to sunset.
Answer from GailGermany
Arlington, Massachusetts261 contributions115 helpful votes
Hi Denise, We are in our 60s and aren’t into nightlife anymore. There are 3 buildings. Our room was in the main building in the back. You may want to request a quieter room. I always have ear plugs with me. We also visited in the shoulder season. There will be more going on in January. Yes, there are lounge chairs and towels for free at the hotel’s designated area close by. We didn’t use the service but went to haulover park/beach instead. There was entertainment every night we were there, mostly one person on guitar or a small band. They were loud for my sensitive ears but they didn’t play late. Some were actually very good, pop or even music to dance to. We had a drink during Happy Hour and were able to meet other guests at that time. A guest told us that the shuttle service to the airport would be discontinued,maybe at the end of the year. You might want to check directly with the hotel. We’ve been four times now. The food is delicious, Art Deco exceptional. Take a walking tour and visit the Wolfsonian if you like Art Deco. Walking the boardwalk is nice and I would just ride one of the free trolleys to get an overview. Hope that this was somewhat helpful.
Olushola wrote a tip May 2024
Bournemouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful! It’s a den of thieves."
Read full review
Dina A wrote a tip May 2024
New York City, New York1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Purchase chairs/umbrellas at the beach from hotel vendors. Beach towels are supplied at the pool. Quaint/intimate pool area but very nice."
Read full review
lynn M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Newcastle, Australia53 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The 100 bus and free transport help you get around. It can get crazy busy on weekends in South beach so try public transport over taxis."
Read full review
Elisa A wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Customer service and follow up with the manager did occur. AVOID!"
Read full review
Steve G wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call and ask about your incidentals before arriving"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Miami Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
€120 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riviera hotel miami beach
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami BeachCity Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVIERA SUITES SOUTH BEACH - Now €108 (Was €̶1̶5̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Miami Beach, FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Riviera Suites South Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Riviera Suites South Beach?
Nearby attractions include EME Miami (0.2 km), Art Basel (0.2 km), and Pub Crawl Miami (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riviera Suites South Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Riviera Suites South Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Riviera Suites South Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Riviera Suites South Beach?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riviera Suites South Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Americano | Collins, Katsuya South Beach, and Tala Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riviera Suites South Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a rooftop pool during their stay.
Is Riviera Suites South Beach located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Miami Beach.
Are pets allowed at Riviera Suites South Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Riviera Suites South Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Riviera Suites South Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Black Police Precinct and Courthouse Museum (7.3 km), Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (6.1 km), and The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.4 km).
All Miami Beach HotelsMiami Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Miami BeachHotels near Riviera Suites South Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire