We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avalon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avalon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

827 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 535: English reviews
Start your review of Avalon Hotel
 Click to rate
Indian Shores, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only spent one night at the Avalon...........this was in the middle of the action and we had an amazing night. Room was small, but your in Florida and spend so much time outside. The restaurant in this hotel was excellent and breakfast was sooooo good, Only a light breakfast but more than enough for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NanaNoreen
Northville, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The only positive things are the location of the hotel and some of the hotel's workers. On the negative side, I decided to pay extra for the ocean front view. Huge mistake. We heard all the noise on Ocean Drive until 3 a.m. each day. Also, the rooms need updating. The vent in our bathroom had rust on it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert T
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Robert, thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel. Although you liked our location and overall service, we are sorry the street and sidewalk sounds interfered with a restful night for you. We suggest you request a room on the back side of our hotel where it is much quieter in the evening hours. We value your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently stayed three nights at the Avalon Hotel. Upon our departure, I inadvertently left my backpack--with my I Pad inside--by the front entrance. (We were scurrying to load up our car and get going .) By the time I realized my error, we were getting ready to board a plane in West Palm Beach. Not only had the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
00gc, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Elizabeth, I am thrilled to read your comments about the great service you received from our staff and how they exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your compliments with my entire team. We hope you will make the Avalon Hotel your first choice on your next visit to this historic Art Deco area. Warmest Regards, General Manager

Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked the Avalon for a recent trip because of location, close to downtown but right on the beach. What we didn't realize was that we would be there during spring break, when the streets and entire beach are taken over by noisy college students. The hotel is old, rooms are very small and not modernized. It is hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank azargento
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We strive to ensure each guest has an awesome experience at our hotel, and we sincerely apologize that your visit did not go as expected. Spring break is a very busy time for our area and can be overwhelming for those who did not plan for...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon, excited to be near the beach, yet close to Marlins Park for baseball. We were horrified by the thousands of spring breakers who mobbed the streets, had loud music at all hours. We did not sleep at all from the street noise, music, sirens, and we were on a side street, partial ocean view,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 885liliag
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing us for your vacation and for your feedback. We are so sorry your stay was not what you had hoped. Spring break is a very busy time for families to vacation and this will make the area bustling at all hours of the day. We are happy however you were able to enjoy some...

Fort-de-France, Martinique
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was my hotel in Miami from more than 5 years. I have been very disappointed by the last changes -No more coffee maker in the room -That beautiful orchid that always was in the room has disappeared. -The breakfast is horrible You have to wait 20 minutes to have a coffee ,a croissant and cereals If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique A
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your stay. We make every effort to provide service that is above and beyond your expectations so we are pleased to see that you loved our staff. However, we are sorry you were unhappy with any recent changes to our property. We are sorry that you felt our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall our stay at the Avalon was great. The general standard of the hotel is high, bearing in mind it is an older building that has been renovated. The bathrooms let the rooms down slightly, though the bed is very comfortable and everything is kept spotlessly clean. The location is just perfect. Such a short walk to the beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grant I
00gc, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Grant, thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry that one of our associates impacted your experience in a negative way and regret the inconvenience this caused. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, and we will take action so we consistently meet that goal. We appreciate all your comments. It was a pleasure serving you, and...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location if you want to be in the middle of the south beach art deco scene (I didn't, but that's my fault) and the staff were reasonably helpful. No pool which is big minus but the valet parking on the other hand was pretty good. Reasonably priced compared to others nearby. The room was ok but be prepared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
00gc, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Karl, thanks for the candid feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our overall service and the good value we offer in the area. I will share your compliments with my housekeeping staff about their attention to detail in perfectly maintaining your room. We thank you for being our guest and look forward to hosting you again in the future....

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Avalon hotel has a great location on Ocean drive, but this is the best thing it has going for it. In general the hotel is dated, with a lack of focus on details and maintenance. E.g. the holder for the toilet-paper is place so that you have to angel yourself 45 degrees to sit down at the toilet. Furthermore,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vthise
00gc, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved the service provided by our well-trained staff and our Complimentary continental breakfast. We appreciate your observation and have taken a note of it. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to make a much better impression. Warmest Regards, General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Classic location. Beautiful view from the beach and street... Hotel needs to be renewed to have a better price match. Front desk hosts are very kind and supportive. Restaurant is good, but a bit price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CCOliveira
00gc, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay and for your positive comments. Our location is perfect for enjoying all the attractions of the city, and we are glad being just steps from the beach and in the heart of all the action on Ocean Drive made your stay a memorable one. However, I am sorry...

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (195)
Viewed
Beach (47)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 206 in Miami Beach
2,322 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,122 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#170 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,040 reviews
0.2 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,321 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: €136 - €349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
San Diego, California
over a year ago
Northville, United States
over a year ago
laguna beach
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not pay extra for an ocean view room. You'll hear all the noise on Ocean Drive until 3 a.m.”
 of 5 bubbles 723robertt, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel it will be less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles dominiquea465, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the back are much quieter if you are not staying up all night to party. No view but great a/c and room darkening curtains.”
 of 5 bubbles ChachaChica, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a partial sea view, keeps you away from the main road but get you a view of the strip and sunrise.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulAblenet, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor at the front for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles paulcumbria, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5