We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Lakeland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Lakeland
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Lakeland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 416: English reviews
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Took forever to get into the room...the keys didn't work, the new keys didn't work, when we finally got someone from the front desk to come help us...guess what...the keys didn't work. After FINALLY getting in to our room...we set our purse and bags down, only to IMMEDIATELY pick them back up and flee the room. There were roaches everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Michelle M. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you may or may not be aware these reviews do not tell us what the reservation name was in so I must ask that you reach out to us and give us an opportunity to make this right. Our GM is Jason at the property so please...

Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 21 March 2016

This is a very old HOJO, and in need of lots of work There was lots of rusty places in the bathroom. There were signs of attempted repair, but did not solve the problems. I reserved this room with credit card points, so I stayed the 2 nights or lose the points anyway. There are lots of restaurant / fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasCruiser001
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

TexasCruiser001; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We are under new management and we are making a lot of changes to this location. Hope you will stay with us again real soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

1. When I check in front desk attendant has a bad attitude because I ask her about my military discount. She answers a personal call while checking me in. Then when i get to the room, it smells of mold and mildew, the carpets are dirty, the whole room is deplorable and down right nasty. So i go back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We are under new management so I do hope that you will give us another try soon. Thanks

San Jose, California
Reviewed 13 March 2016

The electrical plugs were not working for the TV or air conditioning so I had to move them around to make them work. This place needs an inspection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffpZ132AF
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

jeffpZ132AF; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. I would like to know the room you were in so that we can have maintenance fix the electrical problems.

Melbourne
Reviewed 13 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARTHUR_GMelbourne
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 12 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamessR5318YZ
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Redlands, California
Reviewed 12 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J5625KEcraigw
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The hotel was perfectly adequate for an overnight. Price is right, but don't expect luxury (or even Kleenex!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 823francesb
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

823francesb; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are under new management so we are making a lot of changes. Next time you should be able to expend better. Sorry about the Kleenex, I will look into as we do provide them in the rooms. Thanks

Monclova, Ohio
Reviewed 9 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marley4701
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I knew staying at a Howard Johnson would be sketchy, but I assumed at the very least it would be clean and have a comfortable mattress. Mattress was OK, nothing else was. The comforter was gross with stain marks on it so I carefully pulled it off only to reveal a blanket with cigarette burns. And the bathroom was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shuttleboy
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

shuttleboy; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our Howard Johnson. We are under new management and are about to make some major changes to this location. I do hope that you will try us again real soon. Thanks

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#21 of 31 in Lakeland
505 reviews
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
2.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#15 of 31 in Lakeland
153 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
#17 of 31 in Lakeland
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Price Range: €43 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Lakeland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inside corridor rooms are a little more $ but they have been completely re-done”
  • newer bathrooms
  • new room
  • View from bathroom
 of 5 bubbles HotelGeorgeM, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room as far away from main road as possible. If not don't stay”
 of 5 bubbles W3557XBthomasj, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor has lees foot traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles williamsS2704WN, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Great location which is Next to the restaurants and mall”
 of 5 bubbles eddiew990, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Roadside a bit noisy- as to be expected.”
 of 5 bubbles charlieome, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay