We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 887: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Hotel is very cool. Nice Styling. Clean. Providing a hourly shuttle bus to the center. Nice pool area and good restaurant. So far so good. Sure it is pricy, but in the Keys all of the Hotel are. What was dissatisfying is that the promote High Speed Wifi as a room amenity.But in fact it does not work in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Big_L_on_tour
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

How right and wrong you are. You are right about our style. But when it comes to our attitude about wi-fi goes you are off the mark. We not only care, we have invested almost $100K to try and solve a unique problem. Standard wi-fi will not penetrate our thick coral stone walls. But tests this week with a new...

NE Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

First off, I just want to say THANK YOU to the entire staff!! The hotel staff & The Stoned Crab staff really made this a memorable trip!!! This hotel is simply amazing!! Some friends & I chose Ibis Bay for my bachelor weekend. We arrived by taxi early in the morning and were greeted with a "hello" from a friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMIRISH333
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I saw you guys quite a few times. Every time you were having fun. That's what it is all about here. See you next time!

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms are tiny--barely room to turn around--and the beds are hard. I think our "mattress" might actually have been a box spring. (Yes, it was that hard.) However, there's a big pool, movies on an outdoor screen, music by the pool and a restaurant on site. No doubt it's better suited to the young than to retirees.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lionel77
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time. It sounds like you booked our Value Rooms. They are small, but you get to spend the money you save having fun in Key West. We generally get compliments on our new comfy beds. I will track down your room and check the mattress. Thanks for letting me know.

Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fun place to stay! The atmosphere is cool and beachy...very Key West. It's on the water (river?) the view is really pretty, we saw horse shoe crabs, lots of iguanas, had a really nice walk around the property. They rent jet ski's on site, very convenient. The room was comfy and sufficient, king sized bed, nice sized bathroom, perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissTrishFL
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

My wife is an avid fan of the iguanas you see. You probably noticed she has iguana toys in the gift shop, iguana key chains for the rooms. There are iguana paintings too. They are amazingly beautiful. Maybe less known is that they are prized by Cubans for their meat! Not exactly what we have planned! Thanks for coming. I...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The resort has a great atmosphere. It's not shiny and new but it feels like you're in a beach town. The room was small and dated but it was fine. Definitely not worth the money if it were in Miami but ok for Key West. Check out the tortoises while you're there. Best bit: The resort atmosphere Worst bit: price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Good point. Compared to other hotels in Key West we are actually one of the least expensive, And you are about who loves us and who doesn't. We are not shiny new Hilton box. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 from coral rock by a local. The walls are over a foot thick. I am proud to say our restoration...

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I want to complement the staff & manager for being on top of things & concerned & considerate. I had booked thru Booking.com & had actually messed up the days that I was staying in the Keys. Booking called the manager at the Ibis Bay & they let me change the date of my stay. It could have cost me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SewSpecialKLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Unfortunately Key West is pricey overall. Our prices are actually lower than most Key West hotels. Plus there's nothing as "Key West" as Ibis Bay. The moment you step upto our lobby and meet our talking bird Lexie you forget your troubles. All bay tides change constantly with the moon. When you were here the tides must have been really...

Owatonna, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved it! Love the 'Dive In' movie night by the pool. Love the 'Life is too short Bus'. Don't know why the last person said it was a rip off. You could get free coffee every morning. Had a wonderful veiw from my patio.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila F
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Ibis Bay and writing your review. We are the perfect place for virtually all of our guests. But some people have issues with Key West's cost and direct their frustration at us. It's not anything we have control of. I love it. But most importantly, so did you.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Now don't get me wrong...we had a lovely time here and the 2 kids really enjoyed themselves. We had a lovely evening sitting out on the waterfront and lounging in the hammocks and the pool was really nice...BUT.... we were charged $300 for 1 night and this doesn't include breakfast.The staff were unhelpful and had no time for us and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1568mcw
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

The most important thing to me is that you all came to Ibis Bay to have a great time and you did. I think it is very unfair to label us a "rip off". We do not have any control of the costs of doing business in Key West. I wish we did. Its pricey to live here. Reader should...

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been to ibis twice in last two years . This place is so amazing. I would put this place up for one of the best places ive ever stayed . The owner is very nice and there is plenty to do right there at the resort . We will be back year after year .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnyrikki19
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Coming back to stay at Ibis Bay is the greatest compliment you can give us.Thank you for that. I look forward to next time! Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and supporting us on Triadvisor too.

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay here was very pleasant. We only stayed one night, but it was nice enough I would like to stay again if I could get a better price. It was a little pricey for what I would normally pay. All the staff was very friendly and pleasant. It must have been an older hotel that they upgraded. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sschmit696
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I love the 1950s outboard motor fountain in that room's garden. We are building a large water fountain in the courtyard that will feature a lot more vintage outboard motors. I will post a picture on our website as soon as it is done. It's a project for the slow season.

946 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (702)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (264)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#39 of 50 in Key West
2,276 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 50 in Key West
779 reviews
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 50 in Key West
401 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: €191 - €385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a patio with water view”
 of 5 bubbles dennisdS3849MR, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loved the shuttle to Duval St.”
 of 5 bubbles Roman6854, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a water side room.”
 of 5 bubbles 381lenag, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A beach front room is definitely worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancisC132, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a family sized room. 3 Queens sized beds on the water!”
 of 5 bubbles acreich, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5