We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 855: English reviews
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fun place to stay! The atmosphere is cool and beachy...very Key West. It's on the water (river?) the view is really pretty, we saw horse shoe crabs, lots of iguanas, had a really nice walk around the property. They rent jet ski's on site, very convenient. The room was comfy and sufficient, king sized bed, nice sized bathroom, perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissTrishFL
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

My wife is an avid fan of the iguanas you see. You probably noticed she has iguana toys in the gift shop, iguana key chains for the rooms. There are iguana paintings too. They are amazingly beautiful. Maybe less known is that they are prized by Cubans for their meat! Not exactly what we have planned! Thanks for coming. I...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The resort has a great atmosphere. It's not shiny and new but it feels like you're in a beach town. The room was small and dated but it was fine. Definitely not worth the money if it were in Miami but ok for Key West. Check out the tortoises while you're there. Best bit: The resort atmosphere Worst bit: price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Good point. Compared to other hotels in Key West we are actually one of the least expensive, And you are about who loves us and who doesn't. We are not shiny new Hilton box. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 from coral rock by a local. The walls are over a foot thick. I am proud to say our restoration...

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I want to complement the staff & manager for being on top of things & concerned & considerate. I had booked thru Booking.com & had actually messed up the days that I was staying in the Keys. Booking called the manager at the Ibis Bay & they let me change the date of my stay. It could have cost me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SewSpecialKLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Unfortunately Key West is pricey overall. Our prices are actually lower than most Key West hotels. Plus there's nothing as "Key West" as Ibis Bay. The moment you step upto our lobby and meet our talking bird Lexie you forget your troubles. All bay tides change constantly with the moon. When you were here the tides must have been really...

Owatonna, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved it! Love the 'Dive In' movie night by the pool. Love the 'Life is too short Bus'. Don't know why the last person said it was a rip off. You could get free coffee every morning. Had a wonderful veiw from my patio.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila F
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Ibis Bay and writing your review. We are the perfect place for virtually all of our guests. But some people have issues with Key West's cost and direct their frustration at us. It's not anything we have control of. I love it. But most importantly, so did you.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Now don't get me wrong...we had a lovely time here and the 2 kids really enjoyed themselves. We had a lovely evening sitting out on the waterfront and lounging in the hammocks and the pool was really nice...BUT.... we were charged $300 for 1 night and this doesn't include breakfast.The staff were unhelpful and had no time for us and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1568mcw
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

The most important thing to me is that you all came to Ibis Bay to have a great time and you did. I think it is very unfair to label us a "rip off". We do not have any control of the costs of doing business in Key West. I wish we did. Its pricey to live here. Reader should...

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been to ibis twice in last two years . This place is so amazing. I would put this place up for one of the best places ive ever stayed . The owner is very nice and there is plenty to do right there at the resort . We will be back year after year .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnyrikki19
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Coming back to stay at Ibis Bay is the greatest compliment you can give us.Thank you for that. I look forward to next time! Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and supporting us on Triadvisor too.

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay here was very pleasant. We only stayed one night, but it was nice enough I would like to stay again if I could get a better price. It was a little pricey for what I would normally pay. All the staff was very friendly and pleasant. It must have been an older hotel that they upgraded. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sschmit696
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I love the 1950s outboard motor fountain in that room's garden. We are building a large water fountain in the courtyard that will feature a lot more vintage outboard motors. I will post a picture on our website as soon as it is done. It's a project for the slow season.

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was my first trip to Key West. I can't wait to go back and I will definitely stay at Ibis Bay again. I randomly chose Ibis Bay based on reviews of others; price as well as the photographs on-line. Everything was picture perfect and our stay was absolutely amazing. I was very pleasantly surprised upon arriving. The rooms, pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Glad to hear you love Key West and Ibis Bay! The first time we came here, my wife and I fell in love with the island. I still buzz around town on a little scooter like a tourist. That first Key West night, we wandered around the downtown streets looking at all the amazing Victorian wood house. Just the smell...

Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I traveled to the keys for a weekend getaway. Picked Ibis Bay because of the price and that they have a shuttle service around the area, which is awesome. However, other than that and the nice staff, comfortable bed and nice pool area, that's all the hotel has to offer. The room is a good size but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stayce1002
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our Value Rooms are best suited for people who want to spend most of their money on Key West's many activities. As you say, they offer our guests a nicely decorated and perfectly clean place to sleep. We offer mostly larger rooms for a little more with a lot more appointments including private garden rooms, beach rooms, water views and...

Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel, or as they call it, resort, is not beachfront, so it's very deceiving. It is on the water which always had a low tide smell and also on a very main road with lots of noise from constant traffic. We decided to book a suite and basically had an oversized corner hotel room. The décor was nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberly M
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Clearly we are not your cup of tea. Just to clear your main headline point. Our bay beach is 600ft of imported white sand. Key West is a coral island so all the "natural" beaches here are coral rock which requires flip flops. We got permission from the city and DEP to import sand from Bermuda. That sand is contained...

927 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (683)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (249)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
2,250 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#24 of 49 in Key West
711 reviews
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#31 of 49 in Key West
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: €153 - €299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you absolutely must stay here, insist to see several rooms before choosing. They are all different.”
 of 5 bubbles danielarusk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Water front rooms are very nice, hammock and deck chairs in the sand in front of a small pier”
 of 5 bubbles gorefist4, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best room on ground floor overlooking beach area, away from refuse bins!!”
 of 5 bubbles 792shirleyw, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a patio facing the water. Our room had a patio with a table and 2 chairs. Refrigerator but no Microwave. No phone.”
  • Patio
  • Patio
 of 5 bubbles Hobojack, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get everything in writing!”
 of 5 bubbles kphil126, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay