We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 855: English reviews
Eckental, Germany
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights during our 8 day Florida tour had had the most wonderful time of the year. This place is very friendly and comfortable. The staff was so nice when I had a little nail polish issue on the carpet. Also the restaurant is very recommendable. Enjoy the free shuttle to the center, the swimming pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hkroder
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and complimenting my staff. This is a family owned hotel and I think that makes it very different to a chain hotel. Its more intimate and has a unique personality that can't be replicated ... kind of like Key West itself!

Redford, Michigan
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stay four night in June for our 10 year Anniversary and had a great time!! We had the beachfront room 111 and it was great! Room was super clean, beds were comfortable, the view was awesome. Loved having the table and chairs right outside our room. Also enjoyed the lounge chairs for catching some sun. We did eat the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Stephanie B
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Happy 10th Anniversary!! I am proud to say my beautiful wife and I have been married for 44 years and we are still very much in love. I wish you that same happiness. Obviously I am happy when guests love Ibis Bay. It means a lot to my staff. The Stoned Crab restaurant is a wonderful place too. Their local...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Let me start by saying me and my friends had a great time in key west.The ibis was very practical in having the awesome shuttle that takes you downtown and we made good use of it . The pool was great and the staff very friendly ...the only con was that the rooms were too small , there was not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maria E
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank for staying with us and thanks for the four star rating. We have a number of different room sizes to fit different budgets. If you choose one of our Value Rooms you save quite a bit. You get to spend the money you saved on activities and entertainment. Upgrading to a Courtyard Room or a Beachfront Room will get...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My daughter and I upgraded from a value room to a beachfront room. I just read a negative review about room 110. That's where we stayed. Yes, the lighting in the room was dimmer than I preferred and the bathroom was a bit tight, but this hotel had such a key west, rustic feel in such a positive way. If...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wdw365
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I love hearing that a guest is planning on coming back again. It means we all did our job. Ibis Bay is "old school" authentic Key West. It is a locally-owned, family-run resort. It's sparking clean, fun, bright rooms are pure Key West. You will enjoy talking tropicals birds, giant live tortoises and our restaurant serves the freshest local seafood...

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in #201. In this group of beach units, they have been remodeled and the water is right outside the door. Out side has been decorated with hammocks, tasteful white lights at night, a pier with a deck and some lounge chairs to hang out on and the beautiful white sand. Its not a huge area, but its very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our beachfront rooms are our best. Its hard to beat the combination of warm sun, sand, the water and hammocks swaying between palm trees. Thank you for explaining so much, even the short-term construction. It will be over soon and we will be back to normal. Thank goodness its just at one end of the resort. I hope you enjoyed...

Melbourne, FL
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Ibis Beach Resort on June 19th. The room had a nice "Key West" feel to it. Loved the seating area outside the room & the hammocks were great!!! Found the lighting a little on the dim side but managed to deal with it. A big plus was the shuttle to downtown Key West. We really made good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WaltMLB
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

There is nothing more serene than lying in a garden or beach hammock. We have over 100 hammocks at Ibis Bay. That's mpre than one hammock per room. I dare not sit in any of them. I'd fall asleep in less than 10 minutes! What a wonderful thought. Thanks for choosing Ibis Bay. See you next time!

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff was really rude and barley even speak english, they put us in a room 10 feet away from the construction going on in there facility. We tried to sleep through it the first night it didnt stop until 3 in the morning and i finally had enough when they started again at 8 in the morning i raised...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank brian w
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

The City of Key West is doing intense construction work at one end of the resort to connect us and other businesses to new utilities. We never know when they are going to work at night. To pre-empt problems we have shut down the rooms we thought were being affected. I I apologize that you were woken by it. I...

Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My initial review listed only a few of the issues with my stay...I didn't talk about the wall air conditioner that ran continually but never really cooled the room, just made everything even damper, and was very noisy, or the poor lighting, or the fact that the hotel is essentially right on the road so that you hear road noise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CT-Judi
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Once again, I am sorry you were dissapointed. We are clearly not right for everyone. But most guests fall in love with Ibis Bay. You mentioned you had an a/c issue. Our maintenance staff fix a/c problems in two minutes. Its a simple system. As soon as they are told there is a problem, they check the settings first. If...

Norway, Maine
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has plenty of character, the short bus to town was priceless. The stone crab shot appetizer at the Stone Crab restaurant was a nice treat. All in all reasonable accommodations, for a reasonable rate, free shuttle, and friendly staff. We had a problem getting the AC to work in the room and Frankie from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NanitaNorway_Maine
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our shuttle bus a big hit with our guests and the whole town. It gets photographed a lot. Its so nice to hear you enjoyed it and your stay at Ibis Bay. Its a unique hotel that is pure Key West. See you next time!

Fort Pierce
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel being that we were in Key West only for one night. The view form the side yard was nice to view the ocean. The room was nice but the bathroom was very small and outdated. I didn't like the tile flooring because sand would be tracked in no matter which door you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison M
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for coming. I am glad you enjoyed it. Key West hotels are generally more expensive than the "mainland". Our prices are on the low side compared to other Key West hotels. I wish it wasn't that way too.

927 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (683)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (249)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
2,250 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 49 in Key West
707 reviews
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 49 in Key West
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: €155 - €300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you absolutely must stay here, insist to see several rooms before choosing. They are all different.”
 of 5 bubbles danielarusk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Water front rooms are very nice, hammock and deck chairs in the sand in front of a small pier”
 of 5 bubbles gorefist4, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best room on ground floor overlooking beach area, away from refuse bins!!”
 of 5 bubbles 792shirleyw, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a patio facing the water. Our room had a patio with a table and 2 chairs. Refrigerator but no Microwave. No phone.”
  • Patio
  • Patio
 of 5 bubbles Hobojack, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get everything in writing!”
 of 5 bubbles kphil126, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay