We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tropical Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 821: English reviews
Start your review of Tropical Inn
 Click to rate
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. We were provided assistance for events, attractions, and where to eat. Key West on Duval Street and staying at this B and B allowed us an opportunity to take in the full experience of enjoying Key West and being part of the fun and entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdelafose
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were in Rm. 1, overlooking Duval St. Beautiful room, delightful staff, enchanting property, delicious breakfasts. An overall wonderful experience. GREAT location. Highly recommend. Make use of the bikes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnSbaysox
oak bluffs, ma
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I spent three nights at the Tropical Inn and enjoyed every minute of it. We had the Gecko Garden room, a cottage unto itself. It's a beautiful, peaceful hideaway, just a few yards off the bustle of Duval Street. The owners and the staff were helpful and kind. Good people. We loved Key West and especially loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith d
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 5th trip to Key West and we always choose the Tropical Inn as our place to stay. We have stayed in 4 different rooms over the years and are never disappointed. The location is perfect on Duval Street. We are frequent visitors of the Vino's (wine/champagne) next store. Brandi, Jane, Allen, and Tammy are all like extended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krista Q
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

Thanks, Krista, for your enthusiastic endorsement! But you forgot to mention one tiny detail. This time, you and Scott chose The Tropical Inn for a very special occasion -- your wedding -- and for that we are sincerely and deeply honored! When return guests do so because they understand that they have become "Tropical Inn Family", it is confirmation that...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay was in the gecko room. It was absolutely MARVELOUS. You enter through french doors which have the best room darkening curtains I have ever seen. I have to admit, I packed a sleeping mask because of the massive window on the wall the bed was against because I don't like any light when I sleep. I didn't need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

Judy, appreciative reviews such as this just make our day, and thank you so much for that! Brandi, Tammy, Allen and I are thrilled that you so completely enjoyed your stay. While we try to make all of our rooms "special", there is not an equivalent to the Gecko's Garden, our most unique accommodation, with its own private patio garden...

Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Tropical Inn during a last minute decision to visit Key West. Great B&B, friendly and helpful staff. Room had a great balcony on the back over looking the pool. Great location to all off the attractions, restaurants and cars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PCampbell39
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

Impromptu decisions often produce delightful results, don't they? We are so happy that we had availability, as having you with us was a pleasure. Hopefully, you will be able to return soon for a longer stay so that you may fully explore all the wonderful features of our lovely little island. Thank you so much for your kind review!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 3rd trip to Key West and wanted to stay on Duval Street. When we were exploring our options and viewed the Tropical Inn we knew this is what we wanted. Everything was perfect from the time we walked in and met Brandi, all our requests, needs were met. Our room was lovely and we loved our porch/balcony!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sml122017
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

It is especially rewarding to receive validation that we have met and exceeded guests' expectations. It is even more gratifying when they want to return for another visit. Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and for sharing your thoughts with other travelers planning their visits to our little corner of Paradise!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I are big fans of Key West and this was our fourth trip. Our first time staying at Tropical Inn They are doing construction in the area and we were really not able to enjoy pool or whirlpool for most of our stay. Room was very small but we did have a sundeck to sit out on....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbrady979
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

We regret that this guest and her husband were disappointed in their stay at the Tropical Inn, especially in light of the fact that they received a compensatory discount in consideration of the points she outlined. In our defense, I must explain for the readership here that the construction noise that occurred during two afternoons of their stay was the...

München
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We stayed at the Tropical Inn for some days in January 2017 and have booked the Banyan Tree Suite for 3 adults. The room was lovely and comfortable with its own private deck with porch swing. The staff was friendly and we felt very welcome from the first moment. This small boutique hotel is located directly at Duval Street and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our inn for your sunny respite from wintry Munich. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed the Banyan Tree Suite, our quiet garden, and welcoming ambience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Logan, WV
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We've visited Tropical Inn several times over the past few years. Brandi and the staff are simply outstanding. The location is ideal, bringing the balance of peace and quiet in the very comfortable room ( just the occasional rooster crowing, which is kinda cool ) and the garden patio, but just a short stroll to the hustle and bustle, including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Ed, for this enthusiastic endorsement. We treasure our regular and referral guests, such as yourself, many of whom visit several times a year. It is always like welcoming them back "home". We are so proud to count you among our Tropical Inn family. See you again soon!

312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,594 reviews
0.2 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
1,664 reviews
3.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: €223 - €536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West
Tropical Inn Key West, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
10 months ago
Elkton, Maryland
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We prefer the rooms that are outside the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles kristaq2016, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor front room has a wonderful balcony/porch and shade, fun to watch people walking!”
 of 5 bubbles sml122017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just look at the descriptions on the web site. They are very accurate.”
 of 5 bubbles EdW696, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the back are a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles firstswan, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not sure as we only stayed in one part of the complex”
 of 5 bubbles ms112016, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5