We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Florida
Reviewed 7 August 2015

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff was wonderful, but they kept apologizing for the old hotel, and the outdated equipment. Let me start by saying a lot of people are allergic sensitive to air wick plug in's in a small space let alone a small hotel room. If the room is cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MiMIFlorida
Odyssey L, Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Good day "MiMlFlorida," We truly appreciate your feedback and patronage. Some have summarized their visits by commenting that the "staff was wonderful, nice, and helpful" however, somewhat disappointed in the age and physical plant. Indeed, the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center has been an icon in the community for several years and well respected by many for service and consistency....

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Great location for visiting UF. However, just an average hotel. Very dated rooms. Bathrooms small. Again, VERY convenient for parent visits for kids living in dorms or walking to Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JDR29
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "JDR29," Good morning. Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. Absolutely, many would agree with you that our property is the "perfect location for UF visiting" as we're right across the street however, you are correct that the rooms are older as the hotel has been an icon in the city for many, many years....

Reviewed 10 July 2015

Holiday inn university center was a wonderful place to stay. My family was far from home because my sister had to be sent to the shands hospital. The staff at this hotel went out of their way to help us in every way possible. The Bell boy's always asked if we needed anything and helped my disabled mother in law...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Timothy B
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Timothy B," Good afternoon. Hopefully this note finds your sister doing much better from a health perspective and your family in better spirits. In spite of the circumstances, thank you so very much for your patronage as well as feedback. I will share your comments with each member of my team, particularly Anthony Simmons. We're happy that we could...

Reviewed 25 June 2015

The staff is so friendly and accommodating. However, this place needs a complete renovation. First, they assigned me to a room where the bath tub had stains and the plumbing was sub par. The stains on the toilet drain was unsightly. I asked for another room and they were quick to respond. Early this morning, there was a roach in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yveline A
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so very much for your patronage. We're happy that you feel our "staff is so friendly and accommodating" however, very disappointed that you feel the property needs a complete makeover, particularly after you and I spoke and you felt the hotel was clean and inviting, as well as shared positive feedback about our team to my...

Tampa
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I came in to Gainesville for the weekend, June 6-8th and visiting my son who goes to UF. You could not find a more convenient location for the campus on the corner of University Drive and 13th! The place is clean annexed to Poisano's restaurant and bar. They have a very nice pool deck on the 3rd Fl and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shaolin50
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Greetings from the "Best Place to stay" in Gainesville! We truly appreciate your feedback and recent patronage. There are many others who share those same sentiments about location and service. I will share your comments with my entire team, particularly Marjory, who continuously strives to provide complete guest satisfaction with each and every guest. Again, thank you for your feedback....

Sweetwater, Florida, United States
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Excellent location close to the University, however she needs a makeover! I could just imagine the cash this place raked in over the years! OLD, but not yet a classic. Its clean. Staff is cordial. "Breakfast" is not the proper term, coffee and a vending snack is more appropriate. Restaurant in the lobby (Sub-let?) a McDonalds in the parking lot,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jerry S
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you so very much for your comments. "If only the walls could talk..." - they'd glow about the intense focus on service as well as the fascinating new offerings on the horizon! Not only do we presently have a phenomenal Italian cuisine restaurant, serving both lunch and dinner, soon there will be a fabulous new breakfast café....

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

The staff here was very friendly and welcoming. The room was large, but the bathroom was small and in need of an upgrade. The AC was loud which helped drown out some of the noises around me. I think the noise was a combo of older, thin walls and some loud guests. For the really good price, the continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WPMagicJourneys
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Greetings from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, it is an incredibly "friendly place to stay" and our rooms are indeed very large. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests although the building itself is more mature than a few of the newly built...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for accommodations close to UF, it doesn't get any better than this. The staff was friendly and helpful and there is an Italian restaurant on the property. I was told the restaurant was very good, but didn't have a chance to check it out during this visit. The only complaint I had was the rooms are very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keysluver
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Keysluver," Thank you for your recent patronage and feedback. The property has been a pillar in the community for many years and across the street from an iconic and world-class university. Your assessment in terms of access to UF, "it doesn't get any better than this" has been shared by many former guests. Indeed the property itself is a...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Without a doubt,the most comfortable bed I've been in in years,excellent service,cleanliness,top notch service,ease of making reservations,beautiful pool and workout center located on the third floor,great continental breakfast,car rental service in lobby- would not recommend any other place,and we've stayed at a few in Gainesville,our boys graDuated and one is now in Graduate school- UF

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bernie D
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Bernie D," Thank you so very much for your feedback and recent patronage. The greatest compliment of all for my team is your statement - "would not recommend any other place." That validates our commitment to excellence as well as the pride displayed daily in our service delivery. We have a highly engaged team that strives to provide a...

Port Orange, Florida
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Hotel staff was FANTASTIC. Couldn't ask for better, but the room could have. We had the handicapped room with the roll in shower. Room smelled when we went in there the first time. The hotel had the odor remover working., they apologized for the smell, but didn't know what it was. We were tired and we needed the handicapped room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARZ3795
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Good day and greetings from the Holiday Inn Gainesville University team! Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. Your comments regarding our service are much appreciated and contribute to our efforts to continuously improve, meet, and exceed expectations. In terms of service delivery, your summary of "FANTASTIC. Couldn't ask for better..." is what we strive for...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.9 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#20 of 45 in Gainesville
1,253 reviews
6.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range: €140 - €417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center Florida
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Jacksonville, Florida
over a year ago
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“steer clear of the elevators”
  • The amenities are acceptable.
  • The hair dryer is small, like a travel dryer.
  • Tried to capture the dim lighting that happens in the evening. In the morning, it was brighter.
  • Not much for the coffee service but the fridge is a nice bonus. Bigger than most.
 of 5 bubbles holabonjour, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Looks like there might be renovations going on, so maybe ask if there are any recently renovated rooms?”
 of 5 bubbles 164jessicaj, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book at this hotel. Go to a Hilton.”
 of 5 bubbles 60anthonyj, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I paid the higher room rate and got noisy room with smelly bathroom, dirty carpets and defective plumbing.”
 of 5 bubbles lmartosm, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Free transport to the airport and to places close by.”
 of 5 bubbles Bubblejetty, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5