We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

817 reviews
Save
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (39)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“great location”(126 reviews)
“parking garage”(28 reviews)
“valet service”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Fitness centre
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Special Offer: Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (817)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
498
203
61
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
498
203
61
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationparking garagevalet servicewithin walking distancerestaurants and barsfarmers marketfront deskroom keygreat stayplace to staycollege townbusiness tripcomplimentary breakfastcookiesupon checkthe breakfast areafootball game
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
141 - 145 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Great location in downtown Gainesville that is close to campus. Quiet area but lots to do within close walking distance. Hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They were happy to answer my questions regarding parking as well as recommendations for local restaurants. Despite being...More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank andrewhT9197PL
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-DowntownResponded 21 February 2017

Andrew H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves in our outstanding service staff and our goal is to exceed customer expectations every time. I will share your comments with our staff. Our location is the best in Gainesville,...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

I've stayed at this hotel many times for business. I even stayed there for 6 weeks straight once. This last trip was terrible. New unfriendly staff. They act like they are doing you a favor when they check you in or check you out. Was...More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank robertmR3105UX
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-DowntownResponded 21 February 2017

Good morning Robert, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the level of service that you were expecting. We pride ourselves in our customer service and I'm disappointed you did not experience...More

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Stayed at the hotel for the night while visiting UF. Staff were great. GM stopped by to say hello and introduce himself. Rooms were clean and recently renovated. Would recommend you stay at this hotel.More

Thank Alan K
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-DowntownResponded 6 February 2017

Good morning Alan, Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you stay was punctuated by the word "great". I will share your comments with my staff at our daily meeting. I look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville soon....More

Reviewed 1 February 2017

If you are looking for a downtown hotel within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and nightlife, this is the hotel for you. We love being able to walk back to the hotel after dinner/wine. This hotel gives you the opportunity to do that. Many...More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John M
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-DowntownResponded 6 February 2017

Good morning John M, That you for your great comments. Our location is indeed ideal for the visitor to Gainesville, providing multiple options in the evening as well as easy access to the University. The Farmers Market takes place every Wednesday, and the attendance appears...More

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Nice hotel, great location in the heart of town. You do have to pay for parking. Room was nice but had noise at night outside the window. Breakfast was good. Very convenient to UF and lots of restaurants and bars. We would stay here again.More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Greg C
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-DowntownResponded 6 February 2017

Good morning Greg C, Thank you for your comments. Our goal is to exceed expectations and we may have missed yours. Our hotel location is outstanding as you mentioned, although being located downtown, we do have to rely on parking for a fee, like many...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12728293031163
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Dry Cleaning
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$150 - US$288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$150 - US$288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mumofmonsters
10 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Brad M | Property representative |
Unfortunately, no there is not. Brad
0
Votes
Music2sing
8 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Brad M | Property representative |
Good morning, Gainesville is perfectly located between the Gulf and the Atlantic Ocean. You can plan on about an hour and half either way. Safe travels
0
Votes
Kalalia
25 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pat J | Property representative |
I'm sorry, but we do not have a restaurant in the hotel. However, there are 15 restaurants within 3 blocks of the hotel, and many of them will deliver!
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"6th floor has nice views"
Read review
"the suites are great - corner suite provided several good views of downtown/college area"
Read review
"We were in room 404. Not recommended. Very cramped and beds lumpy."
Read review
"Corner rooms are huge! 4th floor was nice and quiet, especially in the corner."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing