We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 661: English reviews
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is under renovation, which upon completion will make it very nice. Make sure to ask about parking upon arrival. Most parking is limited to 2 hours around the hotel, a parking garage is one block away, or valet parking is all available. Rooms are very nice (renovated) and staff were very friendly. Problems that were experienced are only due...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gksjr
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. The best is indeed yet to come as we are close to finishing our hotel renovation. We are exciting to present are finished product to our guest in just a few weeks. I look forward to your next visit to see the NEW Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown.

Marathon, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very pleasantly surprised at the location of the hotel and the overall appearance was fantastic The hotel is situated on the main street surrounded by great shops and fantastic restaurants I was only there for one night I believe I'll be going back to spend a few more days I would recommend this hotel to anyone the rooms...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you John for your great comments about our hotel and staff. Fantastic is a great word that we strive to hear from all of our guests. The location is indeed perfect for anyone coming to Gainesville. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the hotel as I was here for work and it was great. The room was clean, the breakfast was out and was different every day, the location was close to lots of restaurants. The only down side was the pool, work finished early and went to the pool but it was very tiny and in the shade....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG3888
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Elaine for your kind words. Our location is great for work as well as relaxation. The pool is a great respite after work and hopefully the next time you are here, we will have a little more Florida Sunshine for you. Safe travels.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel experience was awful. The staff is extremely rude to the guest, the front desk staff pretended not to understand when I was talking to them, and when I express how unhappy I was with her attitude she was dismissive. The breakfast area is small, crowded and they ran out of food half way through. The hotel is well...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo W
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is only through the comments from our guests that we can strive for continuous improvement. Our staff is committed to exceeding our customers expectation and this time we did not meet yours. Our renovation is nearly complete and I would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate the outstanding service from our...

Coolidge, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting Gainesville to attend 50th Anniversary Celebration. Selected Hampton Inn downtown because of location. Loved th e valet parking, did not know they had until after check in. Room was comfortable with great view. Great service during this stay. Will be back. Wish prices did not increase with events and they offered shuttle services.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We were delighted to share in your 50th Anniversary celebration. Our goal is to create memories for our guests that complement the purpose of their trip. I look forward to seeing you soon to experience the fabulous renovation of our hotel is in its final stages.

Davie, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in downtown but centrally located and quiet. Near plenty of stores, coffee shops, restaurants. The hotel staff is kind and considerate and want to help you at all times. Definitely a great place to stay but does fill up fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie N
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Bonnie N for your kind words. Our location is perfect for all travelers with easy access to both fine dining as well as the University of Florida. I look forward to seeing you again so you can experience all of the renovations that we have done to our hotel. Kind regards

Bradenton, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice location. Restaurants and nightly entertainment walking distance from the hotel. UF is just 2 miles away and very easy to reach. Be prepared to utilize valet parking at $14 a night weekends.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A. S
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you James for your feedback. Our downtown location does make it convenient to everything in Gainesville. As in any downtown location, parking is limited. We are delighted that you took advantage of the valet parking that provides you unlimited in and out privileges as well as a quick response from our valet department. I look forward to seeing you...

Gainesville, United States
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good hotel, conveniently located, but ensure to ask if overnight construction is complete before booking. My husband and I were awakened both night of our stay rendering us exhausted for our daughters wedding. Clean bed was firm and shower could have been a bit cleaner.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 589shelleyo
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize if the noise from the renovation interrupted your stay. We strive to ensure that we are keeping noise to a minimum. Our renovation is days away from being completed, and I look forward to seeing you again so you can experience the splendor of the renovation without interruption. Thank you.

Carol Stream, Illinois
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Valet Parking was prompt and staff was courteous. End-room suite was spacious, immaculate, and comfortable. 2nd floor breakfast lounge and workout center layout provided a great space to have breakfast and get some morning work done before heading out. Great location in the heard of downtown (about a 3-5 minute Uber ride from campus). Within a two-block radius of this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank retacSBoy
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

What I wish every Hampton was like is music to my ears. Our location is perfect for business, dining, and access to the University. Our staff is committed to exceeding our customers expectations. Our renovations are days away from completion. We look forward to seeing you again soon to experience the new Hampton Inn Gainesville Downtown. Thank you.

Bunnell, Florida
Reviewed 7 December 2016

For the price the quality of the room and the very hard beds made it a very difficult stay. Comp breakfast supplied a nice variety of foods. Kitchen staff was helpful. Hotel was under renovations which was not a problem so I hope when they are finished the quality of the rooms and beds are also renovated. Was very uncomfortable...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darleneb651
Brad M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Darlene. Our renovations are a few days away from completion with all new rooms and all new beds. I would be honored if your travels brought you back to Gainesville if you would come and experience our new and exciting renovations.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
7.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#11 of 45 in Gainesville
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
6.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
482 reviews
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#5 of 45 in Gainesville
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range: €138 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 months ago
Marshalltown, Iowa
over a year ago
over a year ago
9 days ago
Sarasota, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“North side facing room offers a cool view of the lawn and band shell.”
 of 5 bubbles retacSBoy, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are spacious, clean, and the beds sleep well!”
 of 5 bubbles Hobmom4, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be very nice, however if you are looking for a large suite, this is the place.”
 of 5 bubbles PBarnette5027, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The fitness center and pool are located on the 2nd level, so choose a room on this floor if you'd like to be close.”
 of 5 bubbles TrvlGrl12, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want your rest, make sure not to be on the street side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Shogu, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay