We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 239: English reviews
Bartow, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abcdron
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

East Setauket, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerJ239TC
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Indianapolis (hotel in Clearwater)
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pictures online do NOT match what we got in person. We also had three charges show up on our account, which made no sense. When I called to straighten it out, I was told "There is no way we charged your account three times." There was no "Let me look at it." It was "there's no way." The photos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 334katc
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your room stay or that any issues occurred with your credit card. Thank you for letting us know. I appreciate all comments to let us know what all of our guest's impressions are.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Pretty good for the price. No complaints at all. Room was big and bed was comfy. Could use more TV channels. But overall decent. Pool area looks very clean and they do have complimentary breakfast. AC works very well. Traffic on 19 is a little noisy but not too bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia V
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia V, Thank you for taking the time to comment and review your stay with us. I'm glad that your overall stay was pleasant. I'm sorry that the cable selections weren't plentiful enough and that Highway 19 was a little bit busy for you regarding noise. We appreciate the comments. And again, thank you for your positive review of...

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewed 24 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida H
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Place is nasty and seems to house derelicts. Large group of unsavory gentlemen drinking in the parking lot. We stayed one night, but we abandoned our money spent on the planned second night to stay anywhere else. Internet was terrible as well. We ended up with a smoking room and housekeeping put a woolen comforter under the sheet, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williammT4270GG
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you unintentionally booked a smoking room and wished for a non-smoking room. There are times that we have the ability to room change. Occasionally, we don't have the ability to do a similar room change with the same rates. I'm sorry that you didn't get a room that was comfortable to you. I do believe...

Port Orange, Florida
Reviewed 14 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joancD1383RG
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 12 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The hotel was not close to beach. The floor and step outside of room can be dangerous. Parking is not very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soniabI8683HW
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and filling out a survey. We appreciate your comments and take them into consideration. I'm sorry that the parking was inconvenient. When we are busy, it is not always possible to park directly outside of your room. We do have a larger parking lot towards the east side of the hotel...

A
Reviewed 12 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
6.8 km away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 96 in Clearwater
317 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
154 reviews
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#45 of 96 in Clearwater
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: €58 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not bother to go to this place!”
 of 5 bubbles marymM6344CR, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay...”
 of 5 bubbles JimI_13, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Hwy. 19”
 of 5 bubbles gomexico, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Look for the big American Flag at car dealer and you will see the entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles W909HXedwards, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Dont bother,”
 of 5 bubbles 305dennyvalw, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay