We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I last stayed here 15 years ago and not much has changed. That is, except the age of everything. While the staff are sweet and helpful, and the views are really nice, the furniture is ancient and a little gross. The bathroom is clean but old and starting to fall apart. Unless we hear of the place being renovated, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lalarobots
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. However, we're disappointed to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests. After all, your happiness is our top priority. We will address your review and cons list with...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Have stayed here many times and will continue to go back! The friendliest and most accommodating Housekeeping and Front Desk team at the Beach! Grilling at the Pool side Patio is a real treat too. Location as well, is the best at the Beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this stellar review, Dan! We're overjoyed to hear you had such a lovely time with us! It's our pleasure to accommodate you time and time again. After all, your happiness is our top priority. We appreciate your praise for our team. Your compliments let us know we're doing our job! With this said, Dan, we'd love to...

Somerset, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 September 2016

First is the private parking. First come first serve-- private parking. NO ELEVATOR.. Outside steps and yes we were on the 3rd floor. My husband has a bad back and feet need surgery. I happen to be in my 60's and was not delighted at carrying my bags and having to go up and down the steps. This was awful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _denisegooden
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback, Denise. We are deeply disappointed to hear about your experience with us at The Surf Club. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the dumbwaiter. We are glad that our staff tried to accommodate you and help with your bags, however. Regarding your room, we will...

Hawthorne, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the beach. We arrived at 10:50pm just in time before the office closed. When walking into the room the moldy smell that hits you is absolutely horrid! The rug and the couch were stained and filthy. It was the worst hotel room I'v ever seen. I slept in my clothes on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rs1003
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your feedback. Although we're happy to hear you enjoyed our location, It's very disappointing to hear the service and rooms you received during your stay weren't up to par. Providing our guests with excellent service and a comfortable environment is something we take seriously. Please know your feedback will be addressed with...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 14 September 2016

My husband and I just needed a break so we decided to stay here for one night (thank god only 1) due to it's oceanfront location. There was something off-putting about the outside of the building and it took me awhile to realize that there were no balconies. What oceanfront hotel doesn't have balconies? This was an omen of things...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank flamingored
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We're deeply disappointed to see you and your husband were not pleased with your experience. We always strive to provide our guests with a fun and stress-free experience. It's unfortunate to hear your stay was not up to par with the high standard we're accustomed to sharing with your guests. We will address your review and cleanliness concerns with our...

Rabun Gap
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Let me start with the truth that I spent summers at Dewey Beach one block fro this hotel and remember when it was built. The last time I was there was 25 years ago and the hotel at that time was starting to run down. Web site was very accurate, did not mislead us at all in descriptions or photos....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvanlinda
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

​Thanks for sharing this lovely review, Linda! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It's our pleasure to accommodate you to the fullest extent, but we appreciate the praise. Your kind words let us know we're doing a great job! We're happy to hear we could show you the many improvements we've made since the last time...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Great location but old and dirty. We picked this Hotel due to its location on beach and the kitchenette's. What threw us off at the very start of our vacation was dirty stained sheets on the bed sheets, stains on the couch and the bench. The rug was so dirty I didnt want to walk in there without shoes on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We're deeply disappointed to see you weren't pleased with your stay, Jeff. We always strive to provide a relaxing and welcoming experience for our guests. Your comfort and happiness are two of our top priorities. It's unfortunate to hear your stay was not up to par with the standard we're accustomed to providing our guests with here. We will address...

Delaware
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The Surf Club is located oceanfront in Dewey Beach. Fabulous location, with all of Dewey Beach's restaurants and bars within walking distance. The room was very clean, but the Murphy beds are old and uncomfortable. VERY dated décor. The front desk was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Nice to have a swimming pool to jump into after the beach, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GingergirlDelaware
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay and loved the location. We're right there by Dewey Beach. We also appreciate the praise for our team, however, it's our pleasure to accommodate you! With this said, it's unfortunate to see you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. We...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My husband, myself, and our 4 children checked in on Saturday evening. The rooms have touch entry which is nice, but upon opening the door I wasn't sure if I was walking into a hotel room or out of a time machine. To say the room was out of date would be a gross understatement. Ancient stained couch, Murphy bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate your time in sharing your review with us, Elizabeth. We're disappointed to see you and your family did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We will discuss your discomfort with our team so that we may improve for the future. Your happiness and satisfaction are our...

Reviewed 1 September 2016

This was a very laid back place to stay. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was clean and equipped with may supplies. The furniture and rugs definitely need to be updated but not a big deal if you plan on spending most of your time on the beach, which was very accessible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate your time in sharing your review with us, Alissa. We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a joy to see you enjoyed our location too. We love being so close to the beach; we're just a stone's throw away. With this said, we will take your concerns into account and address them with our...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Direct Ocean Front (34)
Viewed
Large Ocean View (40)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Ocean View (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.6 km away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dewey Beach
348 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
707 reviews
3.0 km away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
1,834 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
339 reviews
5.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311 (Formerly The Surf Club)
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Price Range: €68 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles flamingored, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“it is worth the extra cash for the oceanfront room.”
 of 5 bubbles sylvanlinda, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request Ocean front”
 of 5 bubbles GingergirlDelaware, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a large ocean view room. Plenty of space.”
 of 5 bubbles 697elizabethm, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would not suggest 3rd floor if you are traveling with a baby or small children.”
 of 5 bubbles 411alissad, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay