We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dunloe

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dunloe
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dunloe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We recently had our wedding at the Dunloe on September 16th 2016. I can honestly say I do not have a single negative as the venue and the staff on the day were simply out of this world. Every possible eventuality was taken care of and we really felt taken care of, safe in the knowledge that we and our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah F
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you and your guests all enjoyed the food and service during your wedding celebrations. It was a pleasure working with you both on the build up to your wedding and I look forward to welcoming you both back for many...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel and its staff are amazing and flawless. Myself and my now wife had our wedding reception there. It was prefect in every detail. Thank you so much Jason, Veerpal and Simon. We will be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jevon K
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Jevon, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your wedding at The Dunloe. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the day of celebrations. Have a great honeymoon and hopefully see you once we reopen for your anniversary. Kind Regards Jason Clifford Hotel Manager.

Kavala, Greece
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Very luxurious hotel offering everything you can ask for. The rooms are huge and so are the bathrooms. The service is of high standards and the staff is very polite and profesional. Breakfast is amazing the outside space of the hotel is beyond imagination. You have to see it to beleive it, and you will be impressed. There is only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnK2006
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear JohnK2006, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are located outside Killarney town but there are shuttles in and out of Killarney available for guests so although you are outside Killarney itself, its very accessible. Killarney is very beautiful as a town but you will not get...

Ireland
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stayed Friday the 16th of September for a family wedding. I thought it was perfection from start to finish, wedding meal was exceptional. I thought the staff were amazingly attentive and genuinely willing to help. They have amazing facilities in the Dunloe, I didn't see the pool section close up but it looked impressive. There are lovely walks and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishRamblerIreland
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear IrishRamblerIreland, Thank you for posting a review of your Wedding Experience at The Dunloe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding. Thank you for your compliments of the service and meal on the wedding day. However I was sorry to read that you felt the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. we do have a Maître...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Stayed in this most wonderful hotel in June.for 8 days with our little dog!Everything is perfectly set up ,for couples,families,well everyone really!Our little BIchon was so well catered for and welcomed.Stayed in garden room(2 rooms.2 bathrooms,private terrace with gate opening onto green acres ,stretching miles}View of The Gap of Dunloe,spectacular,The Castle on the grounds of the Hotel ,lit up at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markie62
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear markie62, Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor of your experience at The Dunloe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It reads like you had a wonderful time which is exactly what we wish for you to experience while staying with us. we have really only been welcoming our K9 friends for the past...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had a wonderful stay at The Dunloe recently enjoying the fabulous hospitality and surroundings. There is a great attention to detail which makes all the difference. Only complaint is the food was not as expected. For a 5 start resort I believe the food should also be 5 Star. The breakfast each morning was lovely and covered all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dublin21601
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Dublin21601, Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Dunloe. It was a pleasure to have welcomed you and I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am particularly pleased that you mentioned our attention to detail which, as you rightly say, can make all the difference. I was also...

Pelham, Alabama
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

As others have said, I cannot think of a single negative about our stay at the Dunloe. If I could give it a rating higher than 5 I would. The service is fantastic, everyone is friendly and polite. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The view from the hotel looking towards the Gap of Dunloe is out of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Aaron W, Many thanks for posting a wonderful review of your stay at The Dunloe. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. As you mention in your review, we are very fortunate to have such wonderful views of The Gap of Dunloe and the surrounding countryside so it is a pleasure to share this...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

What a great place! Wish we could've stayed longer. Fantastic views. Great room. Very clean and comfortable. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Enjoyed dinner in the cafe and Laurie was a delight. Very sweet. Also had breakfast the next morning and it was excellent. Would highly recommend and plan to stay a few days when you come!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellover914
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Carissa, Thank you very much for your review. We very much appreciate your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Dunloe. I have passed your comments on to all of the team here at the hotel – especially Laurie – and I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the friendliness and professionalism of everyone...

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Went here for a nice meal and drink - seemed very popular despite being tucked away in the country. Seemed very popular despite being Killarney & Killorglin - well worth the visit - very good service and lovely meal.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sb33ry
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear sb33ry, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your Meal with us. Our Garden Café is open from 11am to 10pm each day serving everything from soup to a Fillet of beef, so a huge selection to choose from. We look forward to welcoming you back again once we reopen in 2018. Kind...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We recently were at a wedding here. It was fabulous the food was amazing so tasty and the start of the wedding with drinks and apetizers were gorgeous hotel is beautiful. Only downfall was the bar closed after 2 and no loud music which was a pity but still brill time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Sarah E, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Wedding. We have a very romantic setting with Dunloe Castle the River Laune running through the grounds and 20 acres of listed garden which make The Dunloe a wonderful place for a wedding. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (282)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
3.8 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
8.4 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,301 reviews
8.6 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
1,946 reviews
3.0 km away
Loch Lein Country House
10.2 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Price Range: €117 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dunloe staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunloe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite overlooking the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles sue2005, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would think all rooms are lovely but the view from the top floor over the pasture is stunning !!”
 of 5 bubbles Tedandrosefalloon, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As for a room with a mountain view - can't be beat first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Weary Travellery, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles jssc4, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles timrF9478BE, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5