We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Southington

1081 West St, Southington, CT 06489-1023
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
View deal
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard Southington
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#6 of 9 hotels in Southington
Whether traveling for business or fun,Courtyard by Marriott® makes all of your travels successful by providing exactly what you need. Conveniently located at Exit 31 off I-84 the Courtyard Southington can serve as your home away from home.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
33Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 3
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bob W wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I were attending a wedding in the area stayed at this hotel. When we arrived, there was only one person at the front desk so we had to wait in a long line to check in. Just as we got to the front of the line, another person (the front end supervisor) popped out of a backroom and started to help with the check in process. We were given keys to our room (which didn't work) went back down to the desk, waited in line again and were given replacement keys (which didn't work). When we returned to the front desk for the third time, we were given a different room. When we got into the room, we wanted to wash our hands and discovered that there was no soap. Again we went to the front desk and were told that they had no bar soap and that we would have to use the soap from the dispenser in the shower - not an easy thing to do when the shower floor is wet and there are mobility issues. We complained but were told that if we stayed at this hotel again, they would try to take better care of us, As a loyal Marriott customer, I am very disappointed in this hotel. A very bad job by the management.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not get a room facing I-84
See more room tips
LibertyStreet wrote a review Mar 2022
Milford, MI148 contributions45 helpful votes
There for a trip to Mt. Southington 10 minutes away. Clean, attractive rooms. Uncluttered. USB ports and plugs everywhere. Very quiet; good temperature control and you can crack a window. Plenty of TV channels. Bar and snacks available in the huge lobby. Pleasant staff. Big parking lot. Couple chain restaurants a minute away. If this is what all Courtards are like, I am a convert.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Navigate557584 wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
We were in town for 7 nights helping our daughter and son-in-law with fixer-upper house repair/moving in and helping with 2 little grandchildren. So we were tired at the end of each day. We booked 7 nights at the Courtyard Southington. Our stay got off to a bumpy start because my husband who has a Platinum Plus status with Marriott Bonvoy, reserved our room in advance and used a mobile check-in. Sounds good, right? But our first day, that afternoon my husband was neck-deep in ceiling plaster with our son-in-law, so I came over to the hotel to get checked in so I could empty our truck bed of our own luggage into our hotel room, so as to have room for moving our kids’ stuff from apt. in Torrington to new house in Plainville. In spite of my husband’s previous mobile check-in, and my possession of his credit card, I was not allowed to check in. My husband called but to no avail; he had to be present in order for us to check in. Because of the work he was doing, he couldn't get away 'til 4 hours later. In the meantime, I had obligations to drive 40 minutes away to help with grandchildren, dinner and packing. So when David finally was able to check in, covered in plaster dust, he had no suitcase/clothes to change into until I got back. The worst part was how unfriendly the desk staff was. The first time I came in, there was nobody at the desk, and after 5 minutes went by, I dialed the hotel's number, and heard their phone ring, but nobody answered it. There was a staff person at the bar 30 feet away, but she paid no mind to the ringing telephone. 4 more guests came in behind me to check in, and after 5 more minutes a desk clerk finally arrived. She was all business and asked who was first. That's when I learned that I wouldn't be allowed to check in. David called to confirm he had done mobile check-in, but in spite of the fact that we stay in Marriots multiple times per year in various locations, I'm still not allowed to check in without his presence. Another problem was that the TV in our room advertised in big letters that Showtime was free, as was the usual Netflix, etc. We weren't able to get any Internet TV at all. We called the front desk for help, and again a couple of days later, but for the entire week, nobody ever addressed the problem. It's OK not to have Internet TV, of course, but the fact that it's advertised as such a special thing, and then when we ask 2-3 times about it, nobody helps us, is not OK. The bath was out of shampoo and body wash, and we called to asked for that. They did deliver that the next day. Also, because we were staying 7 days, we asked for a few extra towels to be brought up, and someone brought those right up. So that's a plus. In the Fitness Area on Day 2, I called to report that there were only 2 towels left and the sanitizing wipes were all gone. The front desk person said he would bring some within 10 minutes. 20 minutes later, there were still no wipes, so I didn't wipe my machine down. The next day, the situation was the same, so I went to the front desk, where I again had to wait several minutes for someone.to show up. This time I took the empty wipe canister to leave as a reminder to the staff to replace it. It's a nice property, and some of the staff seemed friendly, but overall it just seemed like some of the staff didn't care about the quality of guests' stay. I'd think twice before staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floors have less light intrusion from outside, if you're like me and like to leave...
See more room tips
Drew R wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I was very unimpressed with this property. The hotel is newer and fairly nice, however they seem to be terribly understaffed and those that are working don't really seem to care much about service. I realize that due to government benefits in a post-COVID world, it is hard to find people that want to work. That said, the employees here seem to take very little pride in what they do. When we checked into our room, there was still trash and perishables left in the refrigerator, so clearly the cleaning staff did not do their job. Virtually every time I stopped at the front desk for something (including upon check in), there was no one manning it and I would have to wait for someone to finally come back to the desk. There is a fairly nice courtyard in the back, but it was often littered with trash left out the night before (drink cans and ton's of cigarette butts). They advertise a bar, restaurant and Starbucks, but they were not open most times with the exception of someone tending bar the first night we were there, but she was clear that she really wasn't a bar tender and unless you were ordering a beer or simple drink, she probably didn't know how to make it. We are staying here for a week for a baseball tournament. The staff is friendly enough and the location is ok, but this hotel leaves a lot to be desired and falls well short of the typical Marriott standard. Again, I am sympathetic to understaffing, so that is probably creating some of the issue, however, they are not representing the Marriott name very well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Carrie P wrote a review Aug 2021
New York, New York, United States3 contributions
After a very long and stressful travel day, we found this hotel on a whim. We walked in without a reservation while the front desk was mobbed, but Carlin, the hotel associate, was calm and well organized- and took such good care of us that we almost forgot the stress of the day. We can’t recommend Carlin and the hotel enough- we are so grateful!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Jo B wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Due to being short staffed several rooms empty but not clean…at8:30 at night. FYI sleeper sofa is a twin bed. Starbucks, bistro not open. Service pleasant when you can find help. Go across street to homewood.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
lovetotravel239 wrote a review Jun 2021
Boston, Massachusetts47 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed here for an overnight and the hotel was very noisy with a big group party going on until the early morning in the courtyard. Management would not shut it down. No cleaning service and had to call several times to get clean towels. Halls and common areas were dirty, trash everywhere. Bistro is still not open. Would not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here, avoid if at all possible!!!
See more room tips
FlyAaron wrote a review Apr 2021
Boston, Massachusetts722 contributions388 helpful votes
This hotel appeared to be reasonably new. It has a fresh, contemporary design. The lobby felt was large and open. You'll find the fitness center and laundry on the first floor. The fitness center had a variety of cardio equipment, free weights, and Swiss balls. To access the center, you'll need to go to the front desk and have them swipe you in. Our room, like the rest of the hotel, was clean and contemporary. I appreciated the color scheme, which made it feel soothing. The bathroom felt slightly larger than the average hotel bathroom with a nice size shower. Let me not forget the huge TV! We only came in contact with one staff member at the front desk who checked us in quickly and was friendly. There's plenty of free parking with various retail around the area like Target, Dunkin, Michael's, and restaurants. When we return to the area to see family, we'll stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
napjag wrote a review Apr 2021
Orlando, Florida2 contributions
nice, clean, beautiful, and updated hotel. you wont be disappointed. quit and good neighborhood. close to some shopping, activities, and food. just 5 minutes farther out from the city but a better option.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Happytravelinfamily wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York384 contributions260 helpful votes
Hotel seems relatively new. The first room the TV was not working - second room the TV was not working but we were able to reconnect it. All food services at the hotel are closed from what we could see.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from Victor Dickson, General Manager at Courtyard Southington
Responded 31 Jan 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry the TV in the rooms you were in did not work. I'm sorry your expectations of us were not met. We will use your comments and communicate them to the proper team, your feedback is very important. I hope you give us another chance the next time you're in Southington. Again, thank you for staying with us during these unusual times. Yours in hospitality, Victor
Read more
US$149 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesConnecticutSouthington
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Southington
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Southington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Southington?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Southington?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Southington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Mango, PolishPlate, and Giovanni's Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Southington?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Southington?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Southington offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Southington?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barnes Museum (2.4 km) and Muzzy Field (8.0 km).
Is Courtyard Southington accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.