We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Royal George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
640 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited the Royal George with friends for an evening meal and although the decor was rather run down the atmosphere was good and the service quick and the staff very friendly. We even discovered that Elvis Presley was a regular visitor to Great Cumbrae! A good selection of dishes on the menu and at very reasonable prices. Easy parking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rossergruffydd
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have just read a response to a review left by my partner. In it the manager practically calls us liars. We DID have to wait half an hour to get a key to the wrong room. Also, the statement that two different rooms were booked in the same name. Again, untrue. The name for our room had been taken... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank jonnyginge666
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review here is a copy of my response to your partner's review 10 October 2012 Thank you for your review. I do remember your stay as we do not often have a mix up with keys, however I am positive that you did not have to wait half an hour for a key. As was explained... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed overnight in the Balmoral Room. On arrival we were shown through the bar area which was pretty dated to the reception desk. Well what can I say except chaotic and untidy. There appeared to be a separate entrance for residents but it was so untidy and looked awful. However our room was nice bright and had a super sea... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley M
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Ventured here for dinner last year & the food was poor & the staff unwelcoming & unfriendly so didnt plan to visit again but back in Millport a few weeks ago we found everywhere else unfortunately fully booked for dinner & it was either the George or the chip shop... should have picked the chip shop. Poor food & terrible... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank P M
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you don't give enough detail for me to identify you, I can only assume that you are the only customer who complained about food in the last few weeks although the complaint was not about the quality of the food as your plates were cleared. The complaint was about the fact that the kitchen... More 

Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

.........shame about the showers. They were truly awful and kept changing from a freezing cold dribble to a boiling hot dribble. The two things we look for when we go to a hotel are a decent bed and a shower that is actually possible to get washed in. Surely it shouldn't be too difficult to get the showers fixed? Other... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have had some problems with the showers in the standard rooms - this problem was linked to low water pressure on the Island. Hopefully we have solved this problem as we have put in new showers which are designed to cope with low water pressure. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here with group of friends recently the rooms are really nice, nice views but found the manager a bit grumpy and always seemed to be growling at something maybe our faces didn't fit or we were to noisy but we were on holiday. Dont know if we would come back we like to feel welcome and felt uncomfortable here.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here 14 years ago, so was pleased to see on the website that the rooms have been refurbished. I chose the Waverley Suite, because this had 2 sleeping areas, views over the water and a luxurious steam shower. Our room had been double booked, so they offered us the suite next door, which they said was the same,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Scotsmum23
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here 14 years ago so booked the Waverley suite @ £120 per night as a treat. Room double booked. Special steam shower only works as shower steam+ additional functions are broken. No toiletries Tesco hand wash! Broken glass in window. However views r amazing + st

Helpful?
Thank scotsmum2
meganIsleofCumbrae, General Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a very prompt review as I can answer your complaint immediately. I must however point out that everything that you have mentioned was dealt with promptly except for the problem with the shower. Your room was double booked as the guests staying in that suite for the previous four nights had asked to stay another night.... More 

ayrshirnie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Had a lovely stay at the hotel we stayed for two nights to get away after my dog passed away so it was a late booking .Breakfast was fab kept asking if we wanted more tea or coffee and more toast so helpful .Room was spotless so relaxing Hope next time we go back we will be able to get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fionatodd
meganIsleofCumbrae, General Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is good to know that guests are pleased with our efforts to give them a pleasant stay. I know that your booking was made fairly late & our rooms with balconies & sea views book very early - hopefully we will be able to offer you one of these rooms next time... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Pros: Fabulous location, with great views and right next to the bus stop for getting to/from the ferry Recently refurbished Friendly and helpful staff Cons: The room I had was not fully refurbished, with a couple of loose electrical cables with exposed ends showing Lots of dusting needed in the room Fire doors right next to rooms which slam shut... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MarkPack
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Mark. Can I firstly address the issue of "electrical wires", these are not electrical wires but cable for telephones. When we were refurbishing we wanted to put telephones in the rooms and had the cables installed before the completion of the building work. As most people now have mobile phones and the cost of installing... More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millport
8.5 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,320 reviews
6.6 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
12.2 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
12.4 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
224 reviews
27.1 km away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Millport pier the newly refurbished George Hotel now boasts 5 suites, 3 luxury rooms and 3 standard rooms. The suites have their own lounge, double bedroom, Jacuzzi bath or twin steam shower. Luxury double rooms have balconies with stunning views over the River Clyde, shower/steam room or a state of the art shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal George Hotel

Address: 1-3 Quayhead Street, Millport KA28 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Price Range: €41 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top Floor Balcony”
 of 5 bubbles JohnWilliamson1983, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“never stayed”
 of 5 bubbles NeilMcK_13, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I would pay the small extra for a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles D1383OCsandras, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Hotel has entertainment at the Weekend rooms at the back of hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles marysQ956GM, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“ask for room with harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles watsy77, 28 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5