We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Branford\/New Haven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Let me just say, I'm a hotel snob. I often stay at 5-star class hotels. When we had to stay overnight in this area for a doctor's appointment for our son, I was skeptical. I was wrong. The hotel is clean and nice. The halls were clean and quiet as was our room. Nice bathroom. Bed was nice with white...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoYa2
Reviewed 16 September 2016

As an Spire Elite member, and not to mention that I was visiting the area due to several customers that I service in the printing industry, for the last year and a half I seen the nephew of the owner just get rid off people, good people and replacing them with people that are not customer oriented and that are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank El Makinon C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear El Makinon C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding our room condition and staff....

atlanta
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Upon entry, I was slapped in the face with a very pungent odor! The receptionist laughed-out-loud by my apparent expression.It truly was no laughing matter! Pro's: None to mention. Con's: 1. Horrible smell throughout the hotel. In the lobby, on the elevator and room. 2. Inedible breakfast. The bread, sausage, bacon and "cubed - eggs" all looked a day old....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twillis600
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear twillis600, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay with us, specially the odor, the food quality and the level of service you received. Your comments are highly...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I stayed here once before last year, with both trips being for client work, and it's easily one of my preferred locations anywhere in Connecticut. Great customer service, very quiet at night, the rooms are extremely clean and it's convenient to both New Haven and points East of Branford. I've never eaten the breakfast here as there are several places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikkieser
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Good Hotel all around. Rooms are clean and roomy. Good variety at breakfast and room service did a great job. Walls are a little thin. You can hear conversations and the tv of guests in rooms next to you and above as well. Overall a good experience and would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEFFREY R
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Just used this hotel for a wedding block. They were lousy at modifying existing reservations. Three of our guests with confirmed reservations and confirmation numbers in hand did NOT have rooms when they arrived. Very embarrassing for the wedding hosts and awful for my 87 year old mother when she arrived to find no room. Also, a couple of our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank r00k12
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear r00k12, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you...

Sleepy Hollow, New York
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We were promised a room on the first floor for a disabled person. Instead, we were given a second floor room as far from the lobby as possible, to which a wheelchair had to be pushed many times. This is called false advertising, or, in simpler terms, being lied to. . The staff was indifferent or rude. The details--like laughably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kanfer1
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear kanfer1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is truly regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay. Allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with some of our amenities and services. I would like to have the opportunity to make it up to you and...

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Holiday Inn Express Branfdord provides a warm welcome and genuine hospitality. Rooms are large and the indoor pool is bright and cheerful. Desk staff are invariably helpful. Shonie brought us cookies in the pool because they weren't quite ready when we asked. A very nice experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey L
New Jersey
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Stopped here driving back from Cape Cod when I needed a rest from a long two days of driving. It was perfectly adequate and the personnel were quite accommodating. Indoor pool was nice. A modest but, good choice along the Connecticut coast and not far from Route 95. Three restaurants in walking distance - steakhouse, sushi, pizza.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PhilipNewJersey
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear PhilipNewJersey, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I appreciate feedback...

Woodmere, New York
Reviewed 5 July 2016

It was a well located, clean, nice place with good breakfast. We enjoyed it and found a wonderful nearby restaurant, le petit café; super good. The Regal multiplex movies are right around the corner which was a bonus too.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peggyvb

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
2.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
46 reviews
2.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford/New Haven
15.3 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
11.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Guilford
98 reviews
6.2 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Address: 309 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405-3134
Region: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Price Range: €110 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor is being refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles j1mmythunder, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As per previous reviews stayed on a lower floor. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaziti, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“low floor as the elevator is very slow.”
 of 5 bubbles stephanies654, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from here. Far away.”
 of 5 bubbles kanfer1, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Even numbered rooms have slightly better view. Odd numbered face auto dealership.”
 of 5 bubbles 592jeffreyl, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay