We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Sundowner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 368: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I go to Sterling! It was very clean, rooms where nicely furnished and decorated, great amenities in the rooms (microwave, fridge, and coffee pot), and breakfast was awesome (so much to choose from!). I'll definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank handersonesq
Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great overnight stay, clean and friendly staff. The beds were comfortable and the rooms/hotel seems newly renovated. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Easy access to the highway and restaurants in town for dinner.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melindak89
Tulare, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made the reservation by phone as we drove from Boulder... it was very late at night, so we checked in and went to sleep. Early in the morning, there was about a half hour of children yelling and laughing. An acceptable roadside stop on a long roadtrip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honest J
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel, Honest J. We understand how important it is to have a clean and quiet stay after a long road trip, so our goal is to provide our guests with that experience. I would like to apologize for the noise from the children yelling...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were woken up at 3 AM by the front desk attendant cramming papers under our door. Went and spoke with him about it, he very nonchalantly brushed off the issue, not seeming to care at all. So we are back in our room, doing our best to get some more sleep, to no avail. But that's probably for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay. I want to apologize for your experience, I understand how important a good nights sleep is. Superior customer service is our goal, and you did not receive that. I will use your feedback to provide additional training to our front desk staff, and make sure nothing like...

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice, clean, quite hotel with a hot breakfast. It also has a pool, fitness room and laundry room. Looks like it had been update within the last five years. We had a double queen room at the back end of the hotel. It is probably the largest double queen room we have ever stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel, Jim L. We have done some remodeling within the last few years, and are still working on improvements to our hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our deluxe rooms towards the back of our hotel. These rooms provide our guests with...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Better than a lot of places in the area but a bit pricy for a fairly average hotel. I personally think they are over priced but it was clean and that matters most. Bed was comfortable and staff helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hjensen90
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, hjensen90. I am glad that you experienced a clean stay, that is our goal. Our rates are based on occupancy, so I like to inform our guests to make reservations as far in advance as possible to receive our best rate. I apologize for your inconvenience...

Durango, Colorado
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Check in was easy, reservation made online. Staff very friendly. The room was surprisingly roomy and comfortable. Parking was great, love that the room I stayed in opened to the hallway and to the parking lot. Parking wasn't crowded at all. I was able to park in front of the rooms door. Accommodations were great. Comfortable bed, flat hd tv,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic V
Platteville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The rooms were very clean and updated. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. The only problem we had was that the indoor pool was too cold to get in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuggy50
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

It was a pleasure reading your review, tuggy50. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. I want to apologize for the coldness of the indoor pool, we immediately fixed the problem. We take pride in the cleanliness and condition of our hotel, from the staff on property to the owners. We update our rooms...

Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Hotel was easily accessed from I-70. Main entrance under construction, so had to search for alternate entrance, then wait a few minutes for clerk to return to the desk. Got room on the second floor, which was clean and comfortable. No elevator, but several stairways available. Nothing wrong with the place, and would have given a better review if no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poorboy52
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay, Poorboy52. We finally have our front entrance open to the hotel, with new sliding doors for our guests. The construction and remodel we had done to the exterior of the hotel was inconvenient for our guests, and I am sincerely sorry you were affected by it. If you stay with us...

Sioux Falls, United States
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Hotel is clean and nicely kept. Only place to stay in Sterling until other hotel is built. Staff is friendly, ammenities were all working, and breakfast was adequate. Easy to find as it's right off interstate. Beds are wonderful and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laverna P
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Laverna P, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I want to thank you for writing a review. The main focus for our staff is to provide our guests with an exceptional experience during their stay. The convenience to I-76 make our hotel easily accessible, while we work to provide a safe and comfortable experience. Whether you are traveling...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751
Region: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Price Range: €104 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sundowner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a first floor room, no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Poorboy52, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“1st floor if have trouble with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles bonniem620, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I liked the first level rooms for the 2 entrances and we were close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles judyf, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Call directly to hotel to explain your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles S8078PSjohnc, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We pd a little more. Had a large room with outside access. Parked the car outside the door!!”
 of 5 bubbles DNARZ, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay