We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bauers Spruce Island Chalets

Save
Share
5937 S Brook Forest Rd, Evergreen, CO 80439-7134
Booking.com
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 5 Speciality lodging in Evergreen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a small family owned resort offering accommodations for 2 to 10 people in our studio, one-bedroom, three-bedroom, and four-bedroom chalets and cottages. Fully furnished and equipped kitchens offer vacation rentals for groups of up to 40 in the Evergreen, Colorado area of the Rocky Mountains, 25 miles west of Denver.Our playground for the kids, large lawn for volleyball, badminton, etc., the picnic tables and grills, elk and deer visitors, and the pond and creek for fishing provide a fun vacation without leaving the property. But you'll also want to explore the wonderful Rocky Mountains surrounding Evergreen.Evergreen provides cultural activities such as art shows and musical presentations throughout the year. And we're only a short drive to Red Rocks Amphitheater and Bandimere Speedway as well as world class skiing, snowshoeing and rafting.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf course
Hiking
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
12Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Salgal81621 wrote a review Jan 2018
Basalt, Colorado15 contributions3 helpful votes
Made the mistake of booking here before thoroughly vetting this place. They immediately took $30 off my "refund" as "policy." Don't fall into their nickle and dime trap. Your money is best spent elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Manager at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
Responded 15 Jan 2018
Our policy clearly states that we collect a 50% deposit and there is a $30 cancellation fee if you cancel more than 14 days in advance. This is so people don't hold on to a room during high season and then cancel. Plus we do incur expenses once a room is booked, time, postage, paper, ink and the like. I would think that you would vet a place before reserving a room. I'm sorry your experience was a bad one even though you haven't stayed at our place.
Read more
Cindy H wrote a review Aug 2016
Denver, Colorado2 contributions
Local hosts were very helpful and this was perfect for a small family reunion, with an open green grass area for kids to run, and a kick a soccer ball, and they provided two bbq grills and picnic tables for outdoor group meals. We loved the playground and creek running through to fish in. There were trout waiting in the shallow pools too!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
Responded 4 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We so enjoyed hosting your wonderful family. It was a pleasure to see everyone enjoying all that Bauer's has to offer. We're glad the fish were biting and appreciate the picture of the fisherman with his catch posted to Facebook. We look forward to welcoming you back to Evergreen and Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets if your plans allow. Sue Retterer
Read more
Emily W wrote a review Jul 2016
Buffalo, New York6 contributions
We arrived at Bauers on Tuesday night to stay for one night. We had been travelling since June 26 and this was, by far, the worst place we stayed. The freezer in the mini fridge was so iced over we couldn't use it and the fridge wouldn't even close so none if our stuff stayed cold! The light bulb in the kitchen burned out so no light and there was only enough hot water for one of us to take a 5 minute shower. We let the owners know and they just apologized and said they would fix it for the next guests. Gee thanks 😢 We do NOT recommend this place and that's sad because we usually get treated best at family run businesses. Do not stay here...the price was too high for the apathetic service we received.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
Responded 4 Aug 2016
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the room not being up to par. Had you let us know the evening you arrived rather the morning you were leaving we would have taken care of the issues or provided alternative accommodations. Sue Retterer
Read more
Rita F wrote a review Aug 2013
Aurora, Colorado1 contribution1 helpful vote
My daughter, grandsons and I took a day trip and ended up in Evergreen. We found ourselves in a park where the boys had a great time and didn't want to leave and return home. Since we had nothing we needed to be back home for right away we decided to find a place to stay for the night. I remembered hearing about Bauers Spruce Island Chalets. We looked it up and called. They had a one bedroom left and we found them VERY accomidating. It was just what we were looking for.... out of the city and away from busy roads. Safe for the kids. Very family friendly. It was rustic. It is a place where you want to stay if you want rustic, mountain feeling and clean fresh air. It was like staying in a house in the woods. It was totally furnished just like home. We only had to bring the food. The kitchen was fully accessable with dishes and all. We can't wait to go back again. Thanks for the hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you want the Ritz or the Weston.... this is not the place for you. This a place for people...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
Responded 20 Aug 2013
Thanks for staying with us and especially for providing potential guests a realistic overview of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Sue Retterer, Innkeeper
Read more
Mom3ky wrote a review Aug 2013
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We stayed or two night at the Ponderosa. We were so wxcited after seekng rhe pics and reviews on the webste. The cabin was relatively clean but not at all as nice as the pics on website. The whole place seemed to not have been maintained in awhile and was in a bit of disrepair. The mattresses on the beds were so old there were peaks and valleys. None of us slept well and two had severe backaches after two nights in the beds. We Needed a full kitchen but there is very little supplied in terms of kitchen goods so we were not able to utilize the kitchen as we'd hoped. The owners were seldom available and did not return calls to the number provided on the office door. It is definitely not the worst place we've ever stayed but it was not even worth half of what we paid. I'd choose the Highland Haven or Bear Creek Cabins any day over this place. They are much nicer, more affordable and have a better location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
Responded 20 Aug 2013
I am sorry you feel that your family of five plus your dog were not well accommodated in our three bedroom Ponderosa Chalet, which is one of the favorites of our guests. We particularly cater to families and therefore are able to offer accommodations to your size family unlike most other lodging facilities in the Evergreen area, especially those mentioned in your comments. As Clare had spoken with you after you left the voice mail I did not think it necessary to return your call. I wish you had called again. If you had articulated your concerns to her we would have made every effort to resolve your issues and provide whatever kitchen amenities you thought were lacking.. If that were not possible we would have released you from the balance of your reservation. We certainly don't want people to continue their stay if they are not happy. I hope you are able to find accommodations which are more in keeping with your expectations the next time you visit the area. Sue Retterer, Innkeeper
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoEvergreen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
Which popular attractions are close to Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Nearby attractions include Evergreen Lake (2.5 km), Alderfer/Three Sisters Park (3.0 km), and Lair O' the Bear Park (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bistro at Marshdale, Willow Creek Restaurant, and Creekside Cellars Winery and Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Bauers Spruce Island Chalets?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dinosaur Ridge (15.3 km), Boettcher Mansion (15.5 km), and Heritage Square (12.4 km).