We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Save
Share
818 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$129
View deal
Booking.comUS$133
Hotels.comUS$129
PricelineUS$129
TravelocityUS$129
TributePortfolioUS$129
ZenHotels.comUS$136
View all 21 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (486)
360
Panoramas (40)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#51 of 178 hotels in Denver
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel is a downtown Denver, Colorado boutique hotel that features guestrooms and suites ideal for corporate and leisure travelers. Travelers who desire a location within walking distance of attractions including the Denver Convention Center, 16th Street Mall, Union Station, Coors Field love our downtown hotel, which is close to all of downtown's restaurants, shopping and entertainment areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
3178Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,810
  • 825
  • 294
  • 138
  • 111
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joseph K wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
The Magnolia in Denver was a nice stay at a historic building. But 2 of the elevators were down for a couple days, then one was fixed after a few days. Minor inconvenience for me as I was only on the third floor with just a duffle bag. The text message service was convenient as well. Overall, decent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello josephkeem, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear you had an overall nice stay. My sincerest apologies on the experience with the elevators being down during some of your visit. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. We hope to welcome you back when your travels return to Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill P wrote a review Aug 2022
Grinnell, Iowa25 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Thanks for a great stay! Visiting for business. Four nights at the Magnolia. Appreciate the hospitality, good food, comfortable room. I stay here for most of my Denver trips and always know what to expect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Hello jpetsel19, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope to welcome you back when your business travels return to Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The4JonesFam wrote a review Jan 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
I am kicking myself for not reading the reviews before booking...we are Bonvoy members and I booked through the app thinking, "This will be a nicer option/change for regular trips to Denver." Wrong! Here were just a few of the issues... 1. There are three elevators for this 12-story hotel. Only one was working during the week stay, then one day none were working. Hiking up/down from the 12th floor was no fun. 2. The TV did not work for the entire stay. Despite asking for someone to fix it and/or for a room change several times, nothing was done. 3. At our level on Bonvoy, we are eligible for a room upgrade. This was booked last minute, and there were several rooms in all levels of rooms available for the entire stay. Yet, told at check-in there were no rooms for upgrades. 4. The rooms were just OK, definitely not premium, as stated for the level of Marriott. I understand it's a historic hotel, so they're a bit smaller, but they are very outdated and definitely not as nice as other Marriott hotels in lower categories in the area. Also, there is no refrigerator or microwave in the room--my fault for not catching this when booking, but even budget hotels have a small fridge and microwave! 5. Lastly, there was human excrement on the ground just outside the hotel doors for nearly the entire week. I realize there is a large homeless population in this area of Denver, but it is up to the hotel management to keep the hotel property clean inside and out, and this was not done. During the entire week, texts were sent almost daily asking how the stay was going. We responded with the issues, and the answer was basically, "We're sorry for the inconvenience." There was never any intention of fixing the issues, they were just going through the motions of so-called customer service. For the poor level of accommodation and service with the price and the area , I would not choose this hotel ever again. And, I would strongly encourage others to read the reviews before you book this hotel...because they are true.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings The4JonesFam, Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are sorry to learn that we did not meet your or our expectations. Rest assured your issues have been shared with the entire hotel team and that we are working to ensure these items are not repeated moving forward. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we do hope to welcome you back when you return to Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katiebird1 wrote a review Dec 2022
Warwick, Rhode Island117 contributions52 helpful votes
I arrived cold and tired after a day of frustrating travel, and Scott greeted me with a smile and a quick check-in. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and relatively new. The hotel has a texting system for requests, and it worked great for my questions. The hotel is walking distance from Union Station in case you want to take the train from the airport. (I found the walk to be a little strenuous with luggage, at night.) There were some frustrations - for example, only one working elevator out of 3, and all the stairwells were emergency exit only. (Once I asked a housekeeper if I could use the stairs, and she kindly escorted me through an employee-only area to the stairs.) I never did get my mobile key, despite requesting it through the app and at check-in. (Second time this has happened to me at a Marriott property within 2 months. I blame Corporate, not the Magnolia. I didn't follow up, because after check-in, there was really no point.) Also, the only bottled water available was a $7 bottle of Voss in the room. The vending machine was sold out of water. (Walgreen's is just around the corner - $2 water!) More good things: In addition to friendly and helpful staff throughout, this hotel has some thoughtful little touches. Great coffee in the lobby starting at 6:00am, milk and cookies in the evenings, and a complimentary gift-wrapping station in December. Also, the food was very good: I had room service from Harry's when I arrived, breakfast there one day, and several banquet meals as part of a conference.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Interior rooms (window to the outside but the view is the building a few feet away) are a little...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Hello Katie D, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all of your feedback, and it has been shared with the entire hotel team. We are sorry to learn there were some frustrations and we will utilize your review to continue to get better. We truly appreciate you recognizing Scott along with the positive comments surrounding our location, comfortable room, gift wrapping station and of course our cookies and milk. We do hope to welcome you back when you return to Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darlene wrote a review Dec 2022
Oceanside, California9 contributions1 helpful vote
Comfortable hotel with good service. It was a very nice location for the things that we did. That included a dance performance at Cleo Parker Robinson dance theater (Granny Dances to a Holiday Drum), we saw the light show at the Denver City and County Building, went to the Chrstkindl market at Civic Center park. We checked out the holiday decorations at Union Station and had a nice meal at Wynkoop Brewing. The second day we went to the Denver museum of Nature and science, had an excellent brunch at Snooze (great food-locally sourced ). We checked out some local shops. Denver is a great place to spend a short break. There is so much to see and do. One note about The Magnolia:It is $30 to self park at the garage next door and $54 for valet parking (not necessary if you want to save money), so you need to budget that in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Hello darlener857, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent Christmas trip to Denver. We truly appreciate the kind review, and we loved reading about all of your experiences while you were here. Sounds like you had a really great time! Please come see us again when your travels return to Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J989 wrote a review Dec 2022
Los Angeles, California18 contributions40 helpful votes
SCOTT at the front desk is the friendliest hotel staff member I’ve ever met. That man deserves a promotion and a raise. He was so helpful and made my check in a very pleasant experience. The breakfast and bar vouchers for elites is very generous. I enjoyed my stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 8 Dec 2022
Hello J989, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for recognizing SCOTT on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and can't wait to welcome you back! Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travis D wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Absolutely blown away by how excellent the staff of the hotel was. They went above and beyond helping us with packages and accommodations. Cannot say enough great things about them. The hotel itself was also great: huge rooms, nice gym, clean. Highly recommended and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Greetings travisdH2927CZ, Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in Denver. I am glad to see you really enjoyed your accommodations and that you were blown away by the service from the excellent staff. Please come see us again when you return to Downtown Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Felicia L. wrote a review Dec 2022
Houston, Texas23 contributions33 helpful votes
Every employee that we encountered at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was lovely. I liked the decor throughout. The room was spacious and had a decent view of downtown. The bed and bedding was great… so comfy! There was a lot of outside sirens and such throughout both nights of our stay so as a light sleeper that was not my favorite part. The negatives - our floor (4) smelled of weed. I get it… we’re in Denver. No worries… just a heads up. The in-room supplied body wash attached to the wall was definitely watered down. I didn’t bring my own because we were only flying in with a carry on. We made due, but definitely bring your own soap and shampoos. For me personally, I’m going to be very honest… the worst part of our stay was the amount of homeless & drugged out people around the hotel. We walked to the 16th street mall and it was slightly scary. Men were yelling at the air, laid out against the walls and constantly digging through the trash cans. We had an early flight so had to leave the hotel at 3am and we’re approached as we were going into the parking garage. We just kept walking but I didn’t care for that at all. I understand this isn’t really something against the hotel itself… but it definitely is worth keeping in mind of your planning a girls trip or traveling with children.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Hello Felicia L, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to learn that you experienced some issues with the people that are experiencing homelessness while you were in Denver. I know Denver is working hard at getting the issue under control and that is a top priority for them. I have forwarded all of your feedback to my entire hotel team to ensure some of the other mishaps are not repeated moving forward. It is great to see that my hotel employees took great care of you while you were here. Please come and see us when your travels return to Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan K wrote a review Dec 2022
Boulder, Colorado7 contributions10 helpful votes
We came to Denver for the Parade of Lights and decided to make it a staycation, as we live about 30 minutes outside of Denver. We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel for the first time, and it was lovely. The location is perfect for any Downtown Denver activities, and the rooms have been updated, even though the hotel itself is historic. The elevators have been kept in their original aesthetics, so they're a bit slow and temperamental, but there is an engraved sign above the buttons that explain that. There is some street noise in the rooms, so if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are very clean. All in all, we very much enjoyed our overnight getaway in Denver.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Hello suek61, Thank you so very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for spending your staycation with us and for leaving such a detailed review. We do offer interior rooms and have added an additional pane of glass to the majority of our city facing rooms for the light sleepers out there. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and come see us when you are back in Denver. Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa C wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
When we arrived the staff were all friendly and very helpful. I called down for an additional robe and they had it to our room in minutes. Valet was so convenient. Station for Christmas wrapping was set up. Restraunt was amazing and service was exceptional. Cookies and milk in the lobby in the evening. Location is great. We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Horonzy, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Greeting Melissa C, Thank you very much for spending your couple weekend with us and for taking the time to write a review. It looks like you really experienced all facets of the hotel during your trip. I am so happy to see you also got to experience the Christmas wrapping station as that is an annual tradition at the hotel every year. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon! Jason Horonzy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$129 - US$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
denver magnolia hotel
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoDenverCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
297
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAGNOLIA HOTEL DENVER, A TRIBUTE PORTFOLIO HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EscapeWorks Denver (0.2 km), American Museum of Western Art (0.4 km), and The Clocktower Cabaret (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include 54thirty Rooftop, Corinne Restaurant, and Guard and Grace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Denver.
Are any cleaning services offered at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Magnolia Hotel Denver, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.