We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Wokefield Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Wokefield Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Wokefield Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,767: English reviews
Wales
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed at the hotel for two nights to celebrate my daughters birthday. Having previously stayed here on business, I combined the stay with a day out for the children. I booked a family room at £155. per night, and we were allocated a room in the executive centre, where I have previously stayed. Check-in was easy and dealt with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilagriffiths18
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay, Please accept our apologies that you felt customer service skills were lacking whilst dining within the restaurant, We always strive to improve our relationships with guests and ensure we take all feedback on board and put the necessary actions in place to continually improve standards. Great to...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I had my Wedding here back in May and we had a bad experience so I personally would never book to have dinner or stay there again. But they offered me a free Afternoon Tea as a sorry. The Afternoon Tea was brilliant - except they only set up for 2 people when there was 4 of us but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your afternoon tea here at Wokefield Park. Great to read that you enjoyed your champagne and sandwiches, and that your table setting was amended to the required settings. Kind regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

I stayed at this hotel for an event. Check in was easy and the hotel accommodated our advanced request to have neighboring rooms. The room was spacious and generally clean. The kettle was extremely dusty and many corners of the room contained cobwebs. I just cleaned these areas myself in no time at all. The bathroom looked modern, containing a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vprecious
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent visit to us here at Wokefield Park. I am sorry that you found some fault in your room, The hotel does have a rolling programme in place to continually replace both fixtures and fittings. Great to see that you enjoyed the breakfast on your visit and took...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Yesterday on my cycle ride around South reading I cycled through Wokefield Park. It is the site of a very good de Vere hotel that I have stayed in on a number of occasions for business conferences. It also has an Adventure Sports facility for the more physically active. It is not far from Reading centre but you get a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonathanSuch2013
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your cycle round Wokefield Park. Kind Regards

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for the weekend such an amazing view from our room was very clean what can i say about the staff amazing couldnt help us enough thanks all and cant wait for our next stay going to try the golf next time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abspearson
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay, I hope we'll see you again at wokefield Park in the not so distant future. Kind regards

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

This is quite simply by far and away the most consistent, poorly run hotel I've ever had the misfortune to stay in. The food ranges from awful to quite nice (but nothing more). It generally sits at a predictably below average by quite a margin. The waiting staff mostly consist of people that basically have no interest in what they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin n
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to read that you left the venue feeling that your stay with us left you feeling disappointed. I can assure you that the menu's on site are changed on a regular basis. We also ensure that all staff complete a full company induction prior to starting their...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

On arrival it's not clear where you have to go no one to greet you, we thought we would be in the lovely bar area over looking the garden and grounds! No we were taken to a poorly decorated room more like a conference room, The food was of very good standard and the staff pleasant but not really organised,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to us here at Wokefield. I am sorry to read that you found the area you were located to be not as the standard as expected. We do share all feedback with the team and ensure we put actions in place to continually move the Venue forward....

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Booked despite previous! Bad! Reviews and found this hotel to be both friendly and comfortable. We booked this hotel as a stopover from traveling from Scotland to Southampton. The reception staff were very friendly and the room we got was spotless and room 310 has a small balcony where we sat and watched the golfers on the golf range. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 592Audrey
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay here at wokefield Park. Great to read that you enjoyed staying in room 310. I hope we can welcome you back to Wokefield again in the not so distant future. Kind Regards

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

We booked our family room two weeks in advance, so after a full day out with the kids and feeling tiered we went straight to the steam and grill buffet, the food was fine, but the drinks we ordered didn't arrive until we had nearly finished our main course, and my husbands drink didn't arrive at all, we finally got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaza1989
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Venue. May I firstly apologies that you encountered delays in the restaurant with the drinks service we offer, and secondly apologies that you encountered issues with the bed allocation for your room in Wellington. I can assure you that all team...

Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. Staff were friendly, polite & efficient. Grounds & location are beautiful. Food was amazing (especially the scones). If you have any sandwiches/cakes left over they will box them up for you to take home. The only little disappoints is that it would of been nice if the teas had been labelled & if there had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m1tc4
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit to Wokefield Park for Afternoon tea. We appreciate all feedback we receive and hope we can welcome you back in the not so distant future. Kind Regards

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (413)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
32.8 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,420 reviews
6.4 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,700 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
5.4 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range: €50 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms to far away from the reception. Long never ending corridors. Organize sweeteners before breakfast !!”
 of 5 bubbles Hubeedo, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 208 has a lovely view of the seating area and grass”
 of 5 bubbles 530DREW, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The executive suites rooms seem to be all of a good size”
 of 5 bubbles sak8, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Manor House is much quieter than the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles aa89758, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay at the Mansion not the conference centre.”
 of 5 bubbles regulartraveller01, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5