We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Save
Share
405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$403
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$403
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Vio.com
US$354
View deal
Hotels.comUS$403
TravelocityUS$403
EtripUS$426
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
420Reviews3Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 151
  • 39
  • 33
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hot123 wrote a review Yesterday
Essex, United Kingdom232 contributions93 helpful votes
Terrible. Over priced motel which is noisy. I’m in a cabin $350 a night and the noise from the restaurant and the attached cabin is deafening. Not worth the money I suggest you spend your money elsewhere as it is late I’ll have to put up with it. I’ll check out early tomorrow not spending another night here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay in the Queen room it’s a cabin!!!! Noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Thomas58078 wrote a review Jan 2023
West Fargo, North Dakota248 contributions99 helpful votes
My wife and I had one of the most delicious meals we have every enjoyed at the kitchen of the El Dorado. Service of course was top notch; the wine list was extensive and a good variety. The meal however was out of this world. I had the petaluma chicken breast, and my wife had the salmon. Chef's kiss on both of these entrees. We will be back with friends when we return in the fall.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thannk you for dining at El Dorado Kitchen! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and our service. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the fall. All the best in the New Year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drmader wrote a review Oct 2022
Orinda, California2059 contributions508 helpful votes
I love the Lodge at Sonoma Resort just off the square .. Stayed many times ..but what a treat to have a balcony, Spanish tile..beautifully appointed room right on the square.. not at all chain feeling, just quaint old building and wonderful location on square . Reminded me of Ojai valley Inn which is a favorite. Lovely staff, dining, meeting rooms , easy to park In front and access everything you want in sonoma. Will be back ! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 21 Oct 2022
Thank you for staying at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen. So happy to hear you enjoyed our location on Sonoma square and our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim0530 wrote a review Aug 2022
Tucson, Arizona33 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Amazing!! Front desk person Amanda gave us a champagne welcome. The room was lovely. Balcony overlooking the wine bar across the street. The pool was heated and perfect. And the restaurant for breakfast was lovely. Will go back and recommend to anyone looking for a unique special place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Remember that there is parking in the back for the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hello Kim, Thank you for sharing your amazing stay at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen! We are glad you enjoyed a little bubbly to start your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again! Kurt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rbteton wrote a review Jul 2022
Edwards, Colorado28 contributions5 helpful votes
We spent four nights in Sonoma for a family reunion. The hotel was very comfortable and had a great, convenient location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Thank you for staying at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen for your family vacation! We are so pleased you enjoyed all that Sonoma has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim C wrote a review Jun 2022
Little River, South Carolina53 contributions45 helpful votes
Lovely restaurant BUT, we have a person with dietary restrictions. The restaurant could not accommodate a “plain” meal request. Would not substitute a buttered pasta for plain pasta. Suggested broccoli for vegetable and gave us a mixture of corn and other assorted vegetables …none of which were even in the original suggestion. The buttered pasta we received was heavy and over buttered!!! NOT what can be tolerated on this diet. Why they couldn’t just give us plain fettuccine, I’ll never know!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Kim, We are so sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience and we wanted to extend our heartfelt apology. Please let us know next time you are in town as we would like to do something for you to make up for it. Warmest Regards, Joël
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd G wrote a review May 2022
Los Angeles, California37 contributions34 helpful votes
Checked into this hotel for the first time for a three-day wedding weekend in Sonoma. At check-in, a welcome glass of champaign was preceded by a warm smile, always the nicest way to start a mini vacation. Got room 4, smallish but with a large balcony overlooking the square. Complimentary coffee and tea in the morning from 6 to 11 am. Ice water available all day and night. Bikes also available for easy pedaling around this quaint (and relatively flat) paradise. The hotel's restaurant is delicious, with a lovely patio for lunch and maybe a warm night and a beautiful inside dining room where I recommend getting a table on the periphery, preferably by the window. The wait staff and hostesses were warm, personable, helpful, seeming to like each other and the menu. The entire staff was great. The women of the cleaning staff who showed up at 6:30 to start their day's work were also very friendly, speaking both Spanish and English and chatting among each other and sharing jokes and laughter before they buckled down to a long, hard day. Basically, this was a bright, clean, quality hotel. Thin walls, soft, squishy pillows are the only drawbacks, but other little details like cold bottled water, a nice variety of snacks in the room more than make up for this, as does proximity to excellent local restaurants (The Girl and The Fig, the Basque Bakery where you must try the raisin-apple muffins - OMG - and so on) ... enjoy the search for for your own favorites, this beautiful, comfortable hotel with the friendly staff will be waiting for you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a large balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 25 May 2022
Hello Todd, Thank you for staying at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen! We appreciate your detailed comments about your experience in Sonoma. Your comments have been shared with the team. Getting feedback like yours helps us stay on our toes. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sonoma.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
markabaddon wrote a review Feb 2022
Apple Valley, Minnesota199 contributions55 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel last minute when we had to leave another hotel in Sonoma because of various issues. The El Dorado was able to find a room for us last minute and the service was impeccable. Great experience at check in and leaving. The room itself was nice but a bit small, more of a European style room. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The location of the hotel could not be better as you are literally just a few steps away from a ton of restaurants and shops. My one complaint is the lack of an elevator. This is a historic building so it is a bit of a pain taking your luggage up but the staff could not be nicer or more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room had a view of Sonoma Square which was lovely
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 10 Feb 2022
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased that you found us and hope that you enjoyed your Sonoma experience. While, as you note, we don't have an elevator - our staff will be happy to help navigate the stairs. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you on your next visit to Sonoma.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cja2k1 wrote a review Nov 2021
San Francisco, California486 contributions162 helpful votes
For the rate I paid, I definitely expected better. We booked a king room with an outdoor patio, and what we got was an ADA accessible room right next to the parking lot that had to be the loudest room we've ever had in all our years of traveling. The patio was useless because you would've had to listen to cars pulling in & out of the parking lot, deliveries going back & forth, gates banging, and other crazy noises. The walls were so thin that we actually heard the guest snoring in the room next door! The worst part was the thunderous noise we heard very early in the morning: we really thought there was an earthquake, but as far as we could tell, it was the garbage truck that sounded like it was literally on top of us. Fortunately, we were only staying one night, and I can't remember the last time we were so eager to check out. The location was great, but otherwise, definitely think twice about staying here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: do not book room 28 or any other "bungalow" room unless you bring ear plugs...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 26 Nov 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your room. Based on your description, it looks like you stayed in one of our Patio Queen rooms. If you had booked a king bedded room, those would be located in the main building. Our goal is to provide the service and experience that makes you want to return. It does not look like we succeeded. I do apologize. I would be happy to discuss this with you over the phone. Feel free to reach out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly C wrote a review Nov 2021
10 contributions5 helpful votes
We had our son's rehearsal dinner in the Wine Bar on November 12th and the staff did a fabulous job. Nisha and Rose adjusted things around late guests and helped us to create a magical evening for the future bride and groom. The food and drinks were fabulous from start to finish. This is a wonderful place to host a private event.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Wine Bar for a private party
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent event at El Dorado Hotel + Kitchen. We are so pleased that Nisha and Rosie helped make a magical event. We hope the rest of the celebration weekend was just as amazing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$259 - US$449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el dorado hotel and kitchen, el dorado hotel kitchen, el dorado sonoma
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSonoma CountySonoma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL DORADO HOTEL & KITCHEN - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Which popular attractions are close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Nearby attractions include Vella Cheese Company (0.4 km), Sonoma Plaza (0.02 km), and Sonoma Coast State Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Scoops Homemade Ice Cream, Cafe La Haye, and LaSalette Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Sonoma.
Does El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting General M.G. Vallejo Home (0.6 km), Lachryma Montis (0.7 km), and Haraszthy Villa (2.6 km).