We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandman

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandman
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of Sandman
 Click to rate
N. California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

They are nearly complete with their renovation, and it looks great already! The rooms were well thought out, and the beds were super comfortable. The staff is very caring and helpful. The pool area is going to be fantastic with a pool bar! Look forward to staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwebbca
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the entire hotel seems to be under extensive renovation, the rooms have been completed and are nicely appointed. From floor to ceiling, the rooms have been totally redone and are fresh and nicely laid out with new furniture selections. The pool area was closed for renovation as was the regular office and breakfast area, but work is continuing on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis K
Clearlake, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Sandman is currently going over a major construction project, so there is not even a working lobby. The pool is closed. Our room was NOT as pictured at all. We had requested two Queen beds, we got one. The worst part was there was NO carpet, just a creepy throw rug that stuck out from under the bed. And...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karene J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great shower, great mattress, great price. Solid. We had a great night of rest. I love that they use Malin and goetz in dispensers instead of individual travel size. Great idea Samdman! Pick a second floor room, here was foot traffic overhead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello Morgan B, Thank you for your positive feedback. I appreciate you taking time to share your experience. We would love if you were able to return once the renovation is complete! We are excited for the addition of the Pool House & Bar which we think will elevate the total guest stay. Best, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sandman Santa Rosa is ideally located just off 101, which makes navigating around in that area very easy. The room we had was a king bedroom on the upper level. The room recently had been renovated and is decorated in a nice modernist retro style (think IKEA meets the Jetsons) and was absolutely clean and flawless. In the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thereuyaltravels
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello thereuyaltravels, I appreciate you taking time to provide feedback from your recent stay. We have tried our best to minimize any disruption to our guests during the renovation. I hope you return when the weather warms up and experience our Pool House & Bar which is scheduled to open just in time for Summer! Cheers, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

San Francisco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is being transformed and it looks great! The service is excellent! The guest rooms are finished and quite comfortable. Charlie checked us in with a smile and provided tooth brushes and toothpaste upon request, thank you! The new room decor features a very comfortable bed and a boutique hotel look. An unexpected, and sophisticated suprise for Santa Rosa....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoBlue
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello SanFranciscoBlue, Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms and noticed our environmentally-friendly Malin+Goetz dispensers. I am going to share your feedback with Charlie and the rest of the team. I hope you are able to return in the near future to experience the re-invented Sandman. Best, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently visited the Sandman where I normally have stayed for past 10 years, however, they have new ownership and the place has changed. They now have patio furniture in the rooms and the front desk staff are not very professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conrad C
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello Conrad C, I am sorry to hear the changes we have made did not meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Sincerely, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was rated a four star Hotel with beautiful pictures. We walked into a tiny lobby with a folding table at check in. We immediately asked to see a room. We asked why it was not as advertised and they said " Coming Soon" we immediately cancelled our reservation and went to a better Hotel. Sandman is in a bad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy R
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello Cindy R, I am sorry your experience was not as anticipated. I hope you return once our renovations are complete so you can have the stay you originally intended. Sincerely, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

Fair Oaks
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Though the hotel is under a renovation, and was not mentioned in any of the site(s), we were surprised to find our room recently updated with new carpet, furnishings, etc. the registration is temporarily set up in the breakfast room but they were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was just ok nothing special, cereal, waffles, toast, bagels, pastries and the like....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smbell
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello smbell, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have now moved into the new lobby and are no longer in a temporary space. I hope you are able to return to see the finished product! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Best, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at the airport at 8am after a long trip. Called to ask about early check in. Was told they were full the previous night and call back at 10. Call back at noon, call back at 2, call back at 3. They were full. They were busy. No way to find a way to clean a room. Maybe I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael G
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this review

Hello Michael G, Thank you for providing your feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate your early check in. We try our best to fulfill our guests requests whenever possible and I apologize this was not your experience. I hope you chose to visit us in the future. Best, Lauren Bodsworth General Manager

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.5 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
561 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
635 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.4 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,245 reviews
2.3 km away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman

Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Price Range: €104 - €286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be away from the interstate.”
944phyllisk, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Staff was not helpful”
conradc461, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You get a room when one is ready. No help for early arrivals”
MichaelG257, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't get fooled by the pictures online.”
XJN_2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to check the hotel website itself when booking - they might have a better price than online hotel aggregators!”
KyleTheVoyager, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5