We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (27)
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good47%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pub crawl”(22 reviews)
“bed dorm”(16 reviews)
“hi hostel”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub crawlbed dormhi hostelcommon areasfemale dormlarge lockershighly recommend this hostelgreat locationgreat facilitiesoutdoor courtyardfree breakfastyour luggagevenice beachdowntown lastreet promenadetwo blocksair conditioning
Updating list...
191 - 195 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2014

I´ll start for the bad things: we´ve done a reservation for a 5 straight days and for our surprise at checkin they told us will have to stay for 1 night in one room and move the other day for another. No problem at all,...More

Thank Paulo L
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Excellent location; friendly staff; clean rooms. The bathrooms could have been better. There was no air-con in my room which was a disappointment. The common areas are very good ..nice cozy TV area & the breakfast served was high quality with a lot of options....More

Thank Vineet G
Response from mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa MonicaResponded 6 February 2015

We're happy to hear that you had a good time in our little city by the sea, Vineet! Sorry to hear that our restrooms did not look up to par during your stay, I can personally assure you that this is not the norm at...More

Reviewed 2 December 2014

I really liked this hostel, it was quirky yet truly West Coast styles. I stayed in an 8 share female dorm, the ladies in the room were really nice and it made for a comfortable nights stay. Thank you also to the staff for their...More

2  Thank FlankerLady7
Response from mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa MonicaResponded 6 February 2015

Thank you for the review Australia! we hope that you had a nice flight out of LAX after you left. The plugs sockets in the room endure a lot of wear and tear and they can definitely become loose after a while, I can assure...More

Reviewed 27 November 2014

This hostel is perfect to travel in LA with a small budget. You can reach it by bus from the airport easily for 1$. Santa Monica beach is at 5 minutes walk and Venice beach at 20 minutes walk. Santa Monica is more fancy but...More

Thank Frankou
Reviewed 23 November 2014

It's a little expensive to be honest, but then again, the location is fantastic. 2 minutes from the beach and the pier. Good links to public transport into town too. The hostel itself is nice. I stayed on the top floor in a female dorm....More

Thank Microcebus
View more reviews
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Price range
US$52 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Price range
US$52 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (27)
Pool & Beach (4)
Amenities (27)
Family and Play Areas (9)
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a
balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a
thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers,
roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the
famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles
weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa
Monica pier spins high above the water, while park
revelers scream with delight riding the roller
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Josh L
26 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CoolLoon | Reviewed this property |
Suggest you call them. I arrived in the morning and they let me store my luggage in a locked store room but I couldn't go to the room. I went shopping and returned a little earlier than the posted check-in time and they let... More
Jack H
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Catherine M | Reviewed this property |
There is a multi level carpark across the road from the hostel which is $17 for 24 hours
Moataz M
23 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ahmed N | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I called them before going to check if there were any rooms available and then went and paid fully in cash
Room Tips
"If you really want a good room brake the piggy bank before"
Read review
"Away from the activity areas"
Read review
"I'd expect top floor rooms to have better view"
Read review
"ask for the four bed dorms. You'll find them to be much more hygienic. The rest smell of sweaty balls and..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing