We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Palihouse Santa Monica

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Palihouse Santa Monica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palihouse Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I liked this place. It was old, but updated with very cool decor. In a quiet neighborhood, only a few blocks from the beach and from 3rd street promenade. I had a one bedroom suite and it was HUGE. Overall - good location and great design. Would be a 5 star review if they had a bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lwittig2016
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Iwittig2016, Thank you for your 4 star review and your wonderful comments! It is true that we do not have a bar, but our guests are certainly able to BYO (bring their own) wine, beer & spirits and enjoy them in the lobby or in your suite. We are very happy you enjoyed staying at this historic building and...

Ventabren, France
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a room advising we would have been 4 people. At our arrival the Reception said they would put 2 extra beds for our children later . When we came back in the evening no extra bed was made and none was available. The reception said The children could only sleep on the floor with a thin matress. For...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denise t
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear denise t, We apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. We try our best to accommodate for rollaway beds, but unfortunately we do not guarantee them simply because we cannot predict the popularity of the request. We did offer to give you a secondary room with twin beds at a lower rate, but the offer was not...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights as a birthday treat - and loved the hotel! There is so much character with fantastic decor & original features! We were upgraded to a corner studio, a lovely room with kitchenette, walk-in wardrobe & balcony! The elevator has been mentioned in previous reviews, but that is part of the charm - remember this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1uv2travel
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear 1uv2travel, Thank you for all of your kind words! We are very happy in hosting you for your birthday and we look forward to your next visit in the near future! Cheers, Dan Arana | Assistant Housemaster

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. We had travelled from Chicago to Santa Monica and stayed in many hotels along the way. This was by far and away the most relaxing hotel we stayed in. Beautiful courtyards which offer a peaceful retreat from the bustle of the city. We had a studio with a fully equipped kitchen and lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jburnell2016
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear jburnell2016, Thank you for your five start review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Los Angeles. Warm regards, Dan Arana | Assistant Housemaster

Reviewed 18 June 2016

VERY disappointed in this property, this was NOT a 4 star, as it was listed. This is a lodge-type of hotel in a nice residential neighborhood, in fact, it could have been a converted home. The "elevator" was unacceptable, very outdated, my bathroom walls and hardware shook (I thought I was next to the elevator but in fact I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Cathy R, We are sorry to hear the hotel was not up to your standards, but do understand that Palihouse Santa Monica is not for everyone. The building is a historically listed building that was built in 1927 and with all of that charm and history, comes some idiosyncrasies like the fact we don’t have AC. However unlike most...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Palihouse Santa Monica is an absolutely beautiful hotel set back from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront. The hotel is a very short walk (around 3 blocks) from the sea, the walk is very safe and well lit and should definitely not put anyone off staying in this location. The hotel has kept plenty of its original features and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Dave F, Thank you for all of your praise! We sincerely appreciate your feedback, to note we’ve recently implemented a complimentary breakfast every weekend for all of our guests adn we have coffee machines in all our Residence room types. If you’re in Santa Monica, we hope you consider visiting us again! Cheers, Dan Arana | Assistant Housemaster

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 June 2016

It's masculine lobby reminded me of the gentlemen's clubs in London with a small but perfect patio for breakfast and lunch. This is the Old Embassy Suites Hotel and the new owners have retained much of its furniture, kitchens and bathrooms, as well as some of the old world hotel smells ;-). I received an upgrade to a corner apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Li_Isings
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Li_Isings, We’re happy you appreciate what we’ve done with this historic building. We think its important to point out that the 'old world' smells can at times actually be from the Ocean mist \ spray and unlike most hotels, we do have large operable windows and balcony doors. We do apologize your meal took a little longer than expected,...

Malibu, California
Reviewed 9 June 2016

If you are planning a trip out to Santa Monica, I highly recommend the Palihouse Santa Monica. Friendly staff. Beautiful hotel and spacious rooms. Fantastic location. Restaurant has a great menu and food is delicious. My new favorite hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaron j
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear aaron j, Thank you greatly for your seal of approval! We take pride in being our guests preferred hotel and we’re glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have you visit us again soon! Cheers, Dan Arana | Assistant Housemaster

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The Palihouse is located in a residential quarter of Santa Monica - very quiet, yet very central. The building and grounds are spectacular - service and amenities less so. No free water in the rooms, recommendations on "what to do in Santa Monica/LA" are only semi-helpful, elevator & carpets could do with a makeover. Overall, too expensive for my taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Maria B, We apologize that our service was not on par to your standards or tastes. We’re aware that we’re not the right fit for everyone. Thank you for choosing to stay with us nonetheless. Cheers, Dan Arana | Assistant Housemaster

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Service here was immense and a thank you for the upgrade. Hotel rooms are old school, and maybe need a slight upgrade these days but it's a great location for Santa Monica, and the rooms are comfortable and pleasant. Affordable but smart in an area where some hotels are pointlessly expensive. The guys at the valet are top class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussH79
PalihouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear RussHT9, Thank you for taking the time to complement our hotel and valet staff. We are sorry to hear you think our interiors may seem out of date but we can assure you it is by design and certainly not for everyone. Nonetheless we appreciate your feedback and we hope you return to visit us soon! Cheers, Dan Arana...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,553 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,451 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
741 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
488 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is offered at our lobby lounge for guests on Saturdays and Sunday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-3703
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: €267 - €462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palihouse Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Palihouse Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from the courtyard - the noise at night is really bad.”
 of 5 bubbles BenM_11, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced north so it was cool and not on a street.”
 of 5 bubbles kierap112, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay up for Studio or One Bedrooms, they all have full kitchens.”
 of 5 bubbles rko2013, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only saw our room but penthouse 2 was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 806davef, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We loved our one room suite. We were originally in the two room suite which didn't work for us but it was no problem to move us.”
 of 5 bubbles kristym37, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay