We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

979 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 824: English reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Good part - We had a good time and enjoyed the sunset from the roof terrace. Hotel is old but well maintained- bed was quite comfortable, room of adequate size. Bath tub was large and extra deep. BAD bit on arrival we were asked for a card to cover any items we might purchase for the bar restaurant or mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

There is no word to express the level of satisfaction and feeling of achievement when reading your kind words. Your feedback is a perfect example of what we strive to provide each day, a memorable experience in a unique environment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon. Sincerely

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 22 November 2016

It is a perfect location. Staff is very friendly. It could use an upgrade on amenities such as toilet paper and soaps in the room. Roof top bar is a blast with great drinks and the best view in Santa Monica.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChloeAnn
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we reviewed carefully each point you mentioned and are looking into ways to improve anything we possibly could. We were thrilled to read that our team made the difference by providing the best level of service and we will not miss the opportunity to share this encouragement with the entire staff. We hope your...

newcastle
Reviewed 22 November 2016

A very inconsistent stay and easily the poorest SLH hotel I have stayed in. My club No was not on the booking so my the room was not prepared accordingly. The TV didn't work correctly and I was told it was 'junk' by one of the staff. There was confusion over which breakfast menu I was supposed to be given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank payot
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review on Tripadvisor. We realize that we felt short of your expectation and can ensure you that we are taking it seriously taking any necessary action to improve ourselves and welcome you for the amazing experience you can expect when staying with us. We sincerely hope you will accept our apology and give us a...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This little hotel was a pleasant surprise. We weren't able to get into our regular Santa Monica hotel (Miramar) so we tried the Shangri-La just down the street. Granted, I had reservations about staying in a property I knew little about. Wow, I enjoyed the Shangri-la. The Art Deco hotel is quite beautiful: our room was small but quite charming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nyfriend
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we reviewed carefully each point you mentioned and are looking into ways to improve anything we possibly could. We were thrilled to read that our team made the difference by providing the best level of service and we will not miss the opportunity to share this encouragement with the entire staff. We hope your...

sheffield
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Great location! Just keep a look out for the valet parking from the main road it was easy to drive straight pass. Room was fairly big and had a vey unique bathroom which was very nice. We didn't use the pool facilities but they looked good. Reception staff were fantastic and the roof top bar is worth a visit. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldmiller
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

There is no word to express the level of satisfaction and feeling of achievement when reading your kind words. Your feedback is a perfect example of what we strive to provide each day, a memorable experience in a unique environment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon. Sincerely

Queens, NY
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This hotel is a huge scam. We had a room with a broken shower and were assured by the front desk that we would be taken care of by Stephan Martin, the manager. It's been 2 1/2 weeks since my stay, I have called over 10 times and every time Stephan has either just stepped away, from his desk, just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cara F
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Cara, We are sorry to read your frustration here, this is really important for us to have the opportunity to bring correction to your review in order to avoid misleading other users of tripadvisor. We remember perfectly well, on your way to the pool you reported the shower was draining slowly and we sent our engineer to fix the...

Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We were a group of friends gathering from all over the world for a sad but special occasion (yes a memorial). I wanted to find a place for us to come together the night before in peace and serenity yet in a fun and happy surrounding. Shangri-la Rooftop came highly recommended. Thanks to F & B Mgr. Sven and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BambinaRosa
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are thrilled to read you had such a good time especially knowing that our team members really made a difference for you. We will make sure Justin and Sven are recognized for their continuous effort and will be looking forward to welcome you again soon. Sincerely.

Reviewed 11 November 2016

Firstly some of the staff are very nice in particular Adrienne the concierge and the porters were all very friendly and helpful - Good part over! The rooms are ok, but the housekeeping was abysmal, stained sofa, had to change room and still not clean. The worst part unfortunately come from the top of the command chain, we unfortunately had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review on Tripadvisor. We realize that we felt short of your expectation and can ensure you that we are taking it seriously taking any necessary action to improve ourselves and welcome you for the amazing experience you can expect when staying with us. We sincerely hope you will accept our apology and give us a...

Christchurch
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Although the location of this hotel is very good there were many issues that could not be over looked, House keeping did not supply towels for 3 people on several occasions, we were not given toilet paper and the clincher was more than 24 hours with no hot water for showering. This was reported to reception at approx 10am and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horrifiedkiwi
Chicago, IL
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Don't waste your money here. Front desk staff were dismissive and not helpful, my room had a lot wrong with it (no soap in the bathroom, the door lock had been ripped off, the TV remote didn't work) and when I asked the manager for some compensation (given that the engineer had to come to my room 3 times) he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avivachava
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review on Tripadvisor. We realize that we felt short of your expectation and can ensure you that we are taking it seriously taking any necessary action to improve ourselves and welcome you for the amazing experience you can expect when staying with us. We sincerely hope you will accept our apology and give us a...

846 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (398)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (409)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe King Ocean View (33)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Pool (69)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Luxury Suite (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,470 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
784 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: €331 - €528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My colleague had to pay a little more for a suite #306, but WELL WORTH IT!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles DreamtripperTexas, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not miss the sunset from the roof terrace, which was breath taking.”
 of 5 bubbles jill_yelling, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Terrace suites are to die for.”
 of 5 bubbles VMBinExile, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room has a great view! Its Santa Monica!”
 of 5 bubbles DaceySinclair129, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay for a room with a view, it's not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 263miraym, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay