We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
 Click to rate
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our interactions with the managers at Ocean Echo were as surprising as they were awful. They actually told us "you have a lot of needs" when we asked to change rooms. They also made retrieving a left behind item to be a chore. I wonder if hospitality is really a good professional choice since they had some trouble acting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surfista44
Kim and Aaron P, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We did our best to accommodate all your requests. We are sorry you were disappointed. We were not able to switch your room halfway through your stay because the two-person room you wanted was not large enough for your three-person party. We were unable to send your phone charger back right away because you did not provide a means to...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of our new favorite places! This place had many options including the beach in walking distance. Awesome Food, Starbucks, and of course the beach. Travels for Buisness while my family played. Rooms are remodeled with wonderful bathrooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbequipment
Kim and Aaron P, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Ocean Echo Inn and Beach Cottages! It was a pleasure to meet you and your family! Please come back and see us again soon! All the best! Kim and Aaron Pack Managers

San Rafael, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place for a family trip- with separate cottages and a main deck for everyone to gather. Beach next door with some beach views. Very nice helpful managers Good location that is 10 minutes to Santa Cruz boardwalk and 10 minutes to Capitola

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Siobhan S
Kim and Aaron P, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ocean Echo for your birthday getaway and family gathering! We look forward to having you come stay with us again soon! Kindest regards, Kim and Aaron Pack Managers

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Big storm when we arrived and the managers helped us get our car parked in a safe location and ran down to turn on heat while we moved car. The room was comfortable and the bed great. Location near the beach was very convenient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
Kim and Aaron P, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Santa Cruz area. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! All the best! Kim and Aaron Pack Managers

San Rafael, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our trip to the Santa Cruz area was enjoyable. The Inn is between central Santa Cruz and Capitola, a block or so from small Sunny Cove beach. Proximity to the beach was a highlight for sunsets and campfires. I noted one restaurant and a Starbucks nearby; other services weren't within walking distance. Grocery stores in the area are limited. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
Kim and Aaron P, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy you chose to stay at the Ocean Echo Inn and Beach Cottages. Thank you for the excellent review and tips for future guests. We appreciate the time you took to give feedback. On your next visit, we will gladly give you directions to access several other restaurants and other hidden gems within walking distance from the inn....

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Would not recommend this place. Reservations were not made in advanced and at the time of arrival, we planned to stay for two nights. Due to an emergency, we stayed only one night and left the following morning 1 hour after check-out time. The staff told us that we would be credited back the deposit for our dog, at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George G
Kim and Aaron P, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ocean Echo Inn. Aaron and I have recently taken over the management of this historic property. We are reaching out to you to extend an apology over the misunderstanding regarding your early checkout. The owner was not initially informed that you were a walk-in reservation which is quite different from an advance...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Really liked the coziness of this property- great view from room #12.. other rooms have no ocean view. Room was roomy and cozy- need a new microwave though, the one there sounded like it was on its last leg ! Would definitely return !!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redrocr13
Morgan Hill
Reviewed 5 February 2017

I stayed at this property the year before and enjoyed it. We wanted it to be a yearly tradition, but after our last stay, I will be looking for a new property. The room had no heat, mattress was uncomfortable, room had a strong bleach smell, and the bagels were so old and dry you could not eat them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
Adam W, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, if you remember we did address the heat issue while you were here by giving you extra heaters and we did offer you a different room to try and we are sorry you didn't enjoy the breakfast we hope you will give us another chance some day soon.

Shingletown Ca.
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Ocean Echo Inn and Cottages has a great location however we can only rate them average. We arrived early and the room was read. We were in #12 which has a great view. Be aware you will need to go up a flight of stairs to this room so if you have difficulty with stairs this might not work for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kijii
Adam W, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, we want to constantly improve the guests experience with us and we will take all your comments in to consideration.

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

This experience was 'interesting'. The breakfast was exactly the same every morning. Toasted Bagels (plain, chilli or onion) wrapped in cling film, with cream cheese in small containers (no butter), various flavours of yogurt, packet orange juice, apples and bananas and homemade banana bread. The room was basic but the View was gorgeous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary E
Adam W, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, we will take your comments into consideration and strive to improve the guest experience.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.2 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
406 reviews
3.2 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,242 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
584 reviews
0.3 km away
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
4.0 km away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: €163 - €307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Evanston, Wyoming

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay at the Ocean Echo.”
 of 5 bubbles Surfista44, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room #12 is the best view ! Most expensive, but worth it !”
 of 5 bubbles Redrocr13, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Traveling alone? Get room 7, couple, room 9, and for 2 or more, ask for 5. All are fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles marti829, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only a handful of rooms can see the ocean but this place is full of character. There is a community deck for guests to relax on.”
 of 5 bubbles H7033LKjeans, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are being refurbished. Ours had not been, but was still cozy and comfortable. If you need more modern, be sure to ask in advance about your room!”
 of 5 bubbles P6451KUjonp, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5