We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Solares

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Solares
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 639: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Solares
 Click to rate
Uppsala
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found it on hotels tonight for a bargain. And we didn't know what to expect. But as soon as we walked in, we felt that it was clean. The service was also great, a little thing were that they didn't showed where our room where so we figured it out ourselves. First, the refrigerator where gone, and soon after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gourmenten
DaysInnSC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

We're glad that the hotel was to your liking! We try our best to be a top quality hotel at competitive prices. Our staff is quite adept at fulfilling guest requests as fast as possible. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Meise, Belgium
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We were just passing through Santa Cruz and had booked one night here. The weather was miserable so we coudn't benefit from the lovely pool and outside area but the room was very nice, and comfortable at a very good rate. Situated in a nice neighbourhood of Santa Cruz we would certainly stay again if in town The young man...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AILSA L
DaysInnSC, Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review! We are glad to be able to delight your stay with such awful weather. Please come back and visit us again.

Santa Cruz
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Made reservation through Priceline and check-in was easy. Realized I had stayed here before when it was a Days Inn. It's not a fancy hotel but they've updated their rooms to be more stylish and there's plenty of room. It's also nice that they have a free parking lot. The location is a 10 minute walk to the beach. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JustinaErp
DaysInnSC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We're glad we were able to correct any complaints you had quickly and reliably. The construction across the street has ended, so it shouldnt be a problem in the future. We hope that you can come stay in the summer, as it is the best time to enjoy...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I would completely advise against this place. Terrible neighborhood! I understand non smoking rooms, but was warned at check in that I had to go off property to smoke. Mind you, there were cigarette butt's everywhere and if they caught you, there was a $350 fine. I went to smoke on sidewalk off premises and there was some sort of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
DaysInnSC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your full stay. There are very rarely any incidents at our hotel, and is generaly safe. Our whole property is smoke free, as staded on our website. We hope that we can give you a more satisfactory stay in ine future.

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

My husband I wanted to get out of town for the night and enjoy the Santa Cruz nightlife. This hotel was perfectly priced as we our budget conscious. The room was large, clean and up dated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a 5 minute walk to downtown over a cute pedestrian friendly bridge. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael n
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 16 November 2016

They double booked my room via their website glitched, then they lied and refused to refund the double room. Then I cancelled my reservation and had to still wait 2 weeks for a full refund. Then 2 weeks after cancelling my reservation they charged my card again. Stay Away... ignorant employees and dishonest management.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rcweaver2
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

We do apologize for the inconvenience, I do recommend booking directly with us over the phone to try and avoid computer glitches that we have no control over. sincerely Front Desk

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Hotel was not bad. Room was clean. It is kind of rundown but for the price it was worth it. Slim selection at the breakfast. There was a drug bust in the parking lot one afternoon. Don't think the bad guys were staying at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4,945
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we do work closely with law enforcement to make sure our hotel is safe for our guest. We are constantly improving our service and quality of amenities. Please let us know what we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your business.

South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel solares is what you get for the price. It's nothing spectacular but it was clean and decently close to the boardwalk/beach. We stayed in October so I'm not sure what pricing is like during busier months. The breakfast is usual continental style with some fruit, yogurt and waffle maker. It works to grab a snack on your way out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tashawna g
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we will definitely take them seriously as we are always improving our service and our hotel. Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable. Thank you

Sparks, Nevada, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Slightly remodeled former Days Inn. Offered a minimalist breakfast but no juice (machine broken) and no napkins... Room was clean but found numerous repairs needed. Piece of old trim wood to secure sliding glass door. Black mold behind shower handle. Crack in bathroom mirror. Within walking distance of Boardwalk and Pier.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wallyf01
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize. we will take all this in consideration to make the proper changes to accommodate you in the future. We are under new management now, and also renovating a lot of rooms to make sure we meet customer satisfaction.

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Terrible place to stay. The towels were dirty, the floor was unclean, and the staff was unpleasant. We just needed a place to sleep for the evening and we didn't sleep. The walls were paper thin and VERY LOUD music was bumping ALL night. We called to complain and the front desk never answered the phone. Several others complained and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoz13
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

we deeply apologize for your experience. we will strive to correct the issues that you mentioned above. if you decide to stay with us again please contact me directly to accommodate your next stay . Joseph Ramos-8314589660

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
457 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
151 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: €102 - €354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Solares staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would pick a 2nd or 3rd floor room with a balcony facing the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Seror_Carlos, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend a street facing corner room because of noise concerns if you want to open a door or window.”
 of 5 bubbles MoniClaire, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on the top floor only”
 of 5 bubbles Paul78789, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor allows pets. If you want quiet, try the upstairs. Sans dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles SeaweedSara, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“if you have a pet, 1st floor room is great for easy access out.”
 of 5 bubbles olgag49, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5