We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Seaway Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Seaway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of Seaway Inn
 Click to rate
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My four teenage grandkids and I stayed at Seaway Inn for two nights during a week long Spring break vacation. We all agreed this hotel was the best of the 7 we stayed in during our trip. The suites were well laid out. The beds and large shower were luxurious! Breakfast was excellent. The staff was always very helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cadams2015
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2017

This hotel suited my needs for a one night stay. The location was in close walking distance to the wharf/beach and also downtown. The room was clean (although there was a bit of a funky odor) and provided all the basics. I could hear the people upstairs but not enough to be a disturbance. Overall I'd say it was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VCR-Jeff
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is great for a one or two night stop if traveling with a pet. The rooms are no frills, tight and dated but the location is good. There is a free continental breakfast served in the lobby. The hotel is close to the Boardwalk and West Cliff Drive walk which offers beautiful scenery and access to a dog...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SportsMom_11
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us and we hope that you keep us in mind, should you be back in Santa Cruz!

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Friendly and professional greeting set the tone for a one-night stay here. Room is very pleasant and the bed comfortable. Bathroom is modern and the walk in shower with a choice of shower heads very nice. Breakfast was adequate in choice and being buffet is of course ample. Free parking and WiFi. Loads of dining choice on the nearby (walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aitch222
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you again!

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

This Motel has a very good location. Room newly renovated. The only bad thing was a strange smell in the room. Very good bed! Nice view from the veranda. Breakfast is included and very good in a cozy lounge. Good price!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R_Sweden
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. If you would like to reach out to me directly, I would love to have more feedback from you, so we can track down the source of the smell that you mentioned that you had in your room.

Reviewed 31 January 2017

I stayed here for several days on a business trip. It looks cute from the outside, but the 2 bed room was tiny. There was a funky odor of feet coming from the carpet, so I didn't dare walk on it without shoes on. If the room got too hot, and you turned down the heater, the AC would come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia M
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments in regards to your stay. We are saddened to see that you felt so many things were unacceptable with your room. I saw you ladies on a daily basis and nothing was ever mentioned describing your comments above and just wish that we would have been given the opportunity to make your stay more...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

this hotel is really clean and the staff are very helpfull and nice. Wished i could have stayed longer. The bed was so comfortable. We had an amazing view from the shared balcony out the front of our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were comfortable and look forward to seeing you again!

Blaine, WA
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed for two nights on a budget family road trip. Tried two rooms (one adjoining king-queen and then a regular room after our party shrunk in size). Generally old, outdated, and not well-maintained-- one of those places that always feels a bit dirty even when it's not. Stayed in dog-friendly rooms and paid a dog fee but the place smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are constantly updating, upgrading and maintaining our rooms, so I am surprised to see that you felt we are not very well kept. In regards to our pet policy, our pet fees are not nearly as high as our surrounding competitors that accept pets. We do...

Pymouth
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed here just before xmas.... Easy to find and within such a short walk to the pier, and just a little further to the main centre.... Room was clean and as to be expected, and the DIY breakfast is more than adequate to see you through most of the day.... Great staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again, should you be back in Santa Cruz!

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here when driving to highway one from LA To San Francisco. Arrived late and weather wasn't great but room was nice and big and he bed was comfortable. Walked into town for dinner in the evening - took about 20minutes to get to the main hub. Breakfast was pleasant - bagels fruit etc. I feel it was slightly over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katythom1986
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you felt we were located within a reasonable distance to the downtown area, but not happy to hear that we are overpriced. Considering our location, being so close to the beach, wharf Boardwalk and downtown areas, we do have to remain competitive with our surrounding hospitality neighbors. Typically,...

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,267 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
419 reviews
0.5 km away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.7 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: €125 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seaway Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Seaway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe all the rooms had good views.”
cadams2015, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure if the first floor is accessible by lift, so if you are not too mobile get a ground floor room”
JasonE781, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have a better view of the sea.”
  • The three sisters view when you look up from the balcony
  • View from ground floor
Destinyspeaks, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“stay in a second floor room so you don't hear the people above you walking around”
hemiadvisor, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a seaview with balcony.”
Offthetouristtrack, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5