We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Needed a good place to stay for a conference in San Jose. Google Maps showed this to be reasonably close (for driving) and that it had a good configuration (interior access after driving in) and plenty of parking (some others seemed iffy on the number of parking slots). The price was much lower than staying within walking distance of the conference so we traded car rental cost for the difference - saving a good amount in the process over 4 days. It turned out to be an excellent decision. The building is off El Camino Real, which makes it very convenient and the area around it seemed fine. There was a Dennys within walking distance, but we didn't use it because the motel had a very good hot breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles (make your own), fruit, etc. Seating was not huge, but plenty adequate. My room was a simple 2-bed (queens I think) which was nicely presented, with 4 pillows per bed. The bath is small but fine.Sound insulation seemed OK, except a couple times around 9pm when a family was loud outside. But they quieted down and I had no issues for the 4 nights I was there (little sound from adjacent rooms - though I don't know who was in there).The bed was on the harder side, but was plenty comfy thanks to the linens and blanket structure and the excellent pillows.Finally, the A/C was definitely good. I could easily keep the room comfortable and was able to put the fan in constant-on mode to keep some background white noise - which I do at home too.My colleague's room was similarly good he said, and we agreed we would stay here next time we visit the area.
It's not a bad hotel and is quiet and convenient to a number of places to eat without having to drive. Plenty of parking and the wifi was decent. The breakfast was on the basic side and no variation, but okay.
This was convenient for the airport. Pretty basic room, but cannot complain. Clean, tidy, good size. Bathroom was ok. Breakfast was complimentary and ok. Staff very helpful. Could I cope with staying here again before a flight - yes. Would I stay here otherwise - no. It's fine, but wasn't cheap and I don't want 'ok'.
Unlike most hotels, they require cancellation 26 hours ahead of check-in time, and charge 100% of the charge for cancelling, unlike the usual 50% or less. They don't post the policy or list it on the itinerary, you must hunt for it. This allows them to double charge the room...pure greed.
Response from Gavin M, General Manager at Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Responded 24 Sep 2018
LightPacker, It sounds like you had difficulty with a reservation you needed to cancel. We never want to cause our travelers problems; our usual cancelation policy is an industry-standard 24 hours (not 26), and we do charge an industry-standard one night's stay for no shows or same-day cancellations. There are exceptions, however, and they usually involve third party sites or some of the pre-paid non-cancelable rate plans (a trade off of advanced payment for cheaper rates). It is true those are fully non-refundable; but they are spelled out at time of purchase. We certainly hope you understand, we apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding, and trust we will have another opportunity to serve you during your travels. Best regards,
It's a great hotel. It was super quiet. The room was clean, spacious, updated & comfortable. The hotel was close to really close to a bunch of restaurants and the free breakfast was great. We will definitely stay there again.