We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marina Beach Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marina Beach Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Marina Beach Motel
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, quiet, friendly staff, steps to the beach. Ask for a room with a kitchen. It is worth the extra charge and gives you more space. Fantastic location just off Cabrillo and only a couple of blocks to State Street. Only negative - no pool for a quick dip at the end of the day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This motel has many positive aspects. It is close to the beach, clean, the staff is efficient and helpful. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Besides a choice of pastries, and coffee, there was orange juice, Jogurt, cereals and hard boiled eggs. We liked being able to borrow bikes to explore Santa Barbara. The only negative was a smoke alarm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiddleman_12
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We definitely can understand the frustration you had in regards to the smoke alarm and we're extremely sorry this happened. We appreciate the feedback and will try to improve in that aspect, but we're also really happy to you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. We do hope to see you back again!

Crumlin, NI
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great little motel on the harbour front just a short walk from the pier and the centre. Was a very clean room with a class shower! Breakfast was ok, but then what do you expect for a motel? Would thoroughly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NornIronPomme
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

So happy to hear our motel was an excellent find for you! We completely agree and are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the location and clean amenities. We appreciate you passing along the kind words and hope to see you soon!

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We were there with a party of 4. This is our second time staying at this property in the last four years . Overall had a very good experience. We all enjoyed the breakfast every morning . the location was excellent and was within walking distance of many fine restaurants , the beach and Cabrillo Blvd, and State Street. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vince2008
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you chose to come back and stay with us again! We really appreciate hearing when returning guests enjoyed their previous visit enough to come again. We try to update our motel as much as possible and continue to do so every year. We hope to see you back again soon!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We loved staying at the Marina Beach Motel! It was clean, the staff was friendly and it was in the perfect location. Each morning, we'd enjoy the complimentary breakfast and easily walk to the beach or explore the downtown of Santa Barbara. We'd definitely stay here again! Great value, great location and great room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

Breakfast and a walk on the beach is a perfect way to start the day! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back again!

japan
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We spent one night. very clean room and spacious bathroom. We enjoyed the free use of the motel's bikes to visit Santa Barbara. The main street is really nice with lots of shopping. We had a nice breakfast before we drove back to San Francisco...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MATI91
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

So happy to hear you took advantage of the bikes! Always a great idea to ride around Santa Barbara and soak up the sun. We hope you had a smooth drive back to San Francisco and maybe next time you can stay for longer than one night!

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Recently updated very nicely. Shower was very large with 2 heads. Bed was comfortable and linens were soft. Towels were nice and fluffy. Free continental breakfast was great. Cereal, oatmeal, toast , pastries and yogurt. Coffee and tea in your room. My only small complaint was that there was no sound proofing. I would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us Susan! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the free breakfast and amenities. We'll take into account your complaint about the lack of sound proofing moving forward. We really hope to see you again soon!

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Returned here after four year absence but was very dissappointed and moved after one night. We had a DELUXE KING ROOM with kitchen. But the kitchen is only there for the photos as there is no table or chairs and no dishes! You have to get them from the office! The room was so small and entirely unsuitable for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetsailor
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you deciding to come and stay with us after a 4-year break. However, we're truly sorry to hear about your most recent experience. We never want our loyal guests to have a bad time on their second go-around. The reason that we choose to keep the utensils at the front is to ensure that they are returned afterward....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. This motel is extremely well-situated, mere steps from the beach and a few blocks from bustling State St. This place is very clean, well cared-for, and appears to be continually updated and maintained. The loaner beach-comber bikes were super. Breakfast was included and was perfect to get our day started...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Eric! We're so happy you could enjoy our motel and appreciated the level of care we put into our property. We would love to see you again!

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We've been to Santa Barbara about 5 times now with our dog and this is the first time we stayed at the Marina Beach Motel. We love the smaller motel feel and the accommodations were very comfortable. The room was updated and the bathroom was especially nice. The only minor thing that could have been better was to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U8460SHbarbarab
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We're happy that you decided to stay with us this time! We hope both you and your dog enjoyed being close to the beach and the calming atmosphere. We hope to see you both again!

288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (158)
Viewed
Family Room (44)
Viewed
King Room (33)
Viewed
King Room with Kitchen (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
701 reviews
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
651 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
251 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
897 reviews
0.6 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range: €150 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marina Beach Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Southend-on-Sea,Essex,England
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Marina Beach Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a kitchen to get the extra space.”
178TomK, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“do not pick rooms 12 or 12A in the corner as they seem a bit smaller”
Vince2008, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“off the street is quieter but all rooms were off the parking area”
JKRan, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“kitchenette rooms are great”
michaeljames101, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please note that not all rooms are the same. Some are standard bed and bath while others offer kitchenettes and private patios.”
jesusb765, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5