We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East

Save
Share
1775 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-5589
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!CLICK HERE TO SAVE UP TO 45% BY BOOKING DIRECT!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$176
View deal
TravelocityUS$176
Hotels.comUS$176
Booking.comUS$176
PricelineUS$176
ExtendedStayUS$176
ZenHotels.comUS$181
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 9 hotels in San Rafael
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Free grab-and-go breakfast: Jumpstart your day with a free grab-and-go breakfast that includes a variety of breakfast bars and muffins, hot cereal, coffee, and tea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Heated pool
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Hotel links
Special Offer:CLICK HERE TO SAVE UP TO 45% BY BOOKING DIRECT!
224Reviews4Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 49
  • 39
  • 22
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David S wrote a review Oct 2022
San Rafael, California187 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
This should not even come up as an option. Extended Negative: Dead hanging flower pots in the parking lot No plates, no utensils, no pots, dish soap (have to ask at the front desk) Locked public bathrooms near lobby (why?) Dirty drained pool from 2020 (pandemic is over) No hot breakfast, snacks only (false advertising) Broken lock plate on door from past break in Elevators filthy Positive Clean room Adjustable climate
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. We were just expecting basic lodging but so many things here out of service....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear davidfs66, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our goal is to provide a clean environment, excellent service, and an exceptional experience for our guests, so we apologize this was not your experience. Your concerns have been shared with the management team, and we are following up to determine where we went wrong and how we can enhance our service to our guests. While we know that this stay did not meet all of your expectations, we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the flawless experience you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2pt71828 wrote a review Sep 2022
Bel Air, Maryland60 contributions13 helpful votes
Located in the industrial part of San Rafael, the hotel was about as unpleasant as its location. The AC was incredibly loud, the breakfast offerings were dry & boring, the staff was overwhelmed, and then the WiFi went down—never to return during my stay. Do yourself a favor and find a different hotel if you need to stay in San Rafael.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid staying here, but if you have no choice, bring your own towels because theirs are worn....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your recent experience with our hotel. We are sorry you were not happy with our Breakfast choices. Your feedback will be shared with our Brand Leaders to assist them when determining new breakfast offerings for future implementation. Moreover, we apologize for your difficulties with internet connectivity in your guest room, and we regret we could not repair the issue while you were here. We have followed up with our Engineering team to address and correct any remaining issues. We hope you will return for another stay so we can provide you with the flawless stay you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen D wrote a review Sep 2022
Billings, Montana9 contributions2 helpful votes
Rooms are basic, clean & well maintained. While there was confusion about availability of having a gathering room for our family to enjoy Alexis at the front desk worked creatively to find a solution to our problem. Her interest & concern turned a disappointing situation into an enjoyable one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tawny N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I enjoyed my stay here great place for longer stays, the rooms are equipped with a full kitchen, and you can bring your pets, they offer a free coffee bar with a few snacks and the staff and customer service is great, I’d recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear tawnyn2022, At Extended Stay America, we are delighted to know you enjoyed the facilities and services provided and had a wonderful stay. Our goal is to provide a memorable and pleasant stay experience to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JOSE T wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights after a long trip form Brazil, and we checked in with MR. PETER, a rude and unpolaid guy, very unqualified for the job. And the rooms not clean. DON'T GO. BAD PLACE, BAD GUY.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 9 May 2022
Thank you for the candid feedback about your stay at our hotel. It was disturbing to read about your experience at our hotel. This is not the impression we like our guests to leave with. We assure you a "rude" staff is not acceptable, and we will be working with our team to correct this. We hope you consider this an isolated incident and come back for another stay. We would love the opportunity to provide you with the hospitality you should have experienced this time. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamht1 wrote a review Apr 2022
35 contributions7 helpful votes
Business travel remains difficult during this lengthy pandemic. However it’s time to step it up hotels! I arrived at this place to a cranky front desk person who said that no kitchen items would be ready and to call the front desk 20 minutes later. So I did. And I got one big plate, one small plate, one glass, one skillet, and a few pieces of silverware. No bowl for my breakfast cereal. No hairdryer. The worst was no clothes hangers; sorry on back order for the last six months. No coffee maker. Sorry I have needs also. You shouldn’t advertise what you don’t have. The electronic key system was really bad. Each key only lasted about twice before I had to have it replaced. The common areas were filthy. Then the fire alarm and evacuation for about two hours really topped it off. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your observations through your review. After some research, we did not see any record of complaints made for this room during the time you were here. Though we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced, if you had only told us about them at the time, we would have been able to resolve them immediately, and your stay with us would have been more enjoyable. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curtis M wrote a review Apr 2022
Novato, California1 contribution
This is a fine place to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The kitchenette with a full sized refrigerator has been great. The fact that they accept pets makes them all the more desirable. There is a Target within walking distance and the Bay Trail is only a block away. It is right next to the freeway so the rooms on the front of the hotel are noisier than the ones in the back. I have stayed in rooms on both sides and in none of them was the noise bothersome, but it is quieter in the back. Rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor in the back have a lovely view of the bay. Jamal and his staff have been very helpful and pleasant. I would stay here again and will recommend it to people.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Thank you for the kind review regarding your stay at Extended Stay America. We are thrilled to know our location was perfect for your needs and that you were satisfied with our accommodations and service. We will share your compliments with the team members. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelley L wrote a review Mar 2022
Miami Beach, Florida108 contributions46 helpful votes
The room itself was fine, but we had zero housekeeping in 3 weeks of stay. We had to clean the room upon arrival. Selected it because it permitted our cat to be with us and for its location. Viewed man shooting up in the parking lot, ran into police within the hotel itself on three separate occasions, had an Ebike stolen while locked in view of the main lobby desk, but no witnesses despite being told someone is at the desk 24 x 7 and that we could not put the bike in our room overnight. NEVER stay here, and seriously question any extended stay america location you consider. They seem to be alternative housing for the homeless population and to have no pride of service from corporate.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Highest floor will have least noise issues. Some rooms face the water and have some view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Shelley, we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your thoughts on these matters and also for your patience. Thank you for your time; you have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jarko2015 wrote a review May 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1749 contributions3141 helpful votes
You usually know exactly what you're getting with the basic Extended Stay America chain. Basic comfort at higher than basic comfort prices. Nothing much different about this property in that respect, but some of what you pay for has been removed by the COVID pandemic, yet prices seem the same. You're definitely getting less bang for your over extended buck at this property. The hotel is large and located just outside the main SR downtown area, right on HWY101. It's easily accessible by car and there is ample parking available at no cost, but without a car, you would be a bit stuck for getting to SR or anywhere else. As always with ESA properties, there's annoying, but probably needed security. You have to be buzzed in by the front desk from around 9:00PM each night and if they're not around, you're not getting in until they get back. The staff at these properties are always a bit gruff and a bit 'couldn't care less, take it or leave it' in their approach. This property is no different. You can't charge anything to your room. There is nothing available to charge. Yet they insist on taking a huge deposit (normally on your credit card) for "Incidentals". There are no incidentals. Rooms are very large, but feel a bit empty. There's a kitchen with fridge, stove top, microwave, but all the utensils have been removed, I presume for COVID reasons. You'll have to provide all your own plates, cups, silverware, pots etc if you are planning on using the kitchen until things get back to normal. The fridge was the noisiest I've ever found in any hotel anywhere in the world. I was wondering if someone was revving a motorbike all night. Beds are old and sagging, but the linens were clean. There is a TV, iron, ironing board and very slow, annoying WIFI (they want you to pay extra for something better). The entire room stank of wet dog. There was also a very wet and stained area on the carpet, which had clearly only just been cleaned, failing to remove the stains. I was too tired and it was too late when I checked in to bother with this unpleasant dog like stench. The bathroom sink was blocked and the plug didn't work. There's no bath tub, but the huge walk in shower has good water pressure. The towels were clean, but as always there's enough soap & shampoo for one person, for one wash. Breakfast has been taken away entirely. All the front desk was prepared to do was direct you to the nearest Starbucks. No tea, no coffee, no anything. Even in the rooms. No discount either. There is still coin operated laundry on site. Some people love this chain. It's a perfectly OK option. It's just over priced for what you get. Compare it in price to the far superior offerings of say the Holiday Inn Express brand, which is always cheaper and you'll see how ESA fails. For San Rafael, you won't have very many options, so this is certainly an OK choice for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 30 May 2021
Thank you for being our guest. We are disappointed to read our accommodations did not provide the value for which you were hoping and regret the inconvenience caused. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members to address the problems you outlined. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
bad location, daily encounters with homeless people, cars broken into, burnt cars in parking lot more weeks, front desk takes money from credit account without explanation, ESA main office will not help with problems, they tried to evict me saying I hadn't paid! It just goes on and on. They stressed me out while I was recovering from cancer surgery, and they're supposed to be partners with ACS?!?!?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: drive away from this business!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from iResponze Alerts, Agency / Consultant at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will look for any suspicious activity at our premises. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
extended stay deluxe san rafael hotel san rafael, extended stay san rafael, san rafael extended stay
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Extended Deluxe San
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMarin CountySan Rafael
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EXTENDED STAY AMERICA - SAN RAFAEL - FRANCISCO BLVD EAST - UPDATED 2022 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Which popular attractions are close to Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Nearby attractions include Marin County Farmers' Market--San Rafael (7.3 km), China Camp State Park (6.5 km), and Marin County Civic Center (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buckeye Roadhouse, Sol Food Puerto Rican Cuisine, and Mill Valley Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East?
Many travellers enjoy visiting American Legion Log Cabin (7.5 km), Robson-Harrington House (7.2 km), and First American Flag Raising in San Francisco (5.7 km).
Is Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.