We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Room is as required Clean bathroom Comfortable bed and AC Reception is okay. Kitchennette is good Room is quiet hot water always on beds and towels are clean Room is as required Clean bathroom Comfortable bed and AC Reception is okay. Kitchennette is good Room is quiet hot water always on beds and towels are clean good drinking water fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pappu g
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing to stay at Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown and for taking the time to write a review. It's great to know you had an enjoyable stay and you found us to be a good value. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about your well-equipped accommodation with a kitchenette which was the highlight of your...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Paid for daily housekeeping, . 2 not 1 but two different front desk employees said there is no service. Call district manager no call back. Bad communications with personnel, bad customer service. Plus the beds are uncomfortable. Go with Residence Inn or Hampton or Hilton Garden I travel once a month, wanted to try something different, I guess you live...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bahquin
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that our front office team fell short of providing you with the excellent service that we strive for daily. I have shared your feedback with my team, and we will review how to better serve our guests with hospitality and a sense of urgency. I am so very sorry for the housekeeping issues...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Could use a remodel but gets the job done. The bed was comfy and I had no problem with check in. The air conditioner wouldn't blow really cold air so that was frustrating, but for the price it's much better than many of the other places I have seen in the Bay Area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you were pleased with the comfortable bed in your accommodation, your check-in experience, and that you also liked our affordable prices. However, we regret that you encountered an issue with the air conditioner of your accommodation. We have shared your concerns with...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

The facility is dirty and the room smell of mildew. The room bathtub is rusted and you have to ask for everything including shampoo, conditioner, and kitchenware. Room service is only once a week. We have transfer to another room twice since something always wrong with that room. But each time we move to another room, it seems to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AP-World-Traveler
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the service and housekeeping issues you experienced. I am sorry our front office team fell short of providing you with the excellent service we strive for daily. Your feedback is a reminder we need to be more consistent with communication with our guests during check in. Our staff should have informed...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 July 2016

My first impression of the stay was seeing a woman at the front desk yelling at a guest. The guest was a jerk, but that experience set the tone. The room wasn't very clean and the a/c didn't work well. The neighborhood isn't the best, and there were some people in the area that would make you uncomfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gdtrfb95
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this review and the details surrounding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of hospitality shown by our front desk staff to another guest. Your experience is not the type of service we train our associates to provide. We have shared your feedback with the entire team as we take your comments...

Noida, India
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I stayed there for a business trip. It was around 9 days stay from 21st Jan-29th Jan 2016. Needless to say, it has all the basic amenities like cooking area, utensils are provided by them, rooms are decent. But there are few things I didn't like. Everytime on the lobby, there is a strange smell which is really irritating. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swati J
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your stay with us in January 2016 while on business and for taking the time to leave a feedback. It's good to read about the nice aspects of your visit, and we apologize for the difficulties you experienced, especially regarding the odor you experienced in the lobby. Your review will be discussed with the respective team to make...

New Jersey
Reviewed 21 June 2016

First you cannot have your guests waiting for too long to do a check in ... need to have more people available if their is a rush of people Rooms were Ok but surely needs to be checked before you have another guest check in. The Bin in my Room already had garbage when i checked in I was staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev_Sharma
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and review of your visit to our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and it sounds like the 'first impressions' were not great. We apologize we did not fully meet your expectation during your stay, specifically with the cleanliness details of your suite. Our goal is to provide the...

Clarksville, Maryland
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I flew in from the east coast, and went in late morning to check in -- my room was nerot ready - which I get. I asked to use the lobby rest room, and was told that there was not one -- and to go next door and use Denny's restroom???!!! Then when I did check in later that night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slhunt1958
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review, we apologize your stay was less than perfect. Your experience is not representative of our usual performance, and we regret falling short of your expectations. We hope you will consider staying with us again as we would love to provide you with an excellent experience. Sincerely, General Manager

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Location: Location is cove ineptly located close to airport which was a huge plus. Uber cost was around $7. If your company gives you a choice to stay near downtown and you don't have to stay here, choose a different hotel. First off the hotel is in a very strange area where there are people with back packs standing around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hun K
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your comments. We are disappointed you felt the cost of your stay was not in line with the value you received. Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, spacious suite with a fully equipped kitchen and lots of room to relax, all at affordable rates. With our complimentary...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My wife and I checked into (Property ID 9610) Extended Stay in Downtown San Jose, CA. on Thursday night 3/17/2016. We were told the kitchen utensils we required will not be available until the manager is in, Friday morning! The staff mentioned they are not trusted to have access. The night cleaning crew was able to furnish me with 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prop96102016

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Airport
0.3 km away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#32 of 75 in San Jose
42 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#52 of 75 in San Jose
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
0.2 km away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
0.3 km away
SpringHill Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown

Address: 1560 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4822 (Formerly Homestead Village - San Jose Airport)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: €115 - €231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Extended Stay, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Seaside, California
San Diego, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just plain don't stay here. A tent on the street would be better.”
isaiah40312017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is a Commuter Train running all the time. Upstairs rooms are quieter. Also, the airport is nearby.”
231genec, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get some food as there is no good eatery nearby”
933pappug, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay on the 1st floor.”
AP-World-Traveler, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms would be good as they appear a little bigger and have good lighting”
anandp32, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5