We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival, the Front desk was one person doing their best to serve 10 people in line. The first two people took about 15 minutes. If you are doing the math, that's an 85 minute wait for 10 people. Next, the room. It was Non-Smoking. The clerk says, well, it is a non smoking room, but, you can smell smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Gene, We appreciate the feedback, and you are correct, we could have done better to make your stay more satisfying. Our dishware is on request from the front desk to ensure cleanliness and we will deliver it to our guests upon request and is always complimentary. I apologize for the smoke smell in your suite, as unfortunately we have guests...

Colorado Springs
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A reservation for this type of ldging was preferable since I ave a unique but severe food allergy making it necessary for me to have amenities to assist in preparing my own meals. The full size refrigerator, stove, microwave all are helpful - however not having pots and pans, and other utensils rather halt you in your steps. I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest evaluation of your stay. I am deeply sorry our staff was not as responsive as they should have been in working to address your specific concerns. It is always our goal to follow up immediately and to resolve everything to your total satisfaction. Your comments show we have room for improvement, and I assure you...

Encinitas, California
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Odors from the last cooking in the room. Dripping faucet in the kitchen. Mould on shower curtain. You know exactly what your neighbors are cooking for breakfast. And you can hear their conversations at the door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allans12016
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting about your stay with us. We strive to make your time with us a complete success, and we appreciate your constructive feedback. We are sorry there were a few issues that kept your visit from being perfect, and we are working to prevent those issues from cropping up in future. We thank you for being our...

Dacono, Colorado
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. This place is a dump! Walked in to my room and found water on the floor. Front desk told me I could come down to get towels to clean it up. Found a toenail in the carpet and some suspect stains on the floor near the bed. Then the coup de...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iiif2016
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

It seems we missed several opportunities to make your stay great and for that we sincerely apologize. Thank you for your feedback, and we do hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again so that we may renew your trust in us. General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 17 October 2016

the location is convenient, close to light rail transportation. Staff is friendly. BUT the hotel is old and in need of renovation. Strong cleaning chemical smells, dark hallways. Lobby is limited to registration only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2016visi2r
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and sharing a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and our friendly staff but we apologize for the chemical odor you described. Please know we will look into this and proceed appropriately. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will stay with us again and provide further feedback. Sincerely,...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

Room is as required Clean bathroom Comfortable bed and AC Reception is okay. Kitchennette is good Room is quiet hot water always on beds and towels are clean Room is as required Clean bathroom Comfortable bed and AC Reception is okay. Kitchennette is good Room is quiet hot water always on beds and towels are clean good drinking water fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pappu g
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing to stay at Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown and for taking the time to write a review. It's great to know you had an enjoyable stay and you found us to be a good value. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about your well-equipped accommodation with a kitchenette which was the highlight of your...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Paid for daily housekeeping, . 2 not 1 but two different front desk employees said there is no service. Call district manager no call back. Bad communications with personnel, bad customer service. Plus the beds are uncomfortable. Go with Residence Inn or Hampton or Hilton Garden I travel once a month, wanted to try something different, I guess you live...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bahquin
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that our front office team fell short of providing you with the excellent service that we strive for daily. I have shared your feedback with my team, and we will review how to better serve our guests with hospitality and a sense of urgency. I am so very sorry for the housekeeping issues...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Could use a remodel but gets the job done. The bed was comfy and I had no problem with check in. The air conditioner wouldn't blow really cold air so that was frustrating, but for the price it's much better than many of the other places I have seen in the Bay Area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you were pleased with the comfortable bed in your accommodation, your check-in experience, and that you also liked our affordable prices. However, we regret that you encountered an issue with the air conditioner of your accommodation. We have shared your concerns with...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

The facility is dirty and the room smell of mildew. The room bathtub is rusted and you have to ask for everything including shampoo, conditioner, and kitchenware. Room service is only once a week. We have transfer to another room twice since something always wrong with that room. But each time we move to another room, it seems to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AP-World-Traveler
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the service and housekeeping issues you experienced. I am sorry our front office team fell short of providing you with the excellent service we strive for daily. Your feedback is a reminder we need to be more consistent with communication with our guests during check in. Our staff should have informed...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 July 2016

My first impression of the stay was seeing a woman at the front desk yelling at a guest. The guest was a jerk, but that experience set the tone. The room wasn't very clean and the a/c didn't work well. The neighborhood isn't the best, and there were some people in the area that would make you uncomfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gdtrfb95
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this review and the details surrounding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of hospitality shown by our front desk staff to another guest. Your experience is not the type of service we train our associates to provide. We have shared your feedback with the entire team as we take your comments...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Airport
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#45 of 75 in San Jose
181 reviews
0.3 km away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#44 of 75 in San Jose
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
0.5 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#16 of 75 in San Jose
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown

Address: 1560 N. First Street, San Jose, CA 95112 (Formerly Homestead Village - San Jose Airport)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: €106 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Extended Stay and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Seaside, California
San Diego, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a Commuter Train running all the time. Upstairs rooms are quieter. Also, the airport is nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles 231genec, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get some food as there is no good eatery nearby”
 of 5 bubbles 933pappug, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AP-World-Traveler, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms would be good as they appear a little bigger and have good lighting”
 of 5 bubbles anandp32, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the light rail system”
 of 5 bubbles Hitheroadwithme, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay