We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel De Anza

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel De Anza
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Anza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Oakland
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel De Anaza. From the outside it doesn't look like much but the inside is beautify. You are immediately transformed to the 1920's 30's & 40's. The hotel reminded me of the movie "The Shinning" but in a non-scary way. I just love my stay! BUT a little warning: When using the valet, you will...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hope E
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback! We really wanted to pay homage to the era in which the Hotel was built, and we are glad you enjoyed our transformation! Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Isabelle Matter General Manager

Foley
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My overall opinion of the hotel was very nice. Friendliness of the front counter people was very nice and so was the people in the restaurant. All in all a wonderful stay. On my next business I hope to stay there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, We hope to see you again! Thank you so much for your visit and wonderful feedback! Isabelle Matter General Manager

Berkeley
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We enjoyed the distinctive look of the room and common areas, as well the convenient location. About the only thing that could be improved is the enthusiasm of the staff, but they did their jobs just fine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericap636
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your valuable comments, we appreciate it very much! Sincerely, Isabelle Matter General Manager

Dallas
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Lovely small but well appointed room with European flair. Loved the look and feel. I enjoyed the jazz bar and the Italian restaurant. Unfortunately there isn't any parking and valet is very expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petra W
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and our live jazz! Sincerely, Isabelle Matter General Manager

Fair Oaks
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I have never been to a hotel were after paying for a room in advance and leaving my credit card at the front I left had to pay an additional deposit for the room that is refunded to me after I check out. I was there for one night. My deposit of $190 was still pending when I checked out...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 291stephanyd
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, We want to thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. As a standard practice, we always require a credit card at check in that is simply authorized to cover additional charges guests may have. Should there be no additional charges, the card is not charged. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, your feedback will help...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 29 August 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend get-a-way at this remodeled hotel in downtown San Jose. The atmosphere was old-timey but the amenities were all updated. Our room was fantastic with a great view and even though the street was a busy one, we couldn't hear it. We were able to walk to all of the local shops, restaurants and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tenishad2015
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your week end get away and had fun! Sincerely, Isabelle Matter General Manager

Folsom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

AS downtown San Jose has been revitalized, this is a great representative of what it will be. There is still a high concentration of homeless wandering the area, but the immediate hotel area is safe. Great non-chain restaurants and bars within 3 blocks to enjoy

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler227
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated Hotel, and felt it is a good representation of the all the nice additions/changes in the area. Lots to do close by, and places to go. Thank you again. Sincerely, Isabelle Matter General Manager

Chico
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Great hotel. So-so workout facility. It is a great location and the rooms are all unique. I'm just not impressed with the front desk at all. I've stayed twice now and the desk seems very disengaged with its guests. A warmer approach would make the stay much more enjoyable. Also, the miniature ironing boards-- ditch them. No one can use...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7683YXroberth
Durham, England
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Hotel was a short taxi ride from the airport. Check in was smooth. Only one lift working during our stay. Room was of a good standard. We booked breakfast and were given vouchers. Restaurant staff very good in explaining what could be ordered. All food items prepared on order. A short walk will take you to the nightlife which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love_2_travel666
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, I wanted to take a minute and thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Isabelle Matter General Manager

Redding
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was one of the quietest places I have stayed. No sounds of pipes when showers were taken or the sound of toilets flushing. Coffee was ready early in the morning downstairs in restaurant area..help yourself.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomaskY6232HB
isabelle631, General Manager at Hotel De Anza, responded to this review

Hello, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the feedback. Isabelle Matter General Manager

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,027 reviews
0.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.7 km away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.7 km away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
891 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#22 of 75 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Address: 233 W Santa Clara St, San Jose, CA 95113-1710
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: €166 - €377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel De Anza staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Huntington Beach, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel De Anza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner rooms offer better views”
 of 5 bubbles derella2016, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I had the corner room on the 7th floor and the noise was loud”
 of 5 bubbles tonik713, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Convenient location”
 of 5 bubbles kirelm, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not the library rooms”
 of 5 bubbles apelzsharpe, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The "library" room was smaller but very nice and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 4lynnettel, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay