We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Me and my daughter were 10-15 mins late for breakfast. They stopped allowing people to get breakfast Mon-fri at 9 am. Couldnt even get juice, apple or yogurt to go. As much as A person pays for the night. A little curtousy since we are not at home would have made a huge difference in my thoughts of this place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank tanya1441
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Hi tanya1441, Thank you for staying with us during you recent visit to San Jose. I am glad that you had a satisfactory stay. Not so delighted to hear that you could not make it to our breakfast. I totally understand it can be disappointing to miss the breakfast, especially when you are traveling with your family and loved ones.... More 

Arcata, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Hotels in San Jose can be insanely expensive so for those on a budget wanting more hotel than a motel 6 offers this may be something to consider with some caveats. 1) Neighborhood: Though close to downtown this hotel sits in a somewhat questionable area. We never felt unsafe during our stay however, the bars on the windows at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bmp68
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear bmp68, Thank for such a well-thought out and kind review. We always appreciate when a guest has taken the time to be so thorough. However, I am not delighted to read that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass on this information to right team so they can look into the issues you mentioned. Our aim is... More 

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Great place to stay for the weekend! I was here with my family and we found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast served was also good. Most of all, staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay9p
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Kay9p, Thank you so very much for your very complimentary words. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family. I am also glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable, clean, and enjoyed our breakfast. Also very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and quite helpful and that we could make... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

My boss and I missed our international flight out of San Jose International Airport. The only other flight option to Guadalajara out of the Bay Area would have been to take a red eye out of Oakland. This was not an option so we decided to stay locally to catch the next flight the following day. We found the Fontaine... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Eriqsl
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Eriqsl, I am delighted that you were pleased with our hotel, room, services and our staff. I am very pleased that we could make your stay wonderful in such frustrating situation. Thank you for writing and please come again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

Fontaine Inn is a hidden gem hiding behind ChuckECheese and next to 101 highway. I booked this place for my friends visiting from LA while shopping around for a place which is economical and close to my home, I live near downtown. My friends kids were so happy to have a place next to ChuckECheese and it made their trip... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FunkySJ
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear FunkySJ, Thank you for your taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that your friends' had an exceptional stay, and were delighted to read that they enjoyed our room, as well as our amenities. I am so pleased we were able to make your friends' stay such a pleasant one and the Kids enjoyed quick access... More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2015

This is my 5th stay at the Fontaine Inn. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I love the convenience of their complimentary breakfast which offers healthy choices. They have recently renovated rooms and the property is safe and well maintained. Since I'm in town on business often, being centrally located to all of my clients within the Silicon Valley... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank PSPBill
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear joelonestar, Thank you for your patronage. We are thrilled that you had an exceptional stay, and are delighted to read that you enjoy our room, as well as our amenities during your visits. Having a restful and pleasant stay is always a great thing to hear from our guests, especially those who travel from so far away for business.... More 

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2015

I visited the bay area for interviews and had to stay for a week. I was looking for something reasonably priced near the airport, city and the freeway. This hotel had free Wi-Fi and was quite for me to prepare for the interview. They also provide free morning breakfast before my interview. I was able to beat the rush hour... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Manish S
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Hi Manish S, I am very pleased to hear that you decided to stay with us in such an important occasion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. From our location, to our rooms, to our great breakfast, we are delighted to read that you found many components of your stay to be top-notch. We look forward... More 

Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I could see a lot of trucks in the parking garage... Typical truck driver's stop over.. the rates were also very high.. I would definitely not recommend this hotel for a stay... The rooms were not great either... The hotel staff were friendly though...

Helpful?
2 Thank Gautam M
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2015

I booked this hotel via fedrooms.com, or at least I thought I did. The website had it listed as a Days Inn (which it hasn't been for years. Naturally, the night receptionist had no way to confirm the reservation, but she found me a room anyway at a very reasonable rate. They're still in the process of upgrading the rooms,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin P
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2015

All the staff were friendly and accommodating! My room was clean, amenities were great. Location is right off the freeway. Lots of nearby places to eat. I will definitely be back and highly recommend you stay here.

Helpful?
Thank iambeccs

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.2 km away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#31 of 76 in San Jose
77 reviews
3.8 km away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#40 of 76 in San Jose
85 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
5.1 km away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#29 of 76 in San Jose
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the best kept secret among affordable hotels in San Jose, California. People that travel to San Jose often, for work or for pleasure, know that The Fontaine Inn is the way to make your money go further without sacrificing comfort. Conveniently located just off the Bayshore Freeway, close to the Mineta San Jose International Airport, the newly renovated Fontaine Inn is ideally situated. Road warriors love our piping hot showers and cozy beds after a long day on the road. We have plenty of parking for your truck, motor coach, or work vehicle. Busy professionals appreciate our proximity to Silicone Valley businesses. Students, traveling sports teams, and their families love the value and convenience of being close to San Jose State University and Santa Clara University. Whether you are on a family on vacation or just passing through, our San Jose hotel is easily accessible from the highway and situated close to many California attractions, like the Santa Clara Fairgrounds, Raging Waters Theme Park, California's Great America Theme Park and Silicon Valley businesses as well as great dining and shopping.•Free Wi-Fi•Free continental breakfast•Free parking for cars, large trucks, RVs and buses•Free local phone calls•Outdoor pool•Cable TV•In-room microwave, coffee makers, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and hair dryers• ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds

Address: 2460 Fontaine Road, San Jose, CA 95121
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: €107 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Jose
San Jose Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room and upstairs, so people don't keep you up by walking on the ceiling and parking all night.”
 of 5 bubbles Funlovinggrammie, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnL83, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It's ok for an overnight”
 of 5 bubbles andyc621, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best room is at some other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kbaerliny, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see your room before agreeing to it”
 of 5 bubbles bmp68, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay