We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shady Oaks Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Shady Oaks Country Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shady Oaks was the perfect quiet place our first trip to Napa! We stayed in the Winery Retreat, very cozy & private. Our hostess Lisa welcomed us with wine, and made a delicious eggs benedict breakfast. The property feels like home away from home! Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Sandra, This is lisa, I had so much fun with you two. You are the kind of guests that make innkeeping so fun. Thank you for the great review. Warmly Lisa More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We had a nice room of Victorian/Old-world kind of decor, is spacious, with a nice warm lighting. The bed is comfortable, with fresh clean beddings, and lots of pillows. The ensuite washroom is also of decent size, with a wooden dresser and wooden shelf fixtures. In the afternoon that we arrived, we were treated to sample their house wines -... More 

Helpful?
Thank agathz19
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry no one helped you with winery tours. It is supposed to happen in the evening wine hour from 5-6 pm or in the morning after breakfast. I will speak to my employees about this. Thank you again for you review. Please come see us again. Warmly John More 

turlock, cali
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I think we got the last room when booked..the country blue room. It was clean. The shower was pretty small. The room was too warm when we checked in and there is only a central thermostat for the entire inn. I think a ceiling fan is a must in this particular room (reproduction to fit the era could be found).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel4GolfAnywhere
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the heat. The blue room does have shades you can pull down. The chicken apple sausages are fully cooked when you buy them. Very safe and wonderful. Sounds like a lot of communication problems. I sincerely apologize. Warmly John More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

All I can say is we were blown away at what a cute and wonderful set up you have! When we return to St. Helena, we will most definitely be returning here! Your hospitality is amazing and quaint; all to be expected for a small B&B. The breakfast was delicious. The check in process was so simple- love the welcome... More 

Helpful?
Thank gibson13j
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this B and B several times now and unless they are full will continue to do so. Why? Great location, nice rooms, evening wine and cheese, excellent daily breakfast and a staff that charms and delivers. Eschew the traditional hotels and really enjoy local flavor - just not when we return. I don't want to not... More 

Helpful?
Thank mymegaman
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed for 2 nights in the sunny hideaway 2 bedroom suite. Great location with private outdoor seating. Would have been nice to have a fridge in the room and more then one pot of coffee on offer. Did not see any cheese with the evening wine. Breakfasts very nice, but would improve the ham offered with the eggs benedict, or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The Ham we serve on the Eggs Benedict is Black Forest ham. We choose not to use Canadian bacon. There is always more coffee available in the parlor. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will return Warmly John More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This was my second stay at the Shady Oaks Country Inn, which is convenient to so many wineries in St. Helena. The Winery Retreat room was perfect for me and my daughters, who were in the Napa Valley for wine tasting following the Napa to Sonoma half marathon. The breakfasts were amazing - eggs benedict, stuffed french toast, and waffles... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

When researching for a place to stay for a wedding in Napa and found the Shady Oaks Inn, I was very excited to read all of the wonderful reviews and was expecting a quaint bed and breakfast but upon arrival I was deeply disappointed. It was very dark (no lighting) for a late check-in and walking up steps. You have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

You are the same people writing reviews over and over. Rebecca and Suzanne. You have not even contacted me to see what I can do for you because of the plumbing problem in the same room. I cannot predict that a drain will clog up on a Saturday. I can only do what I could. There is no excuse for... More 

Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016

quiet room. off the main drag. easy to find. and an easy drive to downtown St. Helena. friendly staff. the room was lacking a fridge and maybe a coffee marker would have been nice. felt like i was on the farm. the room and the bathroom isn't updated. glad i got this at a discount would not pay full price... More 

Helpful?
Thank beach020bum
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

Our bathrooms are updated regularly. The faucets are new, the sinks have no cracks or scratches, the tubs and and showers are in great shape. There is a coffee maker and a refrigerator in the dining room. I am sorry we don't give away free bottles of water. This seems to be a big issue to some people. Free bottles... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Imagine my shock when I pulled into a darkened parking lot for a late check in and there were no lights, no paths and Xeroxed instructions folded and pinned to a bulletin board next to the inn's front door. We were guests in the Winery Room, a windowless, red carpeted room. The stone walls were quaint in our room, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry the lights were out. It must have been real late because they are set to go off at 11:00 pm but I will check them. Didn't you stay the next night upstairs? I am also very sorry about the towels. No excuse for that. Please send me your email and I can do something to make... More 

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
2.0 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
6.8 km away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
967 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
605 reviews
25.1 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.1 km away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We invite you to experience the warmth and romance of Shady Oaks Country Inn secluded on two acres nestled among some of the finest Wineries and restaurants in Napa Valley. Relax and enjoy the elegant ambiance, the wine country tranquility and our cozy amenities during your stay. Shady oaks Country Inn offers the hospitality of a bed and breakfast along with first class amenities like romantic fireplaces, flat screen satellite television free Wifi and a full champagne breakfast. Our goal at Shady oaks Country Inn is to offer you the finest combination of luxury, hospitality and history. To enhance your stay, we serve full champagne breakfasts and premium Napa wines and cheeses each evening on the Roman pillared patio. Awaken to the Inn's own blend of coffee and our breakfast complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, our home baked breads, fresh baked croissants, fresh juice and champagne. After spending your day exploring the beautiful Napa Valley vineyards, we invite you to browse through our collection of restaurant menus that include fine dining and casual restaurants. We are more than happy to make recommendations and reservations for you! Book a stay with us at Shady Oaks Country Inn, and experience the perfect blend of luxury and comfort in Napa Valley! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shady Oaks Country Inn

Address: 399 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-1635
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Price Range: €200 - €1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shady Oaks Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Shady Oaks Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Oaks Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shady Oaks Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think you are better off staying in the main house.”
  • Winery Retreat
  • Winery Retreat
  • Winery Retreat
  • Winery Retreat
  • Winery Retreat
  • Winery Retreat
  • Winery Retreat
 of 5 bubbles 365rebeccaa, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book the second floor room with two bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 523suzanneg, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Your rating signs are now ubiquitous in every travel or dining venue one comes upon & no longer reliable.”
 of 5 bubbles RpxRpx, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Winery Retreat is great-own fireplace.Concierge isn't formal -get recs on wineries, restaurants from innkeepers, guests, and info at Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles 340kylen, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the Rose room”
 of 5 bubbles O2736XTdavidg, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay