We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel Redding

Show Prices
#12 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Redding
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Redding
See the most recent reviews
Showing 537: English reviews
Eureka, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was clean with friendly staff. One thing every one should be aware of is about the venting machines on premises, they are a rib off if you use your credit card. Like $5 for a can of soda. Trying to find out why the outrageous charges, was referred to local company which never got back to me until today.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 990macs
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear 990macs, Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but apologize there was a hiccup with the vending machine. Upon looking into this, the $5 transaction should be a pending authorization and the correct amount of $2 should reflect once the authorization turns into a charge....

Mckinkeyville
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible experience over all... I will never stay here again! I never have complained in my life about a hotel room until now... it was a bad 2 night stay.. zero sound proof quality rooms.. dirty floors and toilet were an understatement!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tephi H
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Tephi H, Thank you for staying with us and we are terribly sorry to hear about your stay. We never wish any of our guests to have an experience like this. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department managers and we will retrain where necessary. We hope you give us another try in the future. Mitch

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I stay at this Red Lion Hotel quite a bit. I like it because it is convenient, clean, and a nice place to stay. Recently they went through a renovation and changed the floors from carpet to hard wood floors. I'm not sure if they did all of the rooms, or just some of them. Anyway, I find the hard...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frogsie57
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Frogsie57, I want to thank you for your loyalty to Red Lion Hotels, and for also taking the time to write us a nice review. We are glad you enjoy our rooms overall and we hope you can visit us again soon. Take care, Mitch

Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Always make this hotel my stop when driving back from southern Calif to Oregon. the front desk staff is always friendly, courteous and helpful. If possible they'll give me a better room than I booked. the hotel rooms are clean and nice, wifi is easy to hook up to, breakfast is good. Been close to a year since I have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I7990KEpatrickw
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear I7990KEpatrickw, Thank you for your kind review! Our goal is to make all guests feel welcomed and we are always happy to hear when we have achieved that. I will share your message with the staff along with my thanks. See you next time! Safe travels, Mitch

Redding, California
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I have stayed at this hotel many times with marginal results. This time the lead person at the desk was striggling with recovering from a computer problem they were having, couldnt tell what rooms they had available and showed impatience with me when they couldn't provide the Premium king I had booked. They gave me a single queen, then charged...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenbO2954GN
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear stephenbO2954Gn, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very sorry to hear about your misfortune, as this is never the type of stay we want our guests to experience. I have shared your review with the appropriate department managers so we can retrain where necessary and avoid these concerns from happening again. Again, we are truly...

Alturas, California
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Nice hotel at a good rate with some of the friendliest employees we have encountered. We always enjoy staying here, and the staff always remembers us and makes us feel at home. The hotel is centrally located for us, and we look forward to staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aron W
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Aron W, Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our convenient location. I will pass your message along to the staff with my thanks. We hope to see you next time. Take care, Mitch

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Upon arrival on 2/25/17, after a 14 hour day of driving, I walked into the lobby of the Red Lion Hotel (Hilltop Drive). I was disappointed to see a line from the desk, to the back of the lobby, and around the corner, There was only 1 desk person attempting to deal with this, and after 15 minutes of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bigalsnow
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear bigalsnow, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience we may have caused you, especially after a long day of driving. Unfortunately we cannot always control the incoming traffic, especially those that are walk ins. It is in our best interest to take care of our guests in a...

Reviewed 26 February 2017

Spent the weekend here for our son's lacrosse tournament. Check in performed by the wonderfully helpful Tanya at the front desk. She was efficient and answered our barrage of questions about the area with a smile. The room we had was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds were cozy and the pillows nice and fluffy. The breakfast buffet was delicious,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ron S
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Ron S, We want to thank you for sharing your nice comments and leaving us an outstanding review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay during your son's tournaments. We are a great hotel for teams and try to host them whenever we can! Tanya has been a wonderful addition to our team since the stay she started!...

Mount Shasta, California
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

"Premium" King room was definitely not worth the extra $$. Very small room and the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. Not a lot of choices in Redding, but a few much better than this. Will avoid on any future trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank with5
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear with5, Thank you for sharing your experience as all feedback helps us to improve. We apologize you weren't completely satisfied with your stay and did not find our Premium King Room to be of value. All of our rooms with King Beds are Premium Rooms that face inward overlooking one of our two courtyards. These rooms are also newly...

Garberville, California
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Our room was nice and clean and although I missed having a bathtub, the hot tub was great. We had a nice meal in the restaurant too. The best part of our stay, however, was the fantastic customer service we experienced. Christine at the front desk was so welcoming and friendly when I went in to see if they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blairfoote
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear blairefoot, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! I have shared your review with the staff along with my thanks. Christine is a wonderful part of the team and we are very lucky to have her! As a friendly reminder, we also have rooms with bathtubs. You may always request for a bathtub...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.2 km away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
1,240 reviews
4.9 km away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
163 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
4.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Region: United States > California > Redding
Price Range: €103 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Redding staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Grants Pass, Oregon
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Redding staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor close to parking area of your choice.”
E8986VNrons, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are plenty of fast food and fine dinning all around this Hotel, And plenty of Stores to go Shopping (99 cents store, Target, etc.”
LynnR184, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always ask the front reception counter employees for what you desire in a room.”
BenMQZ, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a ground floor when booking reservation. No Elevators”
gayle672511, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a remnovated room.”
Mona805, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5