We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandcastle Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandcastle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,071: English reviews
Start your review of Sandcastle Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just left our happy place. Sandcastle Inn has beautifully renovated their ocean front rooms that we were upgraded to (A HUGE thank you to the management for that). This was our second time here and we will always stay here. Hotel staff was friendly and gave us a call to see how we settled in, that was pretty thoughtful. Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much Christina for your glowing review of your recent stay. My staff and I truly appreciate you as our guest and are extremely happy to hear that you loved our beautifully renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warm regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I love this place! It's home away from home. This stay they had a little remodeling but it did not take away from our enjoyment of our vacation the rooms where completely remodeled and the staff was great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Jack for being our guest and for your review of your stay with us. It's great to hear that we are your home away from home while you spend time in Pismo Beach. I'm also very happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay even with our current renovation project in full swing. Thanks again. Kind...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay when you are in Pismo beach. It's steps away from the boardwalk, stores, and restaurants. The staff provided us with a list of things to do and even places we could stop by on our way to Hearst Castle. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila A
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Sheila for being our guest at our downtown beachfront inn. My staff and I are very happy that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Pismo Beach. Thanks again. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

Manteca, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed while work was being done. Staff more then compensated by asking how they could help. All ocean view rooms can't be beat. Location is near pier and downtown. We like to stay here often. We like Pismo Beach and the Sandcastle is a great spot on beach and in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve Debbie S
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Steve and Debbie for being such a loyal guest and for your review of your recent stay. My staff and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay even with our current renovation taking place. I know you will love our final result and I can't wait to hear your opinion on your next visit. Thanks...

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to stay close to the beach, this is a great hotel. The oceanfront rooms are just that with no road between it and the beach. The oceanfront rooms are being renovated right now, but should be ready soon. Those rooms are not large (suite size) and there is no air conditioning (unless that is being changed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roketmom
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for being our guest. My staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our downtown beachfront inn. We are installing a/c in all of our guest rooms and public areas for our guests comfort during our current renovation project. We appreciate you as our guest and can't wait to see you...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything in this place was so good. Our stay was perfect. The place was very clean, dispite they were remodeling an hotel wing, we didnt notice it until we were leaving. Staff was great, we sent some packages to the hotel before we arrive, and they put them in our room so when we arrived they were waiting there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Killdavo
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

My staff and I are very happy that you had a fantastic stay with us at our downtown beachfront inn. We appreciate you as our guest and truly do look forward to having you join us again soon. Thanks again. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

Riverside, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

the staff was friendly and accommodating and also had a great recommendation for dinner. The view from my room beautiful. The hotel was within walking distance of the quaint little area that surrounds it. There were lots of restaurants and shops to visit and of course the beach was only steps away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinet868
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Jacqueline for being our guest and for your review of your recent stay. My fantastic staff and I are extremely pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our downtown beachfront inn with absolutely beautiful Pacific Ocean views. We can't wait to see you again soon. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

Easton
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved that we were within feet from the beach, and how close we were from everything. The private balcony we had in our room was a great surprise, and the family suite we had was clean and full of extras.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William Z
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you William for your review of your recent stay. My staff and I are very pleased that truly enjoyed your stay with us at our downtown beachfront inn which is ideally located and close to everything in Pismo Beach. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again. Kind regards, Roger Wightman General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Picked up this hotel because of location and hot tube/pool by the sea. Location is one of the best if you want to stay just by the sea. Unfortunately we did not got any information about ongoing renovation. There way no sea view from the rooms. No hot pool after surfing in cold pacific😤However, service was helpful and friendy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 275saijak
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for being our guest and for your review of your recent stay with us. While we have tried very hard to do so, I am truly sorry that you were not notified of our multi million dollar renovation project before making your reservation. I am really happy to hear however that you really liked our downtown beachfront...

Salinas, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Sandcastle to celebrate my 76th birthday. While walking, I fell into a pothole and ended up with a bloody face and knee. We went back to the hotel where the receptionist immediately gave my husband their First Aid Kit. The next morning when we checked out, she had brought additional bandages from home. We were extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yeatergin
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for spending your special day with us. I am so sorry to hear about your fall while walking the town. However, I am very pleased to learn of the very special care that our guest services associate provided. I do hope that are doing much better now. My staff and I do look forward to seeing you...

418 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (397)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,847 reviews
2.4 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,262 reviews
1.5 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,539 reviews
5.1 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
777 reviews
1.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Price Range: €145 - €409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Beaumont, California
over a year ago
2 months ago
Henderson, Nevada
9 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view is best of course. All rooms are being remodeled so they should all be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles stevedebbies2015, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Obviously, the oceanfront rooms have the waves hitting the beach sound if you prefer that.”
 of 5 bubbles Roketmom, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“quiet, beach view.”
 of 5 bubbles Killdavo, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure you request an ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelinet868, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to get a room with an ocean view. Magical!!”
 of 5 bubbles yeatergin, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5