We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spyglass Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Spyglass Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 716: English reviews
Dublin, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great location to stay at Pismo beach - view from the 'ocean view' room was great (and sunsets are a must watch), sitting around the fireplaces that they turn on along the trail by the beach is a lot of fun in the winter, the heated pool and spa are also fun in the winter. Their restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sangi2017
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Silly me, I thought the rooms I saw on the hotel website would be the rooms we would stay in...NOT! The decor was different and frankly distasteful in my view. Small room, but clean enough. Since our stay, I've learned to ask if the room I'm booking will look like the one on their website, no matter what hotel it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a review of your stay. I apologize for any miscommunication regarding your reservation. We have wonderful newly remodeled rooms and work hard to make sure the pictures are of the rooms guest reserve. I will look into this to make sure there are no errors on any sites. Thank you for bringing this to our attention...

California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a road trip up North with my teen; found this place through Hotwire. I got a good rate so I feel I can't complain much but I wonder if the front desk staff sometimes know who is a discounted patron and who is full-cost. The guy at the counter when we arrived around 5pm was lack-luster to say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and feedback. We learn and grow from all of our guests. I apologize for the service you received at checkin. Our staff usually are thought of as the friendliest people around and I am sorry you did not experience it during your stay. The trend in the industry is to provide the best service and...

Biggs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second stay at Spyglass. First stay was short and only 1 night. This was for 2 nights. The beds are so very comfortable and the linens are very nice. We had a partial view of the ocean but only short walk out to the chairs and fire-pit to watch the sunset with an amazing view. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24mmattos
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your repeat visit. We are pleased you enjoy your stays with us and came back for more. We look forward to your 3rd and 4th visit with us. James Davison General Manager

City of Angels
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here December 15th, 16th, & 17th for my birthday The view was lovely, the bed comfortable, the desk staff wonderful & could not ask for better, the bath towels are extra large, the duvet on the bed wonderfully warm, & parking is free, but that is where it ends. Bottled water is extra, breakfast is extra.... The tile...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Auntie-Nanuuq
James D, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests. We apologize for the housekeeping and noise issues of your room. We have noted the problem and are making an effort to resolve the issues. We appreciate feedback from guests like yourself...

California
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We have been going to the Pismo area for years and have stayed all over from Cayucos to AG....The price of Beachfront hotels has been rising while the value sinking....NOT SO with the Spyglass.... great room, beachfront, comfortable, and fairly quiet. Restaurant/bar is average but its view that is why you're there anyways. Everything is nearby with a few places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrube
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and checking the Spyglass Inn out. We know you have many choices here on the Central Coast and we are happy you were out guest. We hope to see you again soon. James Davison General Manager

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the spyglass in. Make sure you reserve and ocean view room, otherwise I would not think it's worth staying here. Ocean views are absolutely beautiful and unobstructed. Friendly staff, clean and newly renovated rooms. Would come back again for the views alone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessicawilson33
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Our ocean view rooms are amazing but all of our rooms were renovated recently and are all wonderful rooms to stay in. Thank you for your review of the Spyglass Inn. We hope to see you again soon. James Davison General Manager

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in great location between the beaches of Pismo and Avila. Gorgeous contemporary decor - big beds and new bathroom. Lovely walks along the cliff to neighbouring hotels with drinks terraces overlooking the sea and happy hour with fantastic sunsets. The beaches here are fantastic. Only downside: lugging cases up stairs to room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su B
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

You painted a wonderful picture of your stay with us. Thank you for sharing. We hope to see you again soon and we will be happy to assist with your bags as well next visit. It would be our pleasure. James Davison General Manager

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Got a room with a view, balcony chairs and table. Brought wine and snacks. Listened to waves, no bothersome outdoor lighting shining in to my room. We visited the fire pit and took a walk down the beach, swam in their pleasantly heated pool, no problem finding it, checking in or out, and although it was a splurge for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IdeasAndOpinions
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing you birthday visit with us. We are so pleased you had a wonderful experience here at the Spyglass Inn. We hope to see you next year for your birthday again. James Davison General Manager

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome view from second floor ocean view room. They got a great restaurant on site, also with a spectacular view. Only complaint was my room didn't have a heater, no biggie though. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick G
James D, General Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your room. Also all of our rooms have wall heaters and I apologize if you were unable to use the one in your room. We will follow up on this with you and the room. James Davison General Manager

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.8 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,098 reviews
3.9 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,805 reviews
2.8 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,074 reviews
3.7 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,470 reviews
6.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Price Range: €90 - €289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spyglass Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Laguna Beach, California, United States
over a year ago
Del Mar, California

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Spyglass Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view rooms are the best. Be sure, as booking sites may not have this in their quota, and they will not state explicitly.”
 of 5 bubbles sangi2017, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs is quieter.....”
  • Buffet
  • Dolphin Statue
  • Vanity
  • Closet
  • Hole in bathroom wall
  • Toilet paper holder
  • Patio
  • Dirty bath tub tile grout
 of 5 bubbles Auntie-Nanuuq, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spring for an ocean view room, especially if it's hot. There's a ceiling fan, but as it's right on the ocean, I didn't see air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles IdeasAndOpinions, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The top floor should be quieter, don't bother paying for an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles This_r_serious, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get room 226! Great view from a second floor corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles ledieff, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay