We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3800 Golden Hill Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-6386
Hotel direct offer!Military Save 20%
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (5)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Paso Robles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Take your RV experience to the next level when you stay at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles, formerly known as Cava Robles RV Resort. The inspiring wine country setting offers more than just stunning views. Discover a resort designed by nature and immerse yourself in our beautiful natural setting, whether you arrive by RV or stay in one of our villas and cottages.

Built for relaxation, our resort is the perfect destination for vacations and RV camping on the Central California coast. Located in the gorgeous Paso Robles wine region - 30 minutes from the Pacific Coast - our resort boasts incredible amenities including two pools, a spa, fire pits, a wellness center, trails, and dog parks. You'll find something for everything at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Hotel links
Special Price:Military Save 20%
75Reviews5Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 15
  • 10
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LibraGal62 wrote a review Jul 2022
Clovis, California17 contributions
We have stayed here numerous times and the park and facilities are very nice. Now for the 2 star rating. We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend which was completely sold out. We found out The Bistro still has limited hours 11-7 (even though the website states Fri-Sun 8-7, so no breakfast) staffed with only one person who was also training someone that was basically shadowing and could only pour a few draft beers/sodas and was not able to make cocktails. The Bistro is always busy since it's by the pool which is always packed on weekends. Saturday the CO2 for the draft beers ran out. Sunday still no draft beers and the canned beer soon ran out. Also food was running out. We left Monday morning so I don't know if it the situation got better or worse for the actual July 4th. What a sh#t show. Obviously very poorly managed and totally unacceptable! A lot of lost revenue and many unhappy campers for sure! This place is expensive and I don't mind if the amenities that you are essentially paying for are available. The negative reviews are mostly regarding the poor management and still nothing has been done to rectify this. Management, do not waste your time replying with an auto generated generic response which is laughable at this point.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi LibraGal, thank you for taking the time out to express your concern with us. We sincerely apologize for our shortcoming. Our hours have been changed temporarily to reflect team members, we were able to hire a new bartender (the one being trained). Hopefully, soon we can change the hours back to include breakfast. Unfortunately, the company that provides us co2 was closed for the holiday, We did have plenty of canned beers and food.
Read more
Michelle H wrote a review Dec 2021
Los Angeles, California46 contributions46 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Just completed a week stay here. The park is lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful, from the front desk, to signing up for the on-site wine tasting, to propane service. We were able to get 2 nights free for a 5 night stay so check for specials. They have a shuttle to a local restaurant and wine tasting location. Good Wi-Fi. Lovely views and beautifully landscaped. Level and spacious sites. Walking trails and dog areas with grass.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 9 Dec 2021
Hello Michelle, Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate it when our guest take time out to leave a note about us. We're glad you experienced the friendly atmosphere, beautiful views and helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels.
Read more
Ruth T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The park is clean and well maintained. The RV spaces are adequate. Now lets talk about the rental units, they are poorly maintained, poorly equipped, and poorly designed. Just as an example, I attempted to BBQ ribs, and half way through the cooking process the tank ran out of propane. I called the office for assistance, but of course they were closed. I was unable to change the tank because it was chained, and locked to the BBQ. It was particularly frustrating because there weren't any cooking utensils, unless of course you count the 3 spoons, 4 forks and old worn out frypan. The ribs went into the trash. The positive points are poor service, poor management, and zero followup. Do yourself a favor and pass this one by, you won't regret it. The management will attempt to smooth your ruffled feathers by compensating you with a couple of cheap wine glasses, REALLY, give me a break!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time out to share your concern with us. To further discuss your concern in more detail, would you mind giving us a call? Our direct line is 248-208-2500, option 2. We’re available Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Thank You.
Read more
Stephan E wrote a review Mar 2022
San Marcos, California1 contribution
Cava Robles Resort has wonderful amentites and things to do for all. Swimming pools, Dog play areas, Corn Hole games, Pool table, play areas for children and more with considerable space provided for RV parking. Extremely pleased with our choice of vacation. Want to give a shout out for Ranger Brian who went beyond necessary to help us with RV challenges we faced. Very grateful for his concern for our enjoyment and service to Cava Robles customers, very special treatment!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Hi Stephane, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience. I am pleased to hear that our team made your experience pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Tricia B wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Great experience in the past. This time staff in office and patrolling were EXTREMELY busy unfriendly and rude. Wristbands weren’t ever explained to us, offered to us and my kids were yelled at by an older worker at the pool for not having them on Tuesday. Mind you, only 2 other families at pool. Office was out of toilet paper on Tuesday, ice cream gone on Wednesday. Kids super disappointed. Sign still on cooler. No apology. Zoey in office is cold and I uninviting
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danny P wrote a review Nov 2021
San Francisco, California62 contributions39 helpful votes
Stayed in a chalet studio and loft while another family stayed in a nearby RV. It was very clean and updated. Had everything we needed. Location of resort is awesome. Quick drive to the wineries and downtown restaurants. Kids enjoyed scootering around the resort, playing in the playground and clubhouse. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would give it another star if it was a little bit cheaper. Kinda on the pricey end.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Hello Danny, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with a great review. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a great experience and we're happy to hear that your stay was enjoyed! Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
797khtravels wrote a review Aug 2021
Fullerton, California15 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our fourth time visiting and our least enjoyable. The park seems to be under staffed. Bathrooms and laundry facilities were dirty. Pool was packed. Felt like a frat party. They say no portable music players, but there were 4 or 5 blaring their music to over power each other. If you don’t arrive at the pool by opening, good luck getting a seat. Not as family friendly as we would like. Too much of a party place on the weekends. Came to relax at the resort, but no part of the visit was relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pool closes from 3-4 for cleaning.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Hello , We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
Lindsey Lee wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
As a Sun Community shareholder and a frequent guest, it pains me to write this review. I had read other reviews about the poor customer service at this park. Thought, surely, Sun RV Resorts Management Team had corrected the situation. I was wrong. Several times, I entered the office as the only guest to see at least six staff members and have to wait several minutes before being asked if I needed help. USPS delivered a package on Friday. Every day after that I came in to pick up the package. Each time staff told me mail hadn't been checked. Not until Tuesday when I was checking out and asked for the package did someone go to the mailbox to pick up mail. Four days, despite daily questioning. That is not incompetence, it is indifference. Also, there is one office staff member who is just plain surly. Always too busy to do his job. Other than that, it is a beautiful park. Spaces are large.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
neilleann wrote a review Jun 2021
Livermore, California106 contributions63 helpful votes
That we have found so far! Huge - with lots of choices for sites - pull through, back in, etc. I must say we never made it to the pool because we were gone most of the day each of the days we were there - but they looked lovely. I am looking forward to coming back when the rest of the amenities, wine tasting, bistro, etc are reinstated. The pull through sites are wonderful because they are so roomy - and you are not an arms length away from your neighbor! The only detrimental part of staying in the area we were in (and this is out of their control) was the wind.....ALLL aftenoon....ALL evening....and even though the temperature outside was not cold at all, the wind was. We never were able to put up our awning - but didnt really need it because the temperatures were moderate. But even using the firepit, it was quite chilly sitting outside in the evening. My only three complaints were finding out about special pricing after we had made and paid for our reservations; they do not accept Passport America although the other 2 Sun River Resorts in the area do; and the inconsistent, to almost totally nil, enforcement of any of their "rules". Would we stay there again? Yes.....but we will look for special pricing FIRST! This campground is quite pricey - but their are others not quite as nice that are even pricier (although not in PR!)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The top of the hills are beautiful but windy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with a great review. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a great experience and we're happy to hear that your stay was enjoyed! Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Robert S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the park for 7 nights beginning 04/19/2021 in a class A motorhome. Arrival is 2pm for MHs and 4pm for chalets. On more than one day, guests, paid up or not, were subjected to long waits and the line stretched the length of the driveway (approx. 1/4 mile). Other parks make up packets for paid up guests and distribute at any time provided the site is available. Two of our members chalet had been vacant for two days and had to wait at least an hour and 1/2 because they arrived at 2:30p rather than 4p. I later had to print a couple of sheets and was graciously accommodated. So the facilities are new and clean but our group's perception was that staff didn't care. This is an annual trip and it's likely that next year we'll go back to the sister park, Wine Country.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Responded 6 May 2021
Hello, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$326 - US$343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cava Robles RV Resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyPaso Robles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Outdoors Paso Robles
Which popular attractions are close to Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Nearby attractions include Estrella Warbird Air Museum (3.2 km), Sculpterra Winery & Sculpture Garden (7.0 km), and Sensorio (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Scooter Deli, Il Cortile Ristorante, and Buona Tavola.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sun Outdoors Paso Robles have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sun Outdoors Paso Robles offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sun Outdoors Paso Robles?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rōtta Winery (14.0 km) and Rios-Caledonia Adobe (10.0 km).
Is Sun Outdoors Paso Robles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.