We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desperado Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Desperado Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Santa Barbara
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Desperado Inn. We stayed in the desperado room. The heating was not working properly and it was very cold. Tom was not around when we arrived and just found the key in the door. The next morning Tom explained he just installed solar, which might have something to do with that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
Waldwick, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the most horrible experiences we have ever had. The owners were in Europe and manager they had in place never showed up to give us our room. We spent 3 hours waiting around. The place looked deserted and run down. No one showed up or return our numerous voice mails. We ended up having to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank normaray
California
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

So I purchased a Groupon offer and once I contacted the owner Tom he went on about how Groupon did not work out for him as a business owner. ( from the first time I spoke to him on the phone, via text, and during our stay) As a guest this was not a first great impression, I felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewallace101
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We really wanted to have a good experience here. Tom was very friendly on the phone, and we looked forward to a good time. Unfortunately, the inn has not been kept up as it should. We had hoped to use the pool on those hot days, but the water was not only dirty and in need of cleaning, it also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivierleigh
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We booked it based on the gorgeous pictures and description on the website. Anyhow, the condition of the hotel isn’t as quite as described. Cons • The main concern I have is the lack of privacy. The middle section of the door is semitransparent and the bed is just next to it. The sunlight also came in the morning and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gracie-Oreo
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Very nice B&B in vineyard country close to Paso Robles. Lots of wildlife. Nice rooms and very relaxing. Nice breakfast by the owner and wine tours by Rolks Royce if you are so inclined. All in all a relaxing and pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KDW105
pittsburg calif, United States
Reviewed 20 April 2016

OLD and worn out needs real care not weed cutters acting as host. Has house rules that make your stay seem like you have gone home to Mom. I would suggest better B & B 's in the area that are truly customer friendly and kept up. Tom is tired and needs to drive his old car around looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Larry D
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 15 April 2016

A bit out of the way, but a pleasant drive through the rolling hills of the east side. The B&B is on a hill with great views. We stayed in one of the larger rooms off the main house. It was comfortable and very quiet. The breakfast and conversation with the owner were most enjoyable. A good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdk90814
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Loved this quaint bed and breakfast. Haven't been to paso Robles for awhile and wanted a cute place to revisit the SLO area. The rooms were comfortable. The view is outstanding and the breakfasts were first class. Tom, the owner, is friendly and I love his stories. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen O
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

thanks for joining us here at Desperado. I appreciate your kind words as well as making the time to do a review. We hope to see you again soon. When you return I have a special stay and tour deal for you!! Cheers! Tom

Reviewed 18 September 2015

I waited a week before writing this review. I wanted to like this place, had seen mixed reviews and was hoping I could overlook some of the negative comments, without being rude, or disrespectful to the owner, this place truly needs a lot of work. It is very outdated. We paid (quite a lot in my opinion) for 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Katya B
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

It is indeed unfortunate that you choose to to save your responses until weeks after your stay here. You were asked if you enjoyed your stay and encouraged to give us feedback but instead you chose not to. It always amazes me how some people embellish their negativity to make themselves feel justified for trying to bring other people down,...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
568 reviews
11.8 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
611 reviews
11.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
18.2 km away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
15.6 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Price Range: €104 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Desperado Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Outside rooms have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles olivierleigh, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do some research”
 of 5 bubbles 166katyab, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Use Uber or wine tours to drive you around to avoid a DUI :-)”
 of 5 bubbles 50nHappy, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The Desperado Room is great, I love the private entrance and back door to little patio as well.”
 of 5 bubbles S8251LEkathys, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles gjresh, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay