We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 520: English reviews
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This is more condo style than a regular hotel/Inn, so the rooms were very private and quiet. Large rooms, very clean, friendly staff. A little off the beaten path but it was worth it for the price, short driving distance to Cannery Row and Pebble Beach. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay here again or recommend to friends!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mychal R
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Best Western The Inn and Suites Pacific Grove! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you

Atwater, California
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Stayed here on our 2nd wedding anniversary and again this year on our 13th. Overall it's a great place, quiet and away from the busy tourist areas. Staff is friendly and helpful. Will be back again and soon!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RAlbright
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased to hear you loved the Best Western The Inn and Suites Pacific Grove! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you love the location and the quiet area. We hope to welcome you back again, soon! Thank you

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We stayed in room 119 which is a large suite with a king bed. There is a very large bathroom with a large shower. Somehow, the size of the room for the toilet was barely large enough to close the door. The property furnishes a breakfast featuring make your own waffle. There is free parking. The buildings are up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernard L
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Best Western The Inn and Suites Pacific Grove. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Room 119 is a standard king room, our king suites are located on the first floor which has a fireplace, kitchenette, living area, big balcony, and more! We hope that you come visit us...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Last year we gave this hotel five stars. This year I am sorry to say that it failed to meet our expectations. On night two, the back bedroom sprung a couple of leaks from the ceiling. Given that it was raining heavily and it was 2 a.m. We moved my cousin to the front bedroom with my daughter and me....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juliet G
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had encountered. We would like you to know we truly value your feedback about the property. We hope overall you had a wonderful stay and hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you

San Jose
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Staff so friendly, so excited to see us. Asked if we had a good trip to the hotel. Asked if we knew the area, we going to give us information on local attractions, and where to eat. Informed us that someone would be there to answer any questions we had. Breakfast very good, bed was comfortable, we had a kitchen...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your guest room and the breakfast. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon! Thank you

San Francisco
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This property is in Pacific Grove ,away from the tourist rush, in walking distance to the ocean and beach. It was our second stay here and even though on first impression it seems to have an odd layout, it works well for families with children(2 separate bedrooms), or a couple who each need there own room. Breakfast is good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glasskate
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the walking distance to the beach! We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you

San Mateo, California
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I was recommended to check out the city of Pacific Grove vs Monterey and ended up staying in Pacific Grove. Great staff, superb service, and clean and updated modern looking rooms. Its a small town we have recently discovered! Very private serene location. This hotel is located 7 minute away from First Awakenings, a highly reviewed restaurant on Yelp. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ericl51628
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the location! We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you

Fremont, California
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This hotel was very nice..clean room and very big! We enjoyed the fireplace in our room. Convenient location, we walked to the beach and theres a nice little trail around there. great service and we will definitely go back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brians1334
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the fireplace! We hope you will come again, soon!

Spring Valley, California
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Room 103 is on 3rd floor without elevator. Looks like Best Western bought a defunked condo complex and converted it. Bed and pillows great. Bathroom huge, walk-in closet converted to storage and kitchen which is good. Quiet neighborhood Because of inclement weather we spent tiime in room. Chairs uncomfortable. Poor lighting. Breakfast terrible. No maid service Would ne'er stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kathiodom
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First off we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at our newly renovated hotel. Secondly we are unsure as to why your stay was not what we strive out the experience to be for our guests. Our property is unique in a sense that we provide our guests a much larger room...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I can be short about my stay here, we love the area,17 mile drive is around the corner and the city center is a short drive. The best Western is a good place to stay quiet en clean,spacious rooms ,I think they all come with 2 bedrooms one with a king size bed and one with a queen size bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AstridErica
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for such a pleasant review! We have different types of rooms here. King Suites, Standard King, and more. Yes, our hotel is conveniently located around the corner from 17-Mile-Drive, the beach and more! :) We are pleased you had a great experience with us and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Thank you

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
King Suite (48)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Second King Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
705 reviews
2.9 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,574 reviews
0.3 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
316 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3832 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Price Range: €135 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Independence, Missouri
over a year ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Brooklyn, New York
Honolulu, Hawaii
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The larger suites with kitchens are located on the lower floors. Can be a bit noisy if the guests above are heavy walkers.”
DCTravelerLA, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The neighborhood is quiet so any room would likely be quiet, but the 2nd floor room we had was great.”
hernse1, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor room.”
Wanderingwindsorite, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask what floor room is on”
kathiodom, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We like the suites, but they are more pricey.”
Peripatetic2, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5