We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Show Prices
#2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,229: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The staff was amazingly Friendly. Every single person that we talked to was very knowledgeable about the rooms and the accommodations as well the area around the hotel. This was one of the few hotels was sad about leaving. Our room accommodations give us breakfast in bed from the bakery downstairs. Their food's amazing. It did make our room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for staying with us. Don't forget to use your return guest special rate code when you return! It always offers the best rate available, every day of the year. Sara Brooks General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in the Hatt Suite and everything was so pleasant! It had a fireplace and a great antique tub. We called the front desk with the littlest of things and they made to sure accommodate us at all times. Breakfast was extremely warming- it comes in a basket to your door in the morning! Overall, this was an amazingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laraannex3
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Our Captain Hatt's Suite is one of our most popular rooms for a reason. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit - come back and see us soon. We'll be happy to be your "home away from home"! Sara Brooks General Manager

Orlando
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed two nights in the Napa River Inn starting the end of May, 2013. Good feelings about this stay started from the minute I received a personal follow up email from Heather after I made a reservation on line which recommended a different room category based on requests I made in the reservation. Heather adjusted the room for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rap1958
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review! We try hard to be more than 'just a hotel room' and we are thrilled that you had a great experience. The Wine Train is very close but sometimes it is nice to just hop in our hotel car and hitch a ride over - especially if you're all...

Los Banos, California
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Wife and I decided to check out the Napa valley as we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. We both enjoyed our stay at the Napa River Inn. Building is well kept and within walking distance to the downtown area with many boutique shops and fine eateries nearby (Morimotos is two doors down from the Mill!). We had an upstairs room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Happy anniversary! I'm happy to hear we were able to make it extra special. We are looking forward to your return. Sara Brooks General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights during a short trip to Napa. The location was ideal: a five-minute walk to downtown, and a short drive away from many wineries. Our room was fairly large, with a huge bathroom and a Juliet balcony. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast delivered to the room each morning was delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellyann C
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting your lovely review. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage off everything there is to offer within walking distance. Hopefully your car didn't feel neglected while you were here! Sara Brooks General Manager

Chico, CA
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First off let me say the location and dog friendliness bumped this fun little property up from a 4 to a 5! How could I not? That said, the most important part of this hotel is it's location! Easy to access, walking distance to anything you might need, from Pub food to fine food! From the moment we drove up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ccinchico
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that everyone enjoyed our stay - including the dog! Downtown Napa truly is a dog friendly location. Next time you visit be sure to check out our new dog massages and walking services provided by our Spa - coming in July! Sara Brooks General Manager

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent 1 night at the Napa River Inn at the end of a west coast tour and it was our least favorite property. The reason, however, is specific to me and this is still a nice property. First the good. The property is a charming historic building and it is in an excellent location in Napa, walkable to many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Hello Mitch, One of the great things about our property is that we have many different room types, locations and decors. We have rooms with central air and with wall units (some guests prefer one or the other). It sounds like you needed to check in early and we didn't have any central air units ready yet - I'm sorry...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was way beyond satisfied from the moment I called! Sara Meuller helped me pick a room and package, called and made wine train reservations (even told them it was my boyfriend's birthday), and had notified all employees working that everything was a surprise. So nothing was given away like the in room massages (Anthony and Joanne from the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirikulus
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

We are so happy we were able to be a part of your surprise! What a nice thing to do for your boyfriend's birthday. Sweetie Pies is my husband's favorite 'birthday cake' location! Come back and see us soon. Sara Brooks General Manager

Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great location and very good service. However, the room & bathroom was a little small. I'm sure I asked for a King bed but ended up with a Queen. There wasn't even room for a table on one side of the bed. The TV Guide did not match the stations on the television, very frustrating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm so sorry you had trouble with your TV lineup, we just recently went through a digital upgrade overhaul to include more HD channels and unfortunately it changed our channel lineup faster than we could change our guides! Thankfully, it was an easy fix but my apologies for not having it corrected before you left....

texas
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were here for the Bottle Rock Concert and meant to write a review at that time - but never got around to it. The staff was super helpful. Our rental car had a flat tire and the staff went out of their way to get us assistance in changing it and finding a place where we could get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kb-austin
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

BottleRock was such a great show! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your trip even though you had a small tire snafu. Our staff tries hard to make sure your trip is as perfect as possible and a flat tire is no problem! We hope to see you at BottleRock part two next year. Sara Brooks General...

677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Captain Hatt Suite (80)
Viewed
Embarcadero Deluxe Queen (62)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Double (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.6 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,807 reviews
0.8 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
13.1 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
983 reviews
13.6 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Price Range: €253 - €446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a river view second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles momstephano, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for river view”
 of 5 bubbles 873lorettab, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a fireplace....very cozy touch”
 of 5 bubbles douglass282, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 204. We were very happy with this! Not much of a view. There probably are rooms with a view of the Napa River.”
 of 5 bubbles Tarkingtons, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles jimdink, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay