We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Show Prices
#2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,227: English reviews
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Of our 3 weeks of travel for our honeymoon, this hotel was what really made our honeymoon experience. When we arrived Armando treated us like family members, we are still talking about him and how nice he was. The rooms are beautiful, the view is nice, and location is amazing, everybody in town seems to gather there on the weekends....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pompougnac
Armando O, Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Felicidades once again, and thank you for posting such a glowing review! We are delighted to hear that your visit was the ideal Honeymoon. It's especially an honor coming from Cabo San Lucas, MX. We greatly appreciate the comments regarding our service, and if it wasnt for the staff that we have we wouldn't be able to do any of...

Oregon
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We made a last minute decision to visit the Napa Valley over the long 4th of July weekend. We booked the Napa River Inn via Hotel Tonight literally as we were driving down I-5. We were very pleased with our choice. As soon as we drove up to the hotel we were met by two bellmen who took our bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terriks
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over 4th of July! I hope you were able to catch some of the fireworks show from our patio. Call us direct next time and we'll be happy to include breakfast and we always offer the best rate you can find anywhere! Sara Brooks General Manager

Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed a few nights at the Napa River Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary. Both rooms (for our daughter and son-in-law and ourselves) were unbelievably beautiful. It felt as if we had stepped back in time yet had the most up to date luxuries possible. Our room was a vintage rouge color with a half canopy king size bed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula G
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! Wow, 40 years is an amazing thing. We are humbled by your review and so happy that you chose to spend your special day with us. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sara Brooks General Manager

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We found this place online and the other tripadvisor reviews were certainly helpful. We stayed 3 nights recently, and what I loved most about the Inn was the location and staff expertise & efficiency. We stayed in the Embarcadero building with the river view which was really nice. Either building would be a good view in my opinion. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J B
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Hello JB! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your husband's birthday trip. I agree about the A.M buns from Sweetie Pies - when Julia Child used to stay with us those were her favorite thing too! One of her breakfast order tickets is still hanging in the bakery. You're in good company! Sara Brooks General Manager

Sacramento, CA
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We decided on a last minute quick trip to Napa and called the Napa River Inn. They were so friendly and accommodating. Because we were traveling with my two year old son, we were given a large room to set up a pack-and-play. As others have said, the beds are wonderful and the breakfast is a fantastic touch and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boydnmfn
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community! We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I'm happy we delivered that to you and your family. Sometimes it's tough to travel with infants - it feels like you have to pack the whole house for a weekend getaway! I'm glad we were able to make that a...

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Napa River Inn is very nice (rooms/common areas), and is also conveniently located within walking distance of much to do in downtown Napa, and also within easy driving distance of anything in Napa Valley (and Carneros and Sonoma). The staff was great (didn't just give directions - practically walked you to your destination!), and the room-delivered breakfast from Sweetie Pie's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review! Hopefully next time you'll be able to stay longer - we look forward to seeing you then. Sign up for our mailing list at napariverinn.com for special offers throughout the year! Sara Brooks General Manager

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night inroute to Oregon; wish we would have stayed an extra day. We utilized the dinner option and definitely glad we did; the hotel drove us to the restaurant in one of their cars. I also participated in a wine tasting at the hotel which was great as we stopped at the vineyard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luvintravel49
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your way up to Oregon! I'm glad to hear you had a nice time and that your dinner was better than expected. Come back and see us soon. Sara Brooks General Manager

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 29 June 2013

LOCATION....LOCATION. Downtown Napa....where you can walk to everything. Right on the River in the Old Mill section. We loved the area.....even though they have no gym on the premises, for $10.00 you can use a first class gym just a few blocks away. A very quiet hotel......which was a plus. Will definitely be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlene G
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Hello Marlene, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location. We are lucky to have a full gym facility so close to us when our small fitness room at the hotel isn't sufficient. We look forward to your return! Sara Brooks General Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The staff was amazingly Friendly. Every single person that we talked to was very knowledgeable about the rooms and the accommodations as well the area around the hotel. This was one of the few hotels was sad about leaving. Our room accommodations give us breakfast in bed from the bakery downstairs. Their food's amazing. It did make our room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for staying with us. Don't forget to use your return guest special rate code when you return! It always offers the best rate available, every day of the year. Sara Brooks General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in the Hatt Suite and everything was so pleasant! It had a fireplace and a great antique tub. We called the front desk with the littlest of things and they made to sure accommodate us at all times. Breakfast was extremely warming- it comes in a basket to your door in the morning! Overall, this was an amazingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laraannex3
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Our Captain Hatt's Suite is one of our most popular rooms for a reason. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit - come back and see us soon. We'll be happy to be your "home away from home"! Sara Brooks General Manager

677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Captain Hatt Suite (80)
Viewed
Embarcadero Deluxe Queen (62)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Double (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.6 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,804 reviews
0.8 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
13.1 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
981 reviews
13.6 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Price Range: €244 - €440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a river view second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles momstephano, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for river view”
 of 5 bubbles 873lorettab, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a fireplace....very cozy touch”
 of 5 bubbles douglass282, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 204. We were very happy with this! Not much of a view. There probably are rooms with a view of the Napa River.”
 of 5 bubbles Tarkingtons, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles jimdink, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay