We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Show Prices
#2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,214: English reviews
Chico, CA
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First off let me say the location and dog friendliness bumped this fun little property up from a 4 to a 5! How could I not? That said, the most important part of this hotel is it's location! Easy to access, walking distance to anything you might need, from Pub food to fine food! From the moment we drove up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ccinchico
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that everyone enjoyed our stay - including the dog! Downtown Napa truly is a dog friendly location. Next time you visit be sure to check out our new dog massages and walking services provided by our Spa - coming in July! Sara Brooks General Manager

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent 1 night at the Napa River Inn at the end of a west coast tour and it was our least favorite property. The reason, however, is specific to me and this is still a nice property. First the good. The property is a charming historic building and it is in an excellent location in Napa, walkable to many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Hello Mitch, One of the great things about our property is that we have many different room types, locations and decors. We have rooms with central air and with wall units (some guests prefer one or the other). It sounds like you needed to check in early and we didn't have any central air units ready yet - I'm sorry...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was way beyond satisfied from the moment I called! Sara Meuller helped me pick a room and package, called and made wine train reservations (even told them it was my boyfriend's birthday), and had notified all employees working that everything was a surprise. So nothing was given away like the in room massages (Anthony and Joanne from the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirikulus
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

We are so happy we were able to be a part of your surprise! What a nice thing to do for your boyfriend's birthday. Sweetie Pies is my husband's favorite 'birthday cake' location! Come back and see us soon. Sara Brooks General Manager

Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great location and very good service. However, the room & bathroom was a little small. I'm sure I asked for a King bed but ended up with a Queen. There wasn't even room for a table on one side of the bed. The TV Guide did not match the stations on the television, very frustrating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm so sorry you had trouble with your TV lineup, we just recently went through a digital upgrade overhaul to include more HD channels and unfortunately it changed our channel lineup faster than we could change our guides! Thankfully, it was an easy fix but my apologies for not having it corrected before you left....

texas
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were here for the Bottle Rock Concert and meant to write a review at that time - but never got around to it. The staff was super helpful. Our rental car had a flat tire and the staff went out of their way to get us assistance in changing it and finding a place where we could get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kb-austin
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

BottleRock was such a great show! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your trip even though you had a small tire snafu. Our staff tries hard to make sure your trip is as perfect as possible and a flat tire is no problem! We hope to see you at BottleRock part two next year. Sara Brooks General...

Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate, lovely flowers, plants and fountains. Within walking distance of many fine shops and restaurants. Easy parking. Delicious breakfast from Sweetie Pie and great coffee. Be sure to stop at the General Store for some wine. The pizza is great at Downtown Joe's Grill and Brewhouse. We enjoyed nice dinners at Pear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillyswans
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Happy first trip to Napa! Thank you for choosing us to spend it with. We pride ourselves on our garden oasis in the middle of downtown - our Master Gardener works hard to make our gardens lovely for everyone to enjoy. Come back and see us again soon! Sara Brooks Napa River Inn

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here for five days during our honeymoon trip to Napa. We could not have had a better experience at the Napa River Inn. We were greeted promptly by Jason at reception, and then we received some excellent advice on wineries and local attractions from the concierge, Liz. Our room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The breakfast from Sweetie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgoldfarb
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon and we could provide the service that you expected. We hope to see you again soon! Sara

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our experience reminds me of the old Seinfeld episode about the rental car company being good at "taking" the reservations, but not so good at actually "holding" the reservations. The same thing happened to us upon arrival at this hotel when, despite an official reservation confirmation, we were told that the room we requested (with 2 beds instead of 1)...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank BC0767
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. A Seinfeld episode is right! My sincere apologies for the mixup with your room type. We were able to find you alternate accommodations in Downtown immediately at the same price. That may have been communicated to someone else in your party instead of directly. As was explained while you were here, when you booked with...

California
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I recently stayed here on a couple day get away. Go for the historic rooms which are amazing. Beautifully decorated rooms with high ceilings, large beds, and huge bathrooms with dual showers and a slipper tub. The hotel is well located in the city center with plenty of parking. Upon arrival and check out we were greeted well and promptly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATravelerCalifornia
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

I'm so happy that you chose to 'splurge' with us! I'm glad you enjoyed our Historic rooms - they are definitely a guest favorite due to their location and the plushness of the decor. My favorite apsect is the clawfoot slipper tub. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Sara Brooks

sacramento
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed in a nice room with patio towards the river. I was a little concerned by the web site pictures as the paint color of the room made it look very drab. But was pleasantly surprised the rooms were nice, would recommend they change the color of the room. Beds were very cozy and good, nice pillows. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellasacramento
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the color of the room you stayed in. Thankfully, we have several different room types and we typically have something for everyone! Hopefully you'll stay with us again soon and we'd be happy to offer you other options decorated in a different style. Sara...

657 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (344)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Captain Hatt Suite (80)
Viewed
Embarcadero Deluxe Queen (62)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Double (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.6 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,769 reviews
0.8 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
13.1 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
961 reviews
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Price Range: €230 - €436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for river view”
 of 5 bubbles 873lorettab, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a fireplace....very cozy touch”
 of 5 bubbles douglass282, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 204. We were very happy with this! Not much of a view. There probably are rooms with a view of the Napa River.”
 of 5 bubbles Tarkingtons, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles jimdink, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room in the back by the river. Great views”
 of 5 bubbles DMGreg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay