We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$194
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$194
View deal
Vio.com
US$179
View deal
AlgotelsUS$221
eDreamsUS$194
Agoda.comUS$194
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (224)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (25)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 32 hotels in Napa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Residential Neighbourhood
695Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 496
  • 123
  • 48
  • 18
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Deborah F wrote a review Dec 2022
Really nice accommodations at the B n B! Full breakfast- really delicious. Rooms are nicely appointed. Great location near downtown. Had a great visit to Napa- the fall leaves were spectacular. Will stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Parking on the street is ok
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
B K wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
We checked in and the room smelled horrible. We opened all the windows even though it was very cold outside. We hoped that it would clear out the smell (a combination of air freshener? and obviously someone had *used* our bathroom right before we checked in. It didn't change. We texted the manager and they said to open the windows for a while. We had already done that and the chemical/human smell was so bad our eyes were watering and throats closing up. We left half an hour after checking in and had to rent another room around the corner. They refused to refund our money and were quite rude. With all the options in Napa, I would highly recommend staying ANYWHERE else. The manager insisted that we should have asked them for another room, but how could you expect that if they allowed one room to smell that way that they wouldn't keep the entire property in such condition? Additionally, the manager was not onsite and was very slow responding to messages. It was a terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room at the inn around the corner.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lorne B wrote a review Oct 2022
Toronto, Canada523 contributions690 helpful votes
We stayed in the Paris room and loved it. All the rooms are themed and completely different from one another, which makes this a really interesting stay. Breakfast each morning was great and staff are friendly and accessible. Pictures on website are old and can definitely use some updating. It’s an old building, luckily we were at the end of the hall, so it wasn’t so loud, but if we were near the stairs, it would have been more challenging. Would stay here again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us, we can't wait for your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
296Laurie wrote a review Oct 2022
Collinsville, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Was a quaint B & B for our stay after visiting the Napa wineries. Rooms were cute, comfortable & well stocked and the breakfast was amazing. Was close enough to walk to downtown to eat at the restaurants or shops.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback, great to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to share your great comments to the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Napa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SONIYA wrote a review May 2022
Mysuru (Mysore), India2 contributions
An international traveler and our four days stay at HARVEST SUITE in 2nd floor MERLO HOUSE was comfortable with some delicious breakfast . However had WIFI issues and stayed disconnected which affected my online studies and dental practice . Was disappointed considering the high cost paid and request feedback was poor . soniyathimmaiah@yahoo.com
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: HARVEST SUITE for 4 people is large and comfortable . rooms facing road get noisy considering the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TinaHH123 wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom489 contributions302 helpful votes
We stayed in Chocolate, lovely room, spacious, old world charm, cast iron bathtub & they really thought about as they have placed a mirror on the door so you can still watch TV whilst in the tub. Ice water Tea and coffee and snacks are provided and there is a fridge/microwave downstairs that you can use. Its a really lovely building, lots of character and charm, close to everything Napa has. I understand with Covid that minimising contact is probably a good thing, checkin is done text on the phone, however I am from the UK so my phone number didn't work in the US (roaming charges are high) so I didn't get the details(they weren't to know). It also makes it a bit impersonal we knew nothing about the room, breakfast details or the surrounding area, there was nothing left in the room to inform us about this. As for breakfast it was nice but the 1st day we weren't informed as to what it was and I am vegetarian and eggs Benedict with ham was just placed in front of me, also what if we were of a religion that didn't eat ham? The coffee and tea were cold and the other guests didn't get there juice until about 30 mins after they sat down. I don't like meat so thats why I don't eat it but if it was for ethical reasons then this would have been a real problem, The next day was better and we were told what was for breakfast but when you do this every day then you really should have a system where this does not happen in the first place. I would probably give it 4.5 stars and I would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologized for not informing you about the breakfast, rest assure that all comments and suggestions are taken into consideration to better up our service for all our guests. See you next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lilbit1023 wrote a review Jul 2021
Fort Worth, Texas119 contributions53 helpful votes
The couple that runs the day to day operations were just delightful. We checked in, got a tour to our room. It was all the way at the top of the Merlot house. The buildings are older, so the floors squeak and the water takes awhile to warm up, but it's charming. The room itself had a lot of space. We stayed in the Walk in the Clouds rooms. It was adorable. I loved that it had 2 king beds. They have a shared kitchen space a floor down. People are free to use the refrigerator, the microwave and any other amenities. In the morning, we were lucky enough to get breakfast, which is a service they just started trying out. It was really good and a perfect portion size. The location was a short walk to downtown Napa where there was a walk of restaurants and shops. Great location and parking on sight. Great stay over all
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad that you had a great stay with us at Old World Inn and liked your great room, breakfast and our friendly staff. Our location is truly unbeatable. We hope you stay with us again and hope you would recommend us to others. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. We can't wait to share all your great comments to the rest of the staff. Thanks again for your pleasant feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Twiggers wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
We absolutely loved this B&B. Despite what other reviews have said, when we walked in we found the cabernet house warm and charming. We stayed in the very clean Allegria room, with a jacuzzi tub - perfect to relax in after walking through town, which is very close, and wineries. Amvic was wonderful and helped us get whatever we needed. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 3 Jul 2021
Thank you for ypur feedback. We're glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share all these great comments to the rest of the staff. See you next time. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sierra_moonlite wrote a review Jan 2021
Reno, Nevada10 contributions5 helpful votes
The private cottage was a delight! The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to leave. Everything was sparkling clean. The innkeeper was amazing and so very friendly. We had to switch rooms because, at the last minute, our dog sitter fell through. She moved us to a dog friendly room over the phone and was super nice about the situation. The property is super cute and we felt safe walking in the neighborhood even late at night. We will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's great to hear that you had enjoyed your room. I cannot wait to share your feedback to the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Napa. Regards!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meris S wrote a review Jul 2020
San Francisco, California53 contributions19 helpful votes
We recently stayed here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday--it was our second time staying here, but the first time we spent many days. We choose the private cottage this time, which was wonderful with the huge 4-poster bed, fireplace, indoor jacuzzi tub, walk-in closet, and TV with a DVD player. Also has a nice little outdoor table next to the parking lot. The room is super quiet and very clean. I had also asked that the room have a cake, cheese plate, and champagne on ice waiting for us, and not only did the Inn staff ask us about our arrival timing so they could plan everything accordingly, but the food was incredible and a LOT of it for a super reasonable price. The champagne was also a nice brut Chandon :) Because the Inn isn't serving breakfast right now or hosting wine happy hours due to COVID, they gave us a free bottle of wine, varietal of our choice--a nice cabernet. What I also thought was lovely was that the Inn has a huge porch with an attached bathroom open to guests, and because the day was super hot and we wanted to relax with our friends who were also staying at the Inn, they had no problem letting us set up all of our bottles, food, and a portable speaker on the porch and hang out for a few hours. The Inn really does have a lot of nice outdoor spaces where you can just sit and relax. Of course, the Inn is also centrally located in downtown Napa, so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Couldn't recommend more highly and will be back in the fall :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The private cottage is worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Cabernet House
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Reading your review truly made our day! We're glad to hear that you had such a positive experience with us at Old World Inn. Our goal is to impress all our guests with clean, spacious accommodations so we're thrilled to know we accomplished this during your visit. It's wonderful to hear that our location was perfect for your trip and our staff will be so pleased your appreciated their friendly assistance. It would be a pleasure to host you again should you be back in Napa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$179 - US$288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old world hotel napa
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CABERNET HOUSE - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Napa, Napa Valley, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cabernet House
Which popular attractions are close to Cabernet House?
Nearby attractions include John Anthony Vineyards (0.4 km), PureCru Wines (0.5 km), and Robert Louis Stevenson Monument (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cabernet House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Cabernet House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cabernet House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cabernet House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tarla Mediterranean Bar & Grill Napa Valley, Norman Rose Tavern, and Oenotri.
Is Cabernet House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Napa.
Are there any historical sites close to Cabernet House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (0.7 km) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (0.6 km).