We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Masterpiece Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Masterpiece Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Masterpiece Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 276: English reviews
SF Bay Area
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were traveling with another family and looking for a hotel that was reasonably priced in Morro Bay. The reviews for the Masterpiece were good so we booked a couple of nights. The complementary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were both nice perks. The Roman Spa was a hit with our kids, and I appreciated the workout room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAHappy
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Our staff was happy to know that we provided a nice stay for you and your family. On your next visit to the Central Coast be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'll need. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Booked this deal via Groupon and was very good value for money. Our room was very spacious and had lovely furnishings. On arrival we were told that there was a complimentary cheese and wine hour which we part took in which was great. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance to the harbour front, but don’t be put off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GOWEREXPLORERS R
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know you enjoyed the wine & cheese and the workout room. On your next visit to our area be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and best rate. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Morro Bay was a stopover on the way from SF to LA, and we booked this hotel online. Very well situated, only about 17 miles from US 101, 5 minutes walk from the harbour and beach. Spacious, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff and a nice gesture of complimentary wine and cheese for guests at 5 - 7pm when they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinNeonValley
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Our staff is pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. On your next visit be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and best rate. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Reviewed 23 August 2014

It's not a good place to relax due the noisy traffic plus the service management is incompetent and rude the wireless was not working. On almost seven hundred dollar bill for two nights the manager, as she said she wanted take care of the problem she offered me a discount of $ 10.00 (pretty pity and offensive) I offered to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tipodaspiaggi
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your experience with us was not typical, nevertheless we wish you pleasant journeys. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had stayed at this hotel under previous owners and found it very nice. We made reservations for two rooms, with two adults and one child on a roll-away bed in each room. When we arrived, the hotel did not have the two roll-aways and did not seem adept at solving the problem. The prices were high, almost $200 a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cataylo
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and take it to heart. We apologize for not having the roll away beds ready for you. Our recommendation is to always call us direct for the best rate and exact room type as rates will vary according season. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel through Hotwire. We really didn't expect much other than a place to rest from the days activites. That being said, our expectations were exceeded. Masterpiece Hotel is a very charming and quiant hotel. The artwork in our rooms and around the hotel was done very well. The jacuzzi looks more like a roman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Midnight_ECL
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know we exceeded your expectations. Next time call us direct for the best rate and exact room type your looking for. We look forward to seeing you again. Masterpiece Hotel

San Jose, California, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We got this one through Expedia and it was a good experience. One of three owned by the same owner, the staff was attentive and helpful. The wine at the wine and cheese was very nice but made us laugh because it wasn't local but from Sonoma. The bed was not bad but not remarkable. All in all, everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MC994
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Masterpiece Hotel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Travelling from San Diego to San Francisco up the Pacific Coast Highway, Morro Bay is an ideal stop over. It happened to be on the 4th of July so we had the bonus of a nice day of entertainment and fireworks in the Bay. When checking out a hotel to stay in needed to find one that could accommodate a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j10Stephen
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to once again providing you with a superior stay. Masterpiece Hotel

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We love quaint non-chain hotels for a change up...this met our expectations. The guest services was friendly, accommodating. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine/cheese offering. The rooms and hallways boasted art works with a pamphlet to identify the artist. (I like that sort of thing, so I wished it would also state where the original now hung)....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1,673
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the lack of air conditioning. We look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked this hotel thru Groupon for 1 nice night stay with my wife. Clean and classy by the Bay. Awesome breakfast and nice staff. loved the Jacuzzi . Bedding might need some work and rooms were little outdated. In overall was a good bargain for the value and money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mohamad87
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll return to see the upgrades we are making. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
2.0 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
619 reviews
0.5 km away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
549 reviews
0.4 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
437 reviews
0.9 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range: €83 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Masterpiece Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Garden Grove, California, United States
Pismo Beach, California
1 month ago
6 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Masterpiece Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floor may have views facing the harbor & rock”
 of 5 bubbles 241krystak, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors facing Morro Rock might provide a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles amfancy, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner room 111 (double queen) is big and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RickThePick, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for kai!”
 of 5 bubbles williamsc0tta, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no elevators so unless you want to haul your luggage up the stairs....ask for ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles adam29er, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay