We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mariposa Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mariposa Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 637: English reviews
Start your review of Mariposa Inn and Suites
 Click to rate
Modesto, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Before you book this hotel, go to other one...hotel.... looks are deceiving. If you give them your credit card, expect them to charge three times the amount, and when you call to inquire, the manager is rude and not very professional. Daniel told me each hotel varies on charges on your card. The Mariposa put a hold on my credit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santana57
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry if there was an error made in processing your payment. We have very strict controls and procedures, however, which ensure that any mistakes or overcharges are noticed and rectified. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused, but we trust that this issue has now been rectified. Thank you for staying with us. Best...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was full when we checked in and lucky us, we got bumped up to the townhouse. Although the corridors look slightly dated, rooms were nice and comfortable. The townhouse was 2 floors, 2 bathrooms with 2 bedrooms and a nice fireplace. Breakfast was simple with the likes of pastries, a waffle maker, fruits and yogurt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Li Lin C
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated the upgrade to the townhouse that we gave you! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are happy that you enjoyed both your room and your breakfast. We hope that you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area. We would love to welcome...

MARIETTA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place and town. Very friendly and clean. There are a lot of fun things to do in the town and transportation is very accessible. The town is also a short drive from Yosemite which is a fantastic day trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Hi Kimberly, Thank you for your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you found our location to be so accessible and so fun! We really hope that you will take a trip here and stay with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Rosneath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here after visiting Yosemite- clean room - shower and bath - comfortable bed - this was far better value than staying in lodges at Yosemite- walkable distance to cafe and restaurant . Lovely area near river - queen bedded room - couldn't ask for better value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaycamcollies
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay! I'm so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and wonderful stay with us. It's great to hear that you found us to provide such great value, as well, of course, as providing a clean, comfortable room. We would be excited to welcome you back and we look forward to...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The front desk reception was rude, the room was dated and dirty, starting from the inside entry door, mold in shower ceiling, carpet was dirty, black out drapes were barely hanging on rods, and the heat/air conditioning unit was large and sooo loud. I didn't even think of checking the bed, since we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry that the room that you received was not of the standard that we usually provide for our guests, and that you did not receive the hospitable welcome that we aim to offer. We apologize for these failings on our part, and we hope that you might consider offering us an opportunity to redeem ourselves, by providing you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So disappointed in this hotel. Not sure how they can be a 4 on TripAdvisor. All the pictures on there are the nicest the hotel has probably ever looked. The outdoor areas are nothing like what they show online. Both fire pits were not working. The heater lamps didn't have any propane tanks. Spider webs everywhere. Outside lights were broken....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Elena, We are most dismayed to read your review, it is not at all the type of review that we generally get. We apologize for the shortcomings that you mention, and we will review your comments in detail with our housekeeping team to ensure that such issues do not arise again. Thank yo for choosing to stay with us, it...

St. Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, Monterey is lovely, the flowers blooming everywhere are gorgeous. This hotel is covered with flowers. We stayed in a townhouse, the maid service was excellent, the place was clean, new toiletries everyday, fresh towels, nicely made up. It's fairly close to everything and Del Monte Center right across the street. I would stay there again, which is my best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WantToSeeItAll
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for providing us with such a detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you liked the room and the amenities that we provided. It's always great to hear guests say that they would stay with us again, we hope to have the opportunity to...

Concord, California, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed the weekend at the Mariposa Inn March 17-18 2017 with our family of 4 while our twin boys were getting their PADI certification. We could not be happier with our stay. Our room had two beds (a queen downstairs and king upstairs), two full baths, two TVs, a fireplace and a small balcony over looking the facility. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle2012
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

It's really great to hear that we provided you with such a suitable place to stay for your visit to Monterey for your twins' PADI certification. Thank you for reviewing our property so comprehensively, we really appreciate that. We trust that the boys got their certification, and will be back to do some more diving in the near future! Best...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my husband for a weekend getaway to Monterey and Pebble Beach. It's closely situated to downtown Monterey and right off main highway so easy access to Pebble Beach and Big Sur. The room was cozy and had a nice sitting area separate from our bedroom. The bedroom area had a nice fireplace and a sliding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MonyMoLaVie
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out so many positive aspects of your recent stay with us; our great location, our cozy room, with it's sitting room, and our complimentary breakfast. Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you would come back again on another short getaway, we hope to welcome you back very soon! Best...

Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stayed here two nights, the first night we slept soundly due to our early wake up to get to the airport. The second night we had noisy neighbors, but that wasn't the motel's fault. We only encountered friendly staff. The ladies in the breakfast area were more than accommodating and so very sweet. The second morning we were there,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tedi B
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We're really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite early starts, noisy neighbors and a blackout! We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room with great amenities and friendly service, and we're really happy that's what you received. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again - we'd love...

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 km away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: €118 - €345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“find another hotel”
Santana57, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Townhouse is my choice.”
WantToSeeItAll, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would ask for a second floor room as you don't have anybody above you.”
sandrasH2248EX, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Street side rooms don't have elevator access.”
dianea28, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fireplace in rooms for the cooler season”
Fisher_From_Oz, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5