We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arbor Inn - Monterey

View Deal
#38 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Arbor Inn - Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 1 March 2017

(+) Nice cozy hotel. I have nothing to compare with - I've never stayed in "Inn", the motel type of the hotel, but I supposed it would much worse. The room was really big, had a wardrobe, big TV, table (but no chair), free toiletries, clean and good shower, powerful conditioner, huge comfortable bed. (-) The booking confirmation said that...

2Thank Irina A
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We are sorry but we do not serve breakfast and we do not advertise on any of our booking sites .

Reviewed 23 February 2017

The room was ok but car park is outside the door and we could hear people upstairs through the ceiling. My biggest gripe was they added a $10 service charge as well as tax, making the room not great value. It's quite a long walk to town so not a great location unless Yu want to drive. The fridge was...

1Thank Kate O
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience but the parking is set like that and we do not advertise as downtown property . Cannot avoid tax and service charge too .

Roatan, Honduras
Reviewed 14 February 2017

nothing great about this hotel it was a bit dingy and could use an update, but it was clean, and breakfast was provided in the low price, given the chance again I would have paid more to stay somewhere a bit nicer.

Thank DetourRoatan
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We are in the process to renovate our motel which takes some time . Please do not hesitate to stay with us again .

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2017

room is spacious and clean, bed is ok, washroom is clean, no noise issues decor is outdated and not much to look at out the window but for the price you pay at least the essentials are there area is good pretty close to the main attractions parking is free

Thank samir46
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for you nice review . We are in the process of updating our rooms . Please visit us again .

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The hotel building has that feel of a 1940s board house, which for us was attractive. Be prepared for the smell of curry when your enter the reception area. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. There are no elevators, so if you on the top floors be prepared to work hard lifting those cases to the room. The room,...

Thank Brian M
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review . We are glad that your stay here was to your liking . The smell in the lobby was from the aromatic air fresh . Please visit us again .

Reviewed 21 January 2017

The room was modern, nice and very clean. It included a fridge, microwave and other basic facilities. Spacious rooms and clean bathrooms. Good service. For the price, it was quite a good room. Good option for extended stays.

Thank Kulandai Anand B
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

We do really appreciate your simple and great review . We do our best to make our guest stay worthwhile . Please do visit us again and book directly on our web site . Thank you .

Netanya, Israel
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The hotel is well located, rooms are decent, and one member of staff was lovely... BUT Another member of staff was very rude - we had an Emotional Support Animal (small dog) staying with us - one staff member insisted on charging us for a pet in the room (and I quote) "because it doesn't provide any real service". He...

Thank Ben J
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience you face at check in . According to ADA rules emotional pet are not counted as service animals , so the staff member was just letting the guest know about is . Sorry once again .

Turin, Italy
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The service doesn't answer to the e-mail to help and manage the reservation, it is impossible to call the hotel because nobody answer. At the end I loose my reservation for their customer disservice. Search other in Monterey.

1Thank Mattia321
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience you faced , we will certainly look into this matter .

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Despite not having a pool, this was by far the best "budget" hotel we stayed at on our trip through California! The first impression when pulling into the parking lot was that this was going to be a great stay, and it was. The rooms were clean and smelled good, everything has been updated and

Thank Konarider605
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review .

Reviewed 1 January 2017

Clean room, pleasant staff, perfectly functional for an overnight stay. As of December 2016 TripAdvisor has them listed as offering free breakfast (one of the things we booked for). The staff apologized, but explained that part of the listing is out of date and they are no longer offering breakfast :-(

2Thank Matthew H
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and are delighted that our staff was very helpful and the room to your liking . We do apologize for the breakfast .

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (47)
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (2)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (18)
Room/Suite (13)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
59 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.0 km away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 55 in Monterey
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 km away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Arbor Inn - Monterey

Address: 1058 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: €75 - €254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arbor Inn - Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Arbor Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey-Munras Hotel Monterey
Monterey Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arbor Inn - Monterey staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Arbor Inn - Monterey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast no longer offered as of October 2016”
matthewhL392UM, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is number 1 in Monterey Ca”
cindyshaw0823, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most of the rooms face the parking lot, so if you want to be secluded choose a corner room.”
deej713, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
h7tree, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
Hamid42, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$110* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates