We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Castell Motel

Show Prices
#26 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
El Castell Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 555: English reviews
Monterey, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

happy with everything except indoor swimming pool the heaer was broken so water was too cold to swim and that was main reason we chose this place beds are very comfortable place is clean xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. xxxxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martincoh
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found your bed to be so comfortable! We're sorry that you found the pool a little cold, some guests are using it, and enjoy the refreshment that it gives them! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to welcome you back again on...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was cramped, not clean and in a bad sector of town. I recommend you book another hotel. We stayed because it was pet friendly but walking let was precarious because of no grass and bad section of town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimijohnson2
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that our location did not suit you better, but we are shocked that you felt that your room wasn't clean. We pride ourselves on providing a clean comfortable room for all of our guests, and we apologize if everything wasn't to your satisfaction. We generally do not get comments of this nature. Thank you for choosing to...

Fullerton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We like the room,price is okay,free breakfast included,and we have our own fridge and microwave,which is very nice .location is good,not to far from the place we wanted to visit,we probably would stay here again if we come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliusalexanderd
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the facilities in your room. It's great to hear that you would stay again, we hope that you will have the opportunity to do so very soon! Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Monterey is very nice for both day tour or many days stay or, if you're lucky, to live in. This Motel is a good choice for our family because it has every basic thing we need and is near the center of the city and of the Fisherman's Wharf. It's located on one of the principal avenues where you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martincotim
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Martin, We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were such a fantastic location for your needs. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for your review. We hope that you'll stay with us again when you're next visiting the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotels along this road are typically cheaper hotels with not too much quality in the rooms however our room had crown molding, stylish paint, beautifully decorated bed, LCD TV mounted on the wall and beautiful tile in the bathroom. It was unexpectedly quiet as well our only complaint was the shower wasn't very hot and there's very little water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldAdventurer18
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you were happy with your room. Our building's age means that very hot water can take a little time to get to some rooms at times of very high demand, and we hope that you were not inconvenienced too much. We hope that you...

Fremont
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place to stay, nice and quiet, easy access to shopping stores, easy access to highway, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, nice service, noce and comfortable queen beds, fast wi-fi, excellent coffe maker, excellent place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dominguezmartin79
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We loved reading your review, thank you very much! It's really great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that everything in and around the hotel was to your satisfaction. We are delighted that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope that you will have...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was clean. But shower water was luke warm. I asked front desk to address the issue. But it was not fixed. Air conditioning was either too cold or too warm. Very noisy. Front desk man was not very friendly. No greeting no smile. Continental breakfast is offered. But the room is packed with a lot of people. Overall a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ming L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We're very sorry that you experienced some issues with your room, and we particularly apologize for not moving you to a different room that might have suited you better. It's great that you found your room to be clean - provide a clean room for all of our guests is of paramount importance to us. We do hope that you...

El Dorado Hills, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were happy with our choice of a hotel. It was very clean and staff was very friendly and accommodating. We ask for extra coffee and sugars from the maids and they gave us all we wanted. It was conveniently located to the Denis the Menace park and to the Monterey Bay Aquarium just as they said when I called....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce G
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Joyce, We're delighted to hear that we provided such a great place for you to stay to enjoy all of the local attractions. We're always happy to hear positive feedback about our staff and our cleanliness, to thank you in particular for mentioning that. We're sorry that your boys felt that the pool was too cold - most of...

Sedona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good Location good value. Good coffee in rooms. Need more decaf coffee in rooms and softer mattresses Many places to eat close by. Can't think of anything more to say. 200 carrCters is a silly length for a review.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lrmbmw
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, and that you found us to be a reasonably priced option for your accommodation needs. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we would love to welcome you back again very soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Beersheba, Israel
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Overall - it was a decent place. For 100$ a night it ain't bad at all. we got a good night sleep - the room was nicely equiped for a motel (even had an iron board), but it wasn't perfect because in the morning we heared the kids from the room above us running around There is an airport near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbie R
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Robbie, thanks for staying with us recently, and for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy that you found us to be well-equipped, and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep. We hope that you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 km away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#23 of 55 in Monterey
683 reviews
0.4 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#24 of 55 in Monterey
980 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.8 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: €43 - €520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Castell Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from El Castell Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in 3 persons. Our room has 1 double std bed and 1 single bed, and is a little difficult for moving.”
 of 5 bubbles martincotim, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Family vacation. ”
 of 5 bubbles dominguezmartin79, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Conveniently located We love using Hotels.Com,”
 of 5 bubbles joyceg44, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Need softer mattress and more decaf coffee in room”
 of 5 bubbles lrmbmw, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the front section (without a 2nd floor)”
 of 5 bubbles 70robbier, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay